We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Colton, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Checked in on 4th of July after several days in Yosemite camping. We totally were looking forward to the air conditioning, shower, and pool!!! Requested a room with a view of the city's fireworks show, and received a nice view on the 7th floor. Room, as with all Marriott's, was clean and plush. We love have a lot of pillows! Shower and amenities were good. We stayed on an ESCAPE! package and so ordered room service to eat after the fireworks show (9:20pm). Our stay included 2 adult breakfasts in the hotel restaurant - we had the buffet, and our 2 kids (age 2, 5, 7) ate for free. The buffet was good - had an omelet station!

Only downer was the pool. Yes, it is NOT heated, but kids don't care. Also, there were A LOTTTTTTTTTT of bees flying around the pool. After all the mosquito bites in Yosemite, I really did not want to add bees to the list. Mostly, I was terrified for our 3 kids. We didn't stay long - much to their disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serenaviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    141
    39
    19
    7
See reviews for
62
86
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Stayed here two nights over a weekend in May to attend a Rawhide (baseball) game.

The good: pool was clean (though apparently unheated) & a hit with the family, room was nice & clean and staff was friendly & efficient. This hotel is also quite close to Main Street, which, while we did not take advantage, appears to be quite nice.

The irritants: (1) there's a US Post Office across the street. Starting at (I swear) 5am on Saturday morning, the postal trucks started backing into the facility with backup alarms blaring - this was fairly nonstop until we left the room, around 9am. (2) Saturday night was Prom night at the attached convention center and there was *zero* parking in the hotel lot (which is shared with the (CC). I was directed to the top (5th) floor of the garage across the street for overnight parking.

Hotel is recommended with those caveats.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KStime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Did not make a prior booking but on the way to visiting the nearby National Parks we walked in and asked about room availability on the basis of reviews on TA. The Front Desk staff were very courteous and we took two rooms for two nights. The property is in good shape, the rooms a decent size with comfortable mattresses and bedding/pillows. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean too. No minibar/fridge or wall-safe though.

The main restaurant serves an excellent breakfast which we thought was good value. We had one evening meal there which, on the other hand, was disappointing. However, the service staff were very good and maintained their cheerfullness and friendly banter even when things got a little busy.

The hotel is very conveniently situated - just off I198 (but could not detect any noise from the highway), and a 2 minute walk to Main Street where there are several small restaurants and bars, as well as the usual selection of take-aways and coffee places. Plenty of parking in the hotel premises.

Would happily stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We just returned from Visalia and had a fantastic stay at the Marriott there. It is very convienent to the highway. It is also right next door to the convention center. The main street of Visalia with restaurants and shops, coffee houses is just one block away. The location of this hotel is excellent.

We had a very updated, clean room and comfy bed. It was so comfortable that my husband called back to the hotel to ask what mattress they use so we can buy one.

The reason for our stay was to see a concert at a place in Exeter. The Orange Blossom is a concert hall, fantastic dinner and great performers. We saw a guitarist named Tommy Emmanuel who is phenominal and perfoms worldwide. The venue is soooo intimate and personal. WE Will return....we traveled about 300 miles one way for this and enjoyed it.

  • Liked — convienent - and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cinnamoncyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
627 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

Our check-in was quick, easy and pleasant. Yordi E., the hotel manager, was expecting us and had prepared a very big surprise. Stepping out from behind the counter she said “We are upgrading you to the Presidential Suite!” She thanked me for being a loyal Marriott Rewards customer and with a warm handshake provided both our room keys and a quick orientation to the available services (restaurant, bar and spa). With a big smile I thanked her and we stepped over to the elevator riding up to the top floor.

The President Suite’s double doors open into a 500 sq. ft. room. This large space is arranged into separate seating and dining areas. The far wall is filled with double balcony doors that open up the space and provide easterly views towards the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the Sequoia National Park. Left of the entry is a bar service counter with a guest half-bath to the right. My uploaded pictures show the room, furniture and views.
The second room, 300 sq. ft., contains the bedroom area, a third balcony and access to the master bath. The entire suite is beautifully furnished with hardwood floors and simple elegant decorations.

Along with many others in the United States and around the world we celebrated the historic election on November 4th. Our Presidential Suite upgrade offered a special opportunity for a second celebration. I called room service and ordered Moet & Chandon White Star Champagne along with a cheese tray. It arrived quickly and we lifted our glasses with a prayer of celebration and thanks for our new young President elect, his staff and his family. As part of the three million Obama volunteers we are truly grateful and will remain engaged to do our part.

The Presidential Suite accommodations offered a unique opportunity for my wife and I to relax. It has two big screen TVs and very comfortable seating. So we picked a movie to watch, Hamlet 2, and settled in to enjoy the champagne and cheese. The movie was 3 stars out of 5, the White Star champagne 5 of 5 and the cheese tray, excellent.

Around 6pm we heard church chimes and stepped out onto the balcony. The First Presbyterian Church, two blocks away from our downtown location, was playing a lovely and familiar hymn. We stood on the balcony, enjoyed the view and let the chimes lift our Sunday evening spirits.

The Visalia Marriott Hotel sits near the middle of the San Joaquin Valley, California’s agricultural heart, 190 miles north of LA and 230 miles southeast of San Francisco. Visalia is a city of about 120,000 people with a metropolitan population of over 400,000.

Coming in from the balcony I ordered sandwiches and two desserts to sample. My choice was the Marriott burger and my wife had the “Down Town” club. Both came with fries. The desserts were “Sweet Dream” cheesecake and the “Orange Chocolate Bourbon” cake. It was all delicious.

The bath was divided into three separate areas, vanity, toilet and bath area which contained a glass enclosed shower and a separate deep oval tub spa. Aromatherapy products from Bath and Body Works were generously provided throughout the master bath and separate guest restroom.

The elegant king bed and bedding was simply spectacular. We enjoyed an especially luxurious and restful night. We recommend you find to time to visit the Visalia Marriott, asked for the Presidential Suite and enjoy a very relaxing experience.

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Disliked — Downtown location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Stayed here for a single night with my wife on my way to Giant Sequoia National Park. I arrived late, checked in very easily. There was lots of parking spare outside and the hotel was easy to find.

Room was just as I'd expect for a Marriott, nice bed and bathroom. The view from my room on the 7th floor was nothing special, but, you could see the city, as I suspect that there isn't that much to see in Visalia. We left early the next day after breakfast in the pleasant enough executive lounge (small but it wasn't busy). I didn't use any other facilities during my time there.

However, as a Marriott Platinum member I had a few minor issues with service on this very short stay which I didn't expect (i.e. no room upgrade despite the hotel clearly not being busy, and no access to the executive lounge without having to specifically return to reception to get my room key enabled) - as such I can appreciate the issues with service others might have had. But, the staff were polite enough when I saw them.

  • Liked — Simple, easy Marriott
  • Disliked — A few service problems that I wouldn't normally expect at a Marriott
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We arrived later than we expected at this stop of our trip but we quickly found the hotel. It was just what we needed after a very long drive. Nice open welcoming foyer, efficient staff and a large clean room. There was a problem with the hair dryer in the room which was rectified within 10-15 mins, and these same staff gave us good info about places to eat within walking distance. (“Little Italy” does the best seafood pasta ever!) We asked for a quiet room which is exactly what we got although that did come at the expense of any sort of view from the window but as a one night stop over it was fine. The pool area was very nice and was open for a lot longer than other pools we came across on our trip.

  • Liked — It was just idael for what we wanted
  • Disliked — View from room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 300 S Court St, Visalia, CA 93291-6214 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing