We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option for visiting the Sequoia National Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We chose to stay at this hotel when visiting the Sequoia National Forest. The other hotels that are closer are of a motel quality or more rustic. This hotel is about 1 hr. drive from the entrance and a nice value for a nice hotel. Many restaurant chains a short drive for your meals.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TBKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 354 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2008

We booked this property because we wanted a nice hotel as a good vantage point to Sequoia National Park. The hotel is about an hour from the park.

The hotel itself seems to be popular with conferences. There were a number of people with conference badges on - but it wasn't so many that it was a problem.

Check in was easy, room was new and clean and reasonably sized. A/C was adequate but it was still a little warm in the room.

When we checked in, we asked for extra pillows. They never delivered them, so I called the front desk. The phone rang and rang and no one picked up. I called back later and they agreed to send some up. The pillows never showed. Took me three calls to get the pillows and some extra towels.

It's close to downtown Visalia (pronounced V-eye-zayl-ya) which has a number of local restaurants.

When we went to order room service, our menu was missing 3 pages. We called downstairs - again with little luck. Took a number of calls and they finally brought us a xerox-copy of the missing page(s). Once we received the food, it was actually pretty good.

It had a newer bathroom that was clean. Internet service was available for a fee. Nice large LCD TV screen as well. Parking was free.

So overall, a very nice property, but the front desk service was sort of poor.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I've stayed in 3-4 hotels in Visalia, and the Marriott was definitely the best. That's not to say it was perfect... there were a couple of annoyances:

The room wasn't dirty... but it wasn't spotless like most Marriott rooms seem to be. The people weren't rude, but didn't go out of their way either -- for example, a clerk wasn't at all helpful when I asked for restaurant recommendations. Also, when is Marriott going to update their TVs? This hotel had an aged 23" CRT TV, with a terrible picture. This is a chain wide issue... but other companies are installing up-to-date TVs in their rooms.

All in all, I would stay here again if I were to travel back to Visalia... just don't be disappointed when you notice the level of service and quality isn't quite as high as what you're used to with other hotels in the brand.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpetralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

I've been coming to this hotel for years since I have family in the area and love to visit. When a Radisson, this hotel was wonderful. Since Marriott took over, there have been nothing but problems when I've stayed there. The staff goes from unprofessional to downright unfriendly. Last time I stayed, my bed never got made. This time, I found there was a charge to login to the business class computer! Unbelievable. I'm very disappointed because this hotel has just about the best location in town for being able to walk through the old downtown and shop in charming little boutiques. Hopefully, they will get it together and figure out how to better serve their clientele.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leblancll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed here for the July 4th weekend. This hotel location is great for day trip to Kings Canyon and Sequoia national parks. Hotel room is almost new and bedding is good. The pool is great for our two kids. Service is very good. Dinner at the hotel is also great. Although the service may be a little slow. very close to downtown, you can walk to Starbucks and other places. we also saw the firework from our hotel room!

Only thing is they should supply free internet. Even in the public place like lobby, they still need charge $9.99 a day. That is not good.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank Lovetravelpskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We ended up staying here just the one night before our white water rafting trip on the Kaweah river. I chose this hotel after some research thinking it would be the best value compared to other hotels in the area. We drove up from San Diego (about 5 1/2 hours on a Fri night) and arrived at the hotel about 930pm.

The lady at check in was very friendly and we were checked in in 5 minutes. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor right next to the elevators. I knew that might be an issue with noise, but we were only going to be there the one night, so we didn't move. I woke up once in the middle of the night by people coming off the elevator and going to their room.

After getting to our room, we decided to check out the hot tub. The whole pool/spa area is very nice and surrounded by a wall for privacy. The hot tub is very big and was nice and hot. The jets didn't work that well, however.

The major problem we encountered with our stay was the air conditioning. The thermostat only goes down to 68! Normally, that temp would be plenty cool at home. However, during the night, it would get pretty cool when the air was on and then get hot when it kicked off. I was constantly kicking off the covers and covering back up through the night.

The next morning, I was awakened by the family next door at 6am. They weren't being especially loud or anything, but the walls were pretty thin. I tend to be a light sleeper when I'm not in my own bed, so this may have not been a problem for someone else. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, so I can't comment on the food.

Visalia seems like a nice little town and the hotel was next to the downtown district. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank FreqTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I was here on business. Overall the hotel is excellent. There are few things that could be improved (free internet connection for one). The only minor complain is the front desk. There were no one at the front at 7:30AM. I waited for about a minute and someone finally came out from the back. They should have at least one person at the front desk at all time.
The food from the restaurant is a little bit pricey but the quality is excellent. I tried the salmon one night and it was very good.
The parking is good. One suggestion for the hotel: they should separate the parking from the convention center next door. There were no parkings one evening when a function was going on in the convention center.

When you are in Visalia area, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AndrewIp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
779 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#5 of 14 in Visalia
486 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Visalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 300 S Court St, Visalia, CA 93291-6214 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: $148 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Equipped with a myriad of reasons to appreciate the charming Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center. Located at the gateway to Sequoia National Park, we are the top choice among Visalia hotels. Choose our hotel to explore the San Joaquin Valley along with King's Canyon, Crystal Cave, and Lake Kaweah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing