We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fine hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed only one night for my daughter's gymnastics competition but the rooms and amenities are very nice. Located next to the convention center and in the middle of "old town" Visalia, this would make a fine hub to see the area or as a stopover on the way up to the national parks. The staff were without question some of the most personable and helpful I have ever encountered anywhere - we had no reason to stay longer but were tempted just because everything was so well done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLGElkGrove_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    146
    43
    23
    8
See reviews for
67
91
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel to be close to Sequoia National Forest. The hotel was less than a 30 minute drive to the park entrance, however, once you get into the park there is another 1hour + driving time to get up to the big trees. If you are visiting the park, it would be better to stay in the park. The drive up into the park is beautiful so the time passes quickly. It was nice to stay in Visalia to have restaurants and shopping which are not available in the park. The Marriott is a great place to stay. It is a couple of blocks from a very nice downtown area that includes great restaurants that are not a part of national chains. The hotel has free parking, free use of guest laundry facilities, a great pool area, and good fitness room. The staff of the hotel are very friendly and courteous. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The room I had on the second floor looked out onto a roof so no view. That is not important to me as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had advance notice that I would have to travel to Visalia and started reviewing the hotels in the greater area. I was looking for the best combination of condition/amenities/price/location to downtown. I arrived on a Friday afternoon for a one night stay. From the time I arrived at the manicured grounds and checked in with the knowledgeable and courteous staff at the front counter a good first impression had been made. The room was nicely appointed and clean. I did find some leftovers from a previous guest in the refridgerator. There weren't any events to my knowledge going on at the convention center this weekend; which had been mentioned to the detriment of the quality of other customer's visits. The room was quiet and I slept well on the comfortable bed. When I go back to the Visalia area in the future, more than likely I will return to the Marriot. I have no opinion on the Spa or Breakfast as I did not use the facilities for anything other than the room while I stayed here.

Room Tip: The room I had was non smoking with a king size bed. The room had a small microwave and refridgerato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anttoniusquattronius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I had to go to Visalia for work for one day. I knew that I would be exhausted from a long drive, and just wanted a nice hotel. This hotel met all expectations. It lives up to the Marriott name and what one would expect from a Marriott. Clean and nice room with modern amenities and a nice lobby. Staff was friendly and helpful where necessary. One thing that I want to ding it on, and this was the second Marriott of the week that I stayed in with the same issue, was that there are no robes and they do not provide mouthwash, toothpaste or toothbrush, as well as the high cost of internet (which is why I just have my own 4G hotspot). I am unimpressed with Marriott's cheapness in not providing these things, seeing as they charge top dollar for their hotels.

Room Tip: I guess they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mreichny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have stayed at the marriott on a few different occassions over this past year due to a move, and then again while I was having remodeling done. Front desk is always very courteous/helpful/chipper.. I generally have a wonderful time in the bar chatting with kelly and madison... Upon arriving in the bar for drinks I was greeted by a young man whom I had not met before. After taking my drink order, my server disappeared for while my martini had been sitting on the counter. Where my server went? That's a good question! after about 5 minutes my server reappeared. I inquired about the soup and special of the day and the young man was unaware of what it was and proceeded to rush off to check. There were only 2 or 3 other tables in the entire area, whereas the bartender had a full bar and was quite busy.. Server reappeared with only minimal descriptions of the "ahi tuna bowl"-- was more frustrating than it was a help. Finally got my order in for a "big and juicy" burger. The burger took 25 minutes. I could have had 2 more martinis had the young man actually checked on me. While he disappeared, the bartender got busier and busier. I felt like leaving and almost did. The young man who shall remain nameless(for his sake) seemed more interested in flirting with the front desk staff than he did in doing his job. I asked this young man where Madison or Kelly were (making very obvious that i was displeased with his service), and he gave me a curt and extremely unprofessional answer that I won't repeat. No management was ever present to corral the problem... This was nothing I had ever experienced at the bar/restraurant in Visalia This really put a bad taste in my mouth......Wont be dining here unless I can request my Madison or Kelly.....
positivies:
front desk. Clean comfortable room. Quiet uninterrupted sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjenkcentralcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I stay here every year when picking our children up from the local Summer camp in the mountains. This year we have a new addition to the family, a lab puppy. Marriots "pet friendly" policy is to charge a $75 cleaning fee. Not a refundable deposit and not a fee based on size, stay or anything. Our puppy was in his crate the whole night untill we left. The rate I was charged for the room was $95.00. $75.00 is considerably higher than other hotels I since looked into. Bye the way, the hotel is just average but what do you expect for Visalia. Holiday Inn Express, here I come!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian-in-the-949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
725 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is more than your average Marriott. The personnel are very helpful and go an extra mile to help out. The Concierge floor is the best option and the Concierge lounge personnel are very friendly and helpful. Margo in room service provides better service than any other Marriott. Best place to stay in Visalia.

Room Tip: Concierge floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 300 S Court St, Visalia, CA 93291-6214 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing