We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating!”

Antique Gas & Steam Engine Museum
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Vista
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open year round, this museum features exhibits such as historic gasoline-and-steam powered farming equipment.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Being a city gal I had no real knowledge of engines or tractors but I came out learning a lot! I never knew there were so many types of engines and tractors. We went when they were having their tractor show so there was a lot going on. It's a 55 acre museum and it has a lot to view, from the blacksmith barn to the weaver's building showing you how they made rugs, etc. Not knowing what to expect we ended up spending 4 1/2 hours walking around, taking the hay ride, watching their parade and talking with the many volunteers. There is a lot to see and a lot of walking on uneven ground, so wear comfortable flat shoes. But you will learn a lot as I never knew there was so many different types of farm equipment. Plenty of free parking. Glad we visited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynette51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
527 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Vista Fiber Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Took the wife to the Vista Fiber Festival at this past weekend. A small trade show with mostly local vendors. Some very nice stuff for sale. A small stage with musical acts playing. A old farmhouse with clocks for sale and a barn with a Rock and Gem show. However, the highlight of the show was going into the Weaving Barn. A fantastic number of looms on display and being used. Amazing!

Unsure about admission fees to the host facility.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bcreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not for Everyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We received "zero" help from the office. The admission was small but we'd have liked to have been given an idea of what to do after paying. To appreciate this "museum" you need to really want to see 100's of tractors, Caterpillars, wagons and trucks. Most have no identification except the brand name. We only saw two other people during the two hours we wandered around by ourselves. I would only recommend touring the museum during the two times per year when there are live demos, and then you really need to love old farm equipment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn70820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Family Place to Explore An Older Way of Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This attraction is a great family afternoon. Park and wander around. there are exhibits of antique tractors, steam tractors, stationary boilers, gas engines, a building full of weaving looms, a blacksmith building, and a model railroad museum.
The best place to start is the gift shop inside the front gate. They can give directions and offer advice.
Bring your walking shoes.
For families with children, there is a new playground and a model railroad building where children can operate trains and go on a scavenger hunt.
Check the web site for details and operating hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank petest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, USA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“CW re-enactment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This last time I went to the civil war re-enactment. But I like to go here for the Bluegrass weekend, and the threshing bee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LGA026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antique Gas & Steam Engine Museum also viewed

 

Been to Antique Gas & Steam Engine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing