We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extremely wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An extremely wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

From the welcoming lobby and front desk staff to the friendly and happy staff we enjoyed our stay. The bed was so soft, warm and comfortable. The room was exceptionally clean and well taken care of. The complimentary breakfast was just right. Total silence once in our room. We didn't here outside noises as you do even in some of the more expensive resorts. This simple yet classy hotel was most enjoyable. I will stay here again when I am back in town visiting family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    49
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
75
22
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located right in the middle of San Diego Safari Park and Legoland. We stayed here for two nights and had a nice stay. Our one bed room suite had a full kitchen with a full size fridge and dishwasher, a living room with a big sofa bed. It's really nice to have space and sit on couch and just relax after a day of standing in lines and chasing a small child at the parks. Unlike other reviewers, we did not have problem with noise since the hotel was not busy while we were there. Their continental breakfast was what it was with pre-packed boiled eggs, pre-packs sausage muffins, cereals, and pastries, still it was nice to have those available for us. There's a Starbucks right outside, and there are a lot of restaurant options within short drive and Phil's BBQ is not that far. I have to say that Internet connection was pretty bad, though. Overall, it was nice, comfortable and reasonable, and we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinnamonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

There for one night only. Very clean. Exercise room was perfect and well maintained. Very friendly. Simplest access to wifi I've experienced anywhere! A couple of bonuses are Starbucks and Mrs Taco restaurant are right next door. What could be better!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanvitps, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Oversight,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites. We aim to offer all of our guests the comforts of home and I am glad that we were able to do so for you. Mrs. Taco is a great local restaurant that the neighborhood has come to love and who does not love a cup of hot (or cold) cup of Starbucks in the morning.

Next time you are in town I hope we get the pleasure of accommodating you again.

Best Regards,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Was there last weekend. Rooms are good size, not huge with a full kitchen and pull out sofa.
Comfortable and quiet and was a pleasure to stay at and only $119. per night.
Have a good breakfast. Not the best I have had but certainly hit the spot.
Parking was easy.
Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Mine was on the back, overlooked houses back yard and was very quiet. Had the window open the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramitch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed overnight and enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast as nice and rooms nearly new.
We received an early check in, which was very helpful for our plans that day. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because it is less than fifteen minutes by car to Legoland and the price was around $100. per night. Several reviewers mentioned it can be very noisy on the weekends, so the top floor would be best when it is crowded. My room was 109, and there was some noise from loudmouths gabbing in the lobby/ dining area, but it was not enough to keep me up at night.

Traveling alone this time, I needed a hotel where I feel safe. And most Marriott properties score high on safety. The suite had a king bed, sofa, long desk/table and a functional kitchen. A one bedroom would be more suitable if a family with children stayed here.

The breakfast was okay because most of us don't eat like royalty at home, and if we need that on the road, we can stay at a full service Marriott, which we often do using points for vacation travel. I enjoyed the yogurt, juice, raisin bran and apple. They offered egg biscuits and a few other items I did not try, but no cook yourself waffles.

This hotel can be hard to find, especially at night. It is located behind the Chevron station on the corner of Sycamore and Melrose. There are few eating places nearby, but if you drive about three miles down Sycamore and turn left on University, you will find a Stater Bros. grocery store, a Target, WalMart, and many mores stores.

During midday, it is fun to drive along the coast through Carlsbad and stop downtown for a special treat at Subzero ice cream where they make each order right in front of you using liquid nitrogen. It is also hard to find in a strip mall on the corner of Oak next to 7 Eleven.

If I need to stay in this area again, I would return to this hotel when rates are reasonable around $100. a night. There is a lot of price competition when you hit the $150. level per night. The kitchen is a real plus for those wanting to stay in at night. And it is a good base for those working in the area for a week or more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bagsalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Location is nice, but the rest is below average for the price: my room had some permanent unpleasant odor. The doors are shut with such loud noise I felt that jails may have similar locking systems . Noise insulation generally does not exist, you will hear water running, taking, walking from your adjacent rooms.
The hotel has no quiet time policy: loud parties are going on throughout all night on weekends when hotel is full.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#22 of 36 in Carlsbad
145 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Property: TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Address: 2201 S Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081-6700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista Hotel Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing