We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice, quiet, clean, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista to your Saves list
TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, clean, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

From the second we walked in the door, every single staff person was helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and quiet. (The pullout bed did bump up against the big bed, but it wasn't really a problem. Just a bit smallish.) The pool area and fitness center were nice and well-maintained. The Internet access was spotty, but free. (There's a Starbucks a few steps from the front door where the wi-fi was quite reliable.) We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MNgirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
60
15
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a relatively new property and is clean and comfortable. We stayed in a "Studio Suite" which is basically a regular hotel room with a king bed, an sofa bed, and small kitchenette. The king bed was quite comfortable with a nightstand and plug-in on each side with an alarm clock/radio/iPod doc on one side. The sofa bed was just barely big enough for our two children, ages 11 and 9, and even though it was new it sagged a bit towards the middle. They were fine but it would not be big enough or comfortable enough for teenagers. We didn't use the kitchenette much but it was modern and functional.

Breakfast included six different types of cold cereal, granola, yogurt, oatmeal mix, milk, bananas, apples, muffins, English muffins with different types of jellies, a toaster (no waffles), some pre-packaged egg-and-sausage muffin breakfast sandwiches (that you put in the microwave) apple and orange juice, and a selection of coffee. You're not staying here for the breakfasts but it is really nice not to have to go shopping for simple breakfast food to start your day. This breakfast has all the basics that you'll need to get you going and there is a large flatscreen TV in the breakfast area.

The pool is heated but not "warm" and the hot tub is nice and toasty. The pool goes from about 3.5 feet on one end to 5 feet on the other and is compact but big enough to be fun.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we asked for some towels for the pool they promptly brought some down to the pool area (yes, we had to ask for towels for the pool since not many people are crazy enough to swim outside in late December I guess!) When we arrived at breakfast to find all of the cereal bowls had been taken they promptly brought out more. They gave me a choice of two or three open rooms when we checked in. I thought the staff was great.

We decided to stay in room near the middle of the hotel on the third (top) floor, away from the elevators and didn't really hear anyone else our entire stay. You could hear the occasional door closing in the hallway but no more or less than most other hotels you stay in. The room had a thermostat control that ran an under-the-window unit. It kept the room comfortable and we let it run all the time which may have masked some of the regular hotel noise.

There is a Starbucks, a Zardo Organic Pasta (great for lunch), and a taco restaurant just a few steps away. From here it's less than 10 minutes to LegoLand, and about 15 minutes to the beach. We found it to be a great place to stay and would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoliviaKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Overall this was a decent place to stay for our visit to Legoland (5 miles away). I would recommend if you don't want to hear doors slamming or other peoples feet pounding the floor to ask to be on the 1st floor. We were on the 2nd floor and could hear feet and doors slamming throughout our stay. They really need to better insulate the door to the room. The breakfast was fine, choices of cereal, oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, bagels etc.

Room Tip: 1st floor to avoid feet pounding the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel has modern, nicely furnished rooms. Predictable, uninspiring breakfast. Nice pool. Friendly service.
Starbucks and a pizza/pasta restaurant (with gluten-free options) immediately opposite hotel. Other options close by.

Room Tip: We were in a two-bedroom suite at the end of a corridor. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This trip was for Legoland, and this hotel is not far from Legoland at all. We stayed for one night and regret having to give up the coziness, comfort, and the amenities to head home the next day. The room was clean, warm decor, and no smelly odor of any kind. This is my first time staying at an "extended stay hotel", and I'm extremely please. The microwave and refrigerator were already there--I hate asking for those stuff. My family tends to pack our snacks, food, and drinks when going on short trips.

Room Tip: The clerk gave us a room near the elevator for convenience, but you have to put up with noise from f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRLINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I felt close to the other occupants in this hotel, so close, that I could hear my neighbor next to me brush their teeth and shower at 5:15AM. Then I heard the neighbor on the other side of me microwave his breakfast at 6:05AM. Bottom line, Marriott either revamped an old Extended Stay or poorly constructed their TownePlace Suites. It doesn't matter if they have updated wall paper if you can't sleep. Also, the wireless internet never worked during my stay. The signal varied from room to room, so I was hooked up with an ethernet chord. The staff was very nice and helpful, but things like these become frustrating when you travel every week. Next trip, I will happily forego my Marriott points to stay at the Hyatt Place two blocks South, where I've slept soundly and enjoyed a good business trip stay in the past.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor away from the elevators which didn't help with the noise reduction at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanvitps, General Manager at TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Good Morning Anne L.,

I am sorry to hear that you had troubles with hearing your neighbors and your WiFi connectivity during your recent stay with us.

Our hotel which is newly constructed from 2010 and up to the latest specs for the TownePlace Suites brand, has never experienced any concerns of there being a major problem with noise from one room to another. We all have varying degrees of sensitivity to noise and I am sorry we were not able to provide you with enough sound proofing in your room to receive the rest you needed.

Regarding the WiFi connection we have in the past month upgraded our wireless routers to send a stronger wireless signal throughout the hotel and I don't know if you stayed with us prior to this or not.

Ultimately I want to thank you for your feedback and rest assured that we continously strive to improving our guest experience and I apologize for not being able to do so in your case.

Next time you have travel plans to the area please feel free to call me directtly at the hotel for any assistance.

Best Regards,
Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was working in San Diego and was looking for a suite hotel near a gym and a Starbucks. This gym fit the bill.

The hotel looked to be new along with most of the development in the area. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Check-in process went well.

There is a Starbucks just on the other side of the parking lot that is open at 4:30 AM. Nice for me as I was staying on east coast time. In addition there is a great 24 hour gym (1265 Laurel Tree Lane Suite 100 Carlsbad, CA 92011) nearby that only charged $30 for the week.

I was getting up early (2 AM) so the commune to La Jolla took about 20-30 minutes, but if you leave later expect it to be at least double that time.

This hotel does serve hard boiled eggs as part of the free breakfast.

The laundry room was large and the machines that I used were working fine. They also having a vending machine for laundry supplies in the launder room do you do not have to go to the front desk.

The hotel also has a nice small pool area.

I hope you find this review helpful.

Room Tip: To be close to the laundry, gym and pool, choose a room to the left of the building as you face it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeyouinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
5.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
2.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Property: TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Address: 2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista Hotel Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing