We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, don't have dinner at the "restaurant"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is fine. Plenty of parking, friendly staff, nice rooms. But don't try to have dinner there. They have some kind of a "restaurant", but it's only open for breakfast and lunch. If you want dinner, they serve it in the bar. And my dinner was terrible. They have a Steak and Lobster special on Wednesdays. $25.00. Salad extra. And the salad was good - i recommend it. But the dinner was barely warm. I sent it back. I got a new dish, barely warm. So i refused it too and it was taken off my tab, with an offer for a desert. The Manager was obviously used to this. With a bad dinner, had no interest in desert. Dinner is certainly an afterthought here. If there is a chef, which I doubt, maybe he should try working at Carl's Jr. to expand his experience and resume.

Room Tip: Away from elevators and ice machines.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMinPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 349 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

When our plans for a three day getaway fell through we opted to stay the night in town. It was great. Everything is close to downtown. Walking distance to restaurants and nightlife was perfect to let us relax and 'getaway'.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room, comfortable beds. Close walk to downtown, close to the freeway. We would definely stay here again. We were herein business did not know the area, the staff helped find things for us to do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Tagging along with my husband on business to Visalia,ca I truly had very minimal expectations of finding a hotel that was of decent quality and comfort in this rural part of california. I was pleasantly surprised to find a Marriott that was conveniently located in downtown Visalia, within miles of everything. The accommodations were consistent with a four star Marriott in much larger cities. Rooms had been upgraded with granite countertops and modern decor. The staff service was top notch,very. accommodating and pleasant. In particular, the front desk and bar staff went out of there way to ensure I was comfortable. Overall a great place to stay in Visalia.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwayzaladyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very war and friendly near the hospital and downtown. Free parking for guests. Nice pool. Room service was quick and offered me a good selection of options for a light, late dinner. Front desk gave me good information about the parks in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very nice accommodations! Enjoyed lounging in the bar with friends, service was excellent. The room had some real nice amenities. Particularly liked the number of outlets to charge cell phones, I-pad, etc. Also really liked the overhead light so that I could read in bed without disturbing my mate. Location is very good with lots of shops nearby in the downtown area. This was the first time I've stayed anywhere that the in-room coffee was drinkable! Will come back to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our first stay at Marriott Visalia. After a long drive in the rain we arrived very late at night. The young man at the front desk, realizing we were very tired, checked us in quickly and in a room far from the elevator and ice machines or anything else that would disturb our sleep. I greatly appreciated the consideration. The room was comfortable and clean. We we did venture out the next day we really liked the location. The hotel was in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felixx9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
210 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#5 of 14 in Visalia
484 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 300 S Court St, Visalia, CA 93291-6214 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: $141 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Equipped with a myriad of reasons to appreciate the charming Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center. Located at the gateway to Sequoia National Park, we are the top choice among Visalia hotels. Choose our hotel to explore the San Joaquin Valley along with King's Canyon, Crystal Cave, and Lake Kaweah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing