We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

What can I say? It’s a Marriott. The rooms were clean and comfy, and the bed is the best. The staff, from front desk to bartender to doorman, was friendly and helpful. I asked for a high floor, and they gave us a high floor. The nice clean pool area (with hot tub) was exactly what we needed after a hot day. The location is ideal- right off of 198 and 63, within walking distance of Main Street restaurants, behind the Convention Center. I think the hotel was redone in 2006 and the rooms mostly show it, although the ceiling was still popcorn and the bathroom floor was starting to look a bit beat up. My only other criticism is that their wi-fi really didn’t want to work with my iPod Touch; it went into an infinite loop asking me to accept Terms and Conditions. We did get it to work with our laptop.

If like us you’re planning to use this hotel as a base to explore Sequoia National Park: it’s about 45 minutes to reach the entrance to Sequoia National Park, and an hour and fifty minutes to reach Moro rock (which includes an extra 10 minutes for construction delays in the park).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    148
    43
    24
    8
See reviews for
68
91
23
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed here for a big family wedding and our two small well-behaved poodles were most welcomed by the staff. $75 deposit for the dogs was very reasonable. The room was clean, staff friendly, breakfast was excellent (variety, fresh fruit, plentiful), pool clean and comfortable, beds comfortable. Our whole family had an excellent experience here. We checked in at the last minute due a disappointing reservation at a local B&B and they accommodated us readily and we would certainly return. Shaded parking. Walking distance to downtown and all shops and eateries. Backs on to the convention center.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
950 reviews
404 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

The rooms are very clean and well appointed. The front desk, I think her name was Maryellen or something like that was excellent, sorry I can't remember her name. The restaurant was terrible! Service was the worst! Room service never delivered! They charge for internet every 24 hours. Great location in downtown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

We booked this hotel because th eone in Morganhill was good. But to our surprise it said they were pet friendly , we could not find the pet policy on the website, it was very consufing and we arrived there we learnt taht we had to stay inside the room with the pet so my husband and I had to decide whose business was going to be ruined . We were both travelling with our pet for business purposes. The staff was extremely unfriendly taking adavantage that there was convention and the hotel was sold out. We had to stay the night we arrived at five pm , still they charged us 75 dollars for th epet and we could not have breakfast together or lucnh . The hotel does not have complimentary breakfast. It was horribly dirty, windows dirty, the towels had lipstick and the pillows and matress horrilbe and also a socalled conofrmter heavy and with stains , the worse experience ever. We checked out the next day ,never again we will risk going to the arriot. And they charge for internet and printing which that is ok. But htre is free wifi in every decent hotel. Even the water , abottle of spring water the cheapest you get for 59cts. they put a bottle in your room and charge a dollar. No refrigerator nothing. The maids horribly rude. They entred three times without knocking to our room knowing we had a pet and a sign outside. Never ever again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vascolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We've been coming to the Visalia Marriott the past few years for work in February. There aren't enough superlatives for the hotel. Staff is very attentive, always chipper, no matter the hour. There is a consistency of experience across the board that makes the stay great. Our trips are always long, and they dull the trauma of being on the road over a week; they make it feel like home as much as can be.

The front desk attendants are great. The rooms are relatively recently revamped, and very comfortable. We always feel safe in and around the property; it's a bit of an oasis in the central Valley, and definitely the nicest property in that part of the state.

All in all, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OandBStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

...and clean. Not a hair or morsel anywhere. The cleaning staff here run a sticky over the entire bathroom to ensure that there are no hairs. Bed Class A sleep all day comfy. No noise except for a 6 AM supply truck backup horn. It could use real glass cups. Internet connection easy and speedy. Soap and shampoos are quality. Towels a bit thin and small but super clean. Staff and service fine except no 24 hour maintenance if there is a snag at night. Breakfast nook cramped early and quality is continental except for the do-it-yourself hot waffles which are excellent and the Jimmy Dean sandwiches which were kinda placed strategically hidden. Excellent latte shack next door. Would stay again. What I've heard from this trip is that the Marriot Convention Center is a no go and the Holiday Inn is slightly better but not by much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cageo2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So CAL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

Arrived, great hotel, pet friendly and relatively clean. On the 2nd night ,11/27/09 the hotel decided to host a Karaoke type party that started at about 7:00pm lasted until 12:00am NON STOP SINGING AND ROCKING OUT. I understand that Hotels need to make their money by renting out their facilities but this marriot has rooms on the 2nd floor that face the reception/lobby/karaoke studio. Imagine a rockband gaming session outside your bedroom door. Seriously it was so LOoooouuuuUD that it was funny, my wife and I could not believe that this hotel would let this go on. We called the lobby 3 times and received the typical "GO AWAY ANSWER" umm sir.....yeeah.... we're extremely sorry but the party will be over shortly. We apologize for the inconvenience...knowing that it was an inconvenience. Great thanks for nothing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 395ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Equipped with a myriad of reasons to appreciate the charming Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center. Located at the gateway to Sequoia National Park, we are the top choice among Visalia hotels. Choose our hotel to explore the San Joaquin Valley along with King's Canyon, Crystal Cave, and Lake Kaweah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing