We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Hotel in Downtown Visalia......GOOD CHOICE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewed July 29, 2012

In for a business trip (1 day) and found a great rate at the full scale Marriott property in downtown Visalia. Glad I picked this ole gem. Great location near freeway and right smack dab downtown. Great and comfortable rooms. Excellent staff on check in and the resturaunt in the lobby serves up a real nice breakfast buffet (or order off the menu to save money like I did). One thing I really liked is upon check-in, heading to the elevators, I noticed this nice guy offering an old fashion "shoe shine." Very cool to have this service in this hotel and what a shine he gave my pair of old workhorse shoes. Pretty cool offering! Great place and exactly what you expect from the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayJay1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 355 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip. The room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, it was very hot that day/evening, but the AC unit in my room would not go below 68 degrees (I suspect the room was actually warmer than what the thermastat read) and I had trouble sleeping in the stuffy room. The hotel is just a few blocks away from the small but cute downtown area so it's pretty convenient. The woman who checked me in was very friendly and pleasant, but I noticed my coworker (who was checking in right next to me) was treated quite rudely by the manager checking him in. I think we both left the experience pretty neutral overall on this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutoftheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed three nights in Visalia as my "glam base camp" for exploring Kings Canyon and Sequoia Parks. First, the pros, I agree with most other reviews in that the room was quite average, great bed, clean with a nice Flatscreen-TV and silent air conditioning and friendly service. Parking is free, WiFi isn't - but available. Cons: Service elevator makes rumbling sounds like a jet flying over the hotel. Management had received complaints before and has had the elevator company out several times to fix it?!? Your receipt says you can do check-out on the TV, after trying without success called the front-desk and they said it was broken?! Gym is nice, but a couple of the free weights show cracks in the dumbbells, so I'm not sure how safe. Unfortunately, a little league team of over 20 kids took over the pool on Saturday night for a pizza party, so I wasn't able to enjoy the pool with the mob. There was lots of little things wrong a few I mentioned above. The hotel is busy so I figure management is over-whelmed with the business and is unable to keep things working smoothly. I'll won't be back and I'll look for a place to stay that is closer to the national parks.

Room Tip: My room was in the 30's request a room in the low 20's this away from BOTH elevators, main a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeekingDuende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The good: Fast check in, friendly staff, clean and spacious room, good location in the city center of visalia and close to the hgwy and sequoia national park

The bad: noise outside of our room starting 3am, the pool and pool area could be more clean

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moritzchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed there one night only passing through Visalia. This place was really a surprise. While the room was quite average, clean though, with nice Flatscreen-TV and silent air conditioning what really stood out was the lovely service. Since we only had few hours to spend and were looking for a nice place for dinner, the concierge was more than helpful. She shared her personal local experiences and was a pleasure to chat with.

Location is also exzellent, just a few steps into the city centre. Parking is free, WiFi isn't - but available. This nice place would have been worth more than just one night.

Room Tip: As usual, the higher the better. Rooms facing North are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chefarzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Bring Josh back!! Just another great stay at the Marriott. I always enjoy the close walk downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbum690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Best property we could find in Visalia with fair recreational facilities - restaurant, bar, pool. The location is great within walking proximity to down town. We had rented a suite and hoped for 'extra' treatment. This is was not the case. The room was a good size, but beer bottle caps from previous occupants were still on floor when we checked in, The room locl had been broken as well. Room service pick up was slow and trays were kept outside of room for extended period of time. We also did not appreciate chairs and tables storage outside the 'suite' room. Overall friendly hotel staff, attention to detail is non-existent.

Room Tip: Room services closes early. No one delivers pizza after 11 and best option for late night food optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtrvaler_66_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
779 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#5 of 14 in Visalia
488 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Visalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 300 S Court St, Visalia, CA 93291-6214 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: $146 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Equipped with a myriad of reasons to appreciate the charming Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center. Located at the gateway to Sequoia National Park, we are the top choice among Visalia hotels. Choose our hotel to explore the San Joaquin Valley along with King's Canyon, Crystal Cave, and Lake Kaweah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing