We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extensive Menu, Good Food”

La Paloma Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 217 Restaurants in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Extensive Menu, Good Food”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

While La Paloma isn't that far away (about 12 miles from where we live), we don't often go to Vista to eat. With the offering of a Groupon, we decided we would try lunch there.

La Paloma does have a nice covered patio, but we decided to sit inside. We were seated and almost immediately given our menus, plus a basket of warm corn chips and salsa. The only thing I wish La Paloma had inside was better lighting so we could read our menus easier. It was somewhat dim inside.

The menu was extensive (at least 6 pages). Almost everything on it looked good to this very hungry person, but I decided on tacos in order to get to eat sooner than later!

I ordered pork carnitas tacos (which came with rice and choice of beans) and my spouse chose a chicken chimichanga (also came with rice and beans). Our lunches arrived within 10 or so minutes of ordering. The food was nicely plated and both of our meals were delicious. The pork was moist and flavorful, and my spouse said his chimichanga was fried "just right" and was very good.

While the Groupon did make the price lower, I didn't think that the cost of our lunches were unreasonable and would go there again, with or without a coupon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dml718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    8
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
284 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Extensive Menu”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have eaten here before on our many trips to Southern California. We were able to get a Certificate on Restaurant.com. We sat out on a very nice covered patio which is next to a wooded area so you are not bothered by traffic. The service was good although the place was not crowded since we were early for dinner. They have a rather extensive menu with lots of unusual items. I had the fajitas. They were very good but I felt like the portion was a little small for the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank petsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
“Gone way downhill since the late 90s”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This used to be a go-to restaurant and one our family looked forward to for birthdays and other family gatherings. We also used to take out-of-towners here to show them what great food Vista has to offer. Mole used to be the best in SD. Not any more.

Now the food is flavorless, the service is sloppy, the building looks rundown, and the prices are too high. We've been sad to watch this once great restaurant slide further downhill over the past 14 years, to the point that when someone brings up going here, we all just shake our heads and say, "nah."

After a couple years' break, we finally went again a few weeks ago and it slid even further downhill. Don't think we'll be going back until we hear new management has taken over. : (

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over Priced El Torrito Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our first time here and we weren't very impressed. The atmosphere is the basic sitdown mexican looking place. We had the appetizer of the spicy lobster something or other, it was about two ounces of slipper tail in a hot oil sauce. Pretty weak, not even lobster, $10. My girl had the salmon entree and I had a carne asada burrito. Her salmon was way over cooked, the rice had no flavor, just poor. My burrito was meat and onions only. No rice, beans, nothing. The server took off for like twenty minutes doing side work, never checking to see if our food was cooked properly. I don't expect perfect service, but she was pretty bad. The entrees average $20, just way too much for poorly executed mexican food. Or any mexican food for that matter. If you like spending money like that at El Torrito, then you'll love La Paloma.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went there for the first time tonight and we will definitely be back, Yes the menu is huge, but I don't understand why someone would give them a low rating because of that. Have a drink and relax! We were there with friends who eat there often and knew just what they wanted, my husband quickly picked out something, but I was undecided. So.....our server, Beverly, who has been there 19 years !! asked me a few questions and recommended the blackened scallops. Now who would think to order those in a Mexican restaurant in Vista?? Well my meal was excellent. The side salad was fresh and tasty with an avocado dressing. I really wanted to try the coffee flan, but I was too full (and taking home some leftovers). We live about 30 minutes away, but will be back. Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paloma Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Paloma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing