We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Kind managers, but definitely in need of a facelift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Sequoia Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Sequoia Area
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Kind managers, but definitely in need of a facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This old motel could use some TLC, even though my room was clean and comfortable, the outside of the place and even the driveway is in need of some remodel work or just plain cleaning up. The furnishings in the office/dining area need replacing as do the tables. but the food offered is quite good and the area clean.

The neighborhood, though just down from the college campus is somewhat questionable and the traffic on Mooney is constant, so a room farther from the front is desirable. The off-street parking is secure, but the driveway itself could use some serious repaving.

The internet was fast and excellent, but my room was right off the office, which could have contributed to the quality, as I've read other reviews that stated otherwise. All in all, for the money this isn't a bad place, it's just old and looks it.

Room Tip: Use your room fan to lessen the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    24
    9
    15
See reviews for
20
30
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After I checked in I asked for the wireless internet password and was told the network was down. That meant two of the things promoted on the hotel website, the pool and the internet, were both unavailable. In the evening a lightning strike knocked out the power in Visalia, so from about 7pm to 5am there was no electricity (I don't blame the hotel for this). The loss of power overnight meant no hot water in the morning.

One positive, before the power shut off the air conditioner cooled the room down very nicely. It was a bit loud, but did the job well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Visalia hotels

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we had no choice to stay here as it was sold out everywhere else due to Memorial Day weekend. If you like very soft/mushy/worn out mattresses and enjoy hearing your next door neighbor's conversations, especially the footsteps/bathroom showering from upstairs, then this is the place for you....the only thing that was mentionable was the decent continental breakfast...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not very clean place and stains on furniture. They have limited selection for breakfast and you can not take food out of the small eating area. We end up had coffee across the street. We got this mystery hotel and if you a choice pick another place. By the way, the pool is closed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank may1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Please don't waste your money here people.. its so unsanitary. Literally semen stains on furniture. Weird smells. Just the worst place ever once your book in they wont refund. Black people especially STAY AWAY. They told us they wanted a $200deposit . We commented we wanted it back in the morning jokingly. The man replied don't steal anything huh? They assumed since we were a black couple we were up to illegal activity. Which is funny because I come from a family of the law and correctional department and my boyfriend is in the marines. I am not familiar with the area so Idk what they have witnessed but never judge a person off the last persons faults. Its called racially stereotyping. Horrible service horrible people horrible room. Plus we had to call the cops just to get our $200 deposit back because I washed my face make up on a wash towel. Really. The cops came inspected the room laughed at the owners over the one towel the could be wash. Which makes me assume they don't use bleach on their linens disgusting. We got our money back for the deposit and left in utter horror from our hellish stay. But if this sounds like a place for u be my guest to be their guest.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestyAbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I would not recommend that anyone stay at this hotel. I stayed here because everything else was sold out for the World Ag Expo. You may say, "you get what you pay for," but I paid over $200 a night for this dump and there were no cancellations allowed.

Pros: Starbucks across the street, clean sheets.

Cons: I'm not sure that it's a safe area, very limited parking, paper-thin walls so it sounds like you are sleeping next to a highway, stained/dirty furniture, uncomfortable/older mattress, lamp electric outlet didn't work, etc.

Avoid room #102 at all costs. It is the room next to the lobby, so you can hear the bell and alarm for people who check-in all night.


Stay away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DestinationLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Excellent stay! Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Clean and well maintained. Centrally located. Nice pool. Flat screen TV, microwave, and fridge. Will stay here next time we are in town! Did not take advantage of the free breakfast, slept late.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLC1UT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
1.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Sequoia Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sequoia Area

Property: Econo Lodge Sequoia Area
Address: 1400 S Mooney Blvd, Visalia, CA 93277-4440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sequoia Area 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Sequoia Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Sequoia Area
Econo Lodge Visalia
Visalia Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing