We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one bedroom suite unsuitable for 3 adults, one child.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one bedroom suite unsuitable for 3 adults, one child.”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

sofabed was so horrible, it was unusable as a bed. "king" bed in seperate bedroom was situated right next to the elevator shaft. Staff unhelpful and sometime non-existant. tried to ungrade to another suite or change to another property in the area, but the "manager" would not address any of our concerns, rather had front desk staff say no to all attempts to make our 4 day stay more enjoyable.
I am a frequent business traveler, our company uses marriott properties exclusively and i have always been accomodated with the utmost in professionalism......this site is the exact opposite. although the we had a great time at Legoland and the beach, the hotel was the most unpleasant hospitality experience we have had in a long time.

Room Tip: stay away from the one bedroom suites next to elevators (i think the few they have are). bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    48
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
70
22
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I'm starting to become a fan of Towneplace suite hotels : they offer a very nice modern infrastructure, good sized rooms with a very decent kitchen, at a reasonable rate.
I stayed for 4 consecutive days at the Carlsbad location while attending a meeting in the nearby beautiful but pricy LaCosta Resort.

GOOD POINTS were :
- rapid and efficient check inn / out
- fresh modern rooms
- new building
- Starbucks just across the carpark, and other friendly sized shopping possibilities
- very good price/quality ratio

NEGATIVE POINTS
- rather slow elevator, and the elevator carpet needs servicing
- some limited street noise penetrates the hotel
- the space around the wash basin is rather limited in the bathroom (OK for use by a single traveller)

REMARKS
Ideally located for business in the area, but not a typical location for seaside tourism.
Overall a very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The two shuttle drivers that dropped us off at Legoland and picked us up from Legoland were Excellent! Both drivers were friendly, knowledgeable about the local area, prompt and caring about helping my toddler get into a child safety seat. This facility has a super professional staff. They were "real"... down to earth people and I felt that they enjoyed their job. Top notch establishment. Thank you for the lovely stay. It was quite a treat. The cookies are a HUGE plus. I also really liked that you have the gas grills for guests to BBQ on that is near the pool area. All these details escalate the positive experience to a near resort-like escape. The rooms were stylish, clean and well arranged for the sofa bed to be utilized with ease.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground level near pool. Room 131 single suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonshinesMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our family spent 10 days here for Christmas 2011. The staff was courteous and helpful. The suite was amazing and accessabilty to the airport, beach, family, shopping and restaurants was at our fingertips. We will definately stay here again. The facility is only 1 year old and the pool and hot tub was always inviting. You can't go wrong with Marriott......what you expect is exactly what you get.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammyZ5735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanvitps, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear GrammyZ5735,

I want to take a quick moment to thank you for staying with us over the Holidays last year and let you know how happy I am to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you have a great 2012 and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank You and Best Regards,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We reserved a studio with a king bed and sofabed for 4 people. We arrived to find that the sofabed mattress was only 46 in wide and could not accommodate our 2 teenage sons. Although the web site stated we could request a rollaway bed, we were told that the studio that we were given could not accommodate a rollaway, because it was too small. A wider sofabed would have worked (note that a standard double mattress is 54 in wide).

Otherwise, the hotel was great.

Room Tip: Ask about sofabed width
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I am very disappointed at my stay at this place. All the pictures and reviews convinced me to give this place a try instead of booking residence inn this time. The place overall is very nice and almost brand new. We reserved a a two bedroom suite for two nights. Once we settled down and suddenly realized one of the bed rooms smelled like cat urine. This is not the biggest problem for us. The worst part is the bed. The beds are like water bed. We feel like sinking in to a deep sponge. Next day, we had severe neck and shoulder pain....... We had to check out for the second night in Residence inn in Rancho Bernado, which never disappointed us.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel. Please check if the room smells first, before you settle down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanvitps, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Mary G.,

I would like to thank you for your honest and constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

When it comes to the odor you speak of I honestly do not know what to say but to apologize. After a pet has stayed in a room we have a standard procedure for cleaning those rooms to put them back to normal.

Regarding the beds I am sorry and surprised that you and your family found them uncomfortable. Our beds are actually upgraded above the normal TownePlace Suites beds and we often get rave reviews about their comfort and have on several occasions had inquires from guests regarding where to procure our mattresses. However, we all have different backs with different needs and although we can unfortunately not accommodate everyone with the same mattress I am sorry they were not up to your standards.

Once again I want to thank you for your feedback and if you decide to give us a second chance please let me personally assist you with your accommodation needs.

Best Regards,
Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Great staff, breakfast, location, rooms, etc. etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor. Lower rooms noisy from rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobCatTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
5.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Property: TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Address: 2201 S Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081-6700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista Hotel Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing