We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel next to the convention center.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel next to the convention center.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good rooms; all kinds of services available. Neat downtown area within walking distance; shops, pubs and restaurants abounding. No fee parking; right next to the convention center. $10 a day for internet in room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    146
    43
    23
    8
See reviews for
67
91
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here twice for business, love this hotel. Great location right off the freeway, walking distance to fun bars, nice restaurants, and great shops. 2 blocks from Starbucks. Lots of free parking, easy access to the convention center. Front desk staff was consistently friendly, eager to help, and very efficient - I'd rank them higher than many other Marriotts. Our company hosted a function here and the catering was FANTASTIC - got rave reviews from all guests, but it's a different staff than in the restaurant, I believe. Hotel seemed a bit pricey for the area, but compared to the others I saw was well worth it.

Room Tip: Views of the mountains are gorgeous from the upper floors at the back of the hotel - try to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

There are two types of visitors to Visalia; those who have family and friends here, and those whose car breaks down on the way to the Sequoias and they find themselves stuck in this middle of nowhere place. Either visitor would do well checking into this above average small town cookie cutter Marriott. The newly remodeled hotel is very comfortable and the beds are excellent. The guest rooms are average in size and well done all the way around. The hotel is located in the center of a depressing downtown area that is not walking friendly because of the homeless and meth addicts waiting for guests with cash to stroll outside the hotel. We were ambushed in the hotel parking lot as we got in our car. The staff of the hotel is friendly, professional and the food in the onsite restaurant was clean and straightforward. So, if your life leads to Visalia--try the Marriott. It is the top choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRVLtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Desert
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is fine. Plenty of parking, friendly staff, nice rooms. But don't try to have dinner there. They have some kind of a "restaurant", but it's only open for breakfast and lunch. If you want dinner, they serve it in the bar. And my dinner was terrible. They have a Steak and Lobster special on Wednesdays. $25.00. Salad extra. And the salad was good - i recommend it. But the dinner was barely warm. I sent it back. I got a new dish, barely warm. So i refused it too and it was taken off my tab, with an offer for a desert. The Manager was obviously used to this. With a bad dinner, had no interest in desert. Dinner is certainly an afterthought here. If there is a chef, which I doubt, maybe he should try working at Carl's Jr. to expand his experience and resume.

Room Tip: Away from elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMinPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

When our plans for a three day getaway fell through we opted to stay the night in town. It was great. Everything is close to downtown. Walking distance to restaurants and nightlife was perfect to let us relax and 'getaway'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room, comfortable beds. Close walk to downtown, close to the freeway. We would definely stay here again. We were herein business did not know the area, the staff helped find things for us to do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Tagging along with my husband on business to Visalia,ca I truly had very minimal expectations of finding a hotel that was of decent quality and comfort in this rural part of california. I was pleasantly surprised to find a Marriott that was conveniently located in downtown Visalia, within miles of everything. The accommodations were consistent with a four star Marriott in much larger cities. Rooms had been upgraded with granite countertops and modern decor. The staff service was top notch,very. accommodating and pleasant. In particular, the front desk and bar staff went out of there way to ensure I was comfortable. Overall a great place to stay in Visalia.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwayzaladyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 300 S Court St, Visalia, CA 93291-6214 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Equipped with a myriad of reasons to appreciate the charming Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center. Located at the gateway to Sequoia National Park, we are the top choice among Visalia hotels. Choose our hotel to explore the San Joaquin Valley along with King's Canyon, Crystal Cave, and Lake Kaweah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing