We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best night's sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewed August 27, 2010

What a lovely hotel! The bedding was super comfortable, the rooms were spacious, the service was great...and I can't stop there. It had, by far, the best workout facility I've ever set foot in (it had chilled wet towels, dry towels, a fancy water cooler, free weights, weight machines, exercise mats, treadmills, ellipticals, and bikes all with built in TV's, PLUS apples!

The close proximity to the highway and 40 minute drive to the Fresno airport made it ideal for business travel.

Finally, the hotel bar, serves bubblegum vodka. This sealed the deal for me, as one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at for business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absolutangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 360 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

Spent two nights using Marriott Rewards points. I spent all day in Sequoia National park, so the hotel was pretty much just a place to sleep, the closest place I could get with points. The hotel was great - the room was clean, the bed comfortable. The shower was clean and roomy, the shower had good pressure and a high enough shower head. TV was an HD Flat Panel with a decent selection of channels.

One quibble - unlike some places, there was no free printing in the business center - but there is a sign telling you to come to the desk if you need to print a file.

Other points:
*The staff was extremely courteous and friendly - as nice as any place I have ever been.
*There was ample free parking,
* The area is a bit dead on a weekend night, but there are several restaurants (and a Starbucks) a couple of blocks north, in an "Old Town" type area.
*There is also a little shop in the hotel itself for snacks and drinks.
* It is a bit far from the park,. Three Rivers is more convenient, but it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tywwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Nice hotel with a nice staff. Our room was clean and the pool was okay. There were a lot of trees which seem to attract bees near the pool. The breakfast in the hotel was good. It filled us up. We got a deal which included breakfast for 2 adults and kids under 12. That saved us money. It was quiet in the hotel and didn't hear much noise in the hallway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamahOF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed for one night at the "Marriott Visalia" in June 2009.

Location:
The hotel is located directly in Visalia. We chose it because we liked to have a good & comfortable hotel near the Sequoia National Park. This absolutely hit our expectations.

Room:
We had a room on an upper floor. It was clean and the interior was nice. As the place was really very crowded at the time we where there, due to a large meeting in the annexed conference centre with obviously most of the participants staying and dining at the hotel, we decided to leave one day earlier, which worked absolute perfectly (they did not charge us for this last night, we had the most flexible booking rate). The staff was friendly and helpful: we had some questions about the air-conditioning system and the technician responsible for it was at no time point getting tired answering all our questions.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

What can I say? It’s a Marriott. The rooms were clean and comfy, and the bed is the best. The staff, from front desk to bartender to doorman, was friendly and helpful. I asked for a high floor, and they gave us a high floor. The nice clean pool area (with hot tub) was exactly what we needed after a hot day. The location is ideal- right off of 198 and 63, within walking distance of Main Street restaurants, behind the Convention Center. I think the hotel was redone in 2006 and the rooms mostly show it, although the ceiling was still popcorn and the bathroom floor was starting to look a bit beat up. My only other criticism is that their wi-fi really didn’t want to work with my iPod Touch; it went into an infinite loop asking me to accept Terms and Conditions. We did get it to work with our laptop.

If like us you’re planning to use this hotel as a base to explore Sequoia National Park: it’s about 45 minutes to reach the entrance to Sequoia National Park, and an hour and fifty minutes to reach Moro rock (which includes an extra 10 minutes for construction delays in the park).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed here for a big family wedding and our two small well-behaved poodles were most welcomed by the staff. $75 deposit for the dogs was very reasonable. The room was clean, staff friendly, breakfast was excellent (variety, fresh fruit, plentiful), pool clean and comfortable, beds comfortable. Our whole family had an excellent experience here. We checked in at the last minute due a disappointing reservation at a local B&B and they accommodated us readily and we would certainly return. Shaded parking. Walking distance to downtown and all shops and eateries. Backs on to the convention center.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The rooms are very clean and well appointed. The front desk, I think her name was Maryellen or something like that was excellent, sorry I can't remember her name. The restaurant was terrible! Service was the worst! Room service never delivered! They charge for internet every 24 hours. Great location in downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
789 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Visalia
9.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 300 S Court St, Visalia, CA 93291-6214 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: $130 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Equipped with a myriad of reasons to appreciate the charming Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center. Located at the gateway to Sequoia National Park, we are the top choice among Visalia hotels. Choose our hotel to explore the San Joaquin Valley along with King's Canyon, Crystal Cave, and Lake Kaweah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing