We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great home base for Sequoia National Forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great home base for Sequoia National Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights and drove bck and forth to Sequoia National Forest each day. National Park campsites are $10 to $20 and that's w/out air-conditioning and your own shower, plus you have to haul all your stuff and protect from bears. So instead of opting for camping, we spent <$60 night here. Clean, friendly staff, location walkable to downtown restaurants, quiet neighborhood. They're a Choice Privilege location, too, so you can earn points for your stay. It's a little tricky to find, but take Mooney, follow it north where it turns into Main, then follow until you see the sign. Parking is covered, so your house won't get HOT in the sun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise97408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    13
    22
    33
See reviews for
15
35
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
People's Republic of California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

On Saturday, Feb 3rd, we rented 3 rooms at the new Rodeway Inn in Visalia, CA. This motel was recently converted to a Rodeway Inn, it was a Best Western. We do work in Visalia and have stayed there many times over the past 10 + years. It has been 2 years since we have been to Visalia, we understand that ownership changed sometime ago but the conversion to a Rodeway is recent.

After our experience on the 3rd, we will never stay there again. This motel was once a nice, well maintained, family run and managed older motel. There is no longer any real management on the premises. The hotel staff are ex-convicts and recovering drug addicts and alcoholics. Some of the occupants are there as monthly residents. It has been my experience that when a hotel or motel starts taking residents, it is no longer a safe place to stay. Others who came and went all night long appeared to be gang members. They were in and out of their rooms running up and down the stairs and halls. I was awake until about 3AM.

Under the previous ownership and management, this hotel was always very busy. Typical customers, travelers looking for a safe, clean and inexpensive place to stay. It was striking how empty the motel was on Saturday night. Of course, the only customers were the residents, gang members and us.

The motel was in good clean condition. It looked as though it had been recently painted, new carpets, etc. The way it was being managed was confusing.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mauleace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Visalia hotels

La Habra, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

This is a tiny, run down property with a miniature pool.

The room was OK and was clean, but was about 100 degrees when we arrived at about 10:00 at night. The AC worked, but took a couple of hours to cool down the room.

The parking was unbelievable - I would never park in their spaces - so tiny you couldn't open the door of an average car once it's parked. I have no idea how the drivers got out. We parked across the street.

The breakfast was OK but it was VERY crowded - one microwave and one waffle iron for everyone; needless to say our family shared one waffle and when there was a space for us to make another one the breakfast was over and no more waffle mix!

The guy at the desk took NO pains to help in any way.

Spend the extra $$ and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — It had towels.
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4Robshavinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed here for one Sunday night in July this year during our tour of the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, Monument Valley, Sequoia National Park and down the coast to Los Angeles.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and nicely decorated. It certainly is an older motel, but was very quiet considering we were on the main street.

The only really negative factor was that the small pool was full (and I mean FULL) of children screaming and playing for hours. They looked to be the children of the staff who worked there. However, come darkness, they all disappeared. Aterwards the pool didn't look clean enough for me to venture in!!

Breakfast was basic, but I liked the waffle maker.

On the whole this was not a bad hotel.

  • Liked — The standard of room
  • Disliked — Dirty pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2006

Motel sounded great online, but is actually quite old and run down. Rooms were clean, bathroom was small. Parking is a problem. Only one handicapp parking space. My elderly parents had to climb stairs because there is no elevator and no double rooms available on the first floor. Their website lists a restaurant. There isn't one. They have coffee thermoses and a do-it-yourself waffle iron in the lobby, but only two little tables. I would not recommend unless price is very important to you. Spend the extra $20 and stay at a newer motel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisacA1027JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2005

Stayed here on 9/4/05. This hotel is right downtown, near city hall, etc. We met fire trucks going in, and I thought that might be a problem with the sirens. But the manager said he had an "understanding" with the fire captain, and they always waited until they were well away to turn on the sirens. The motel is not much to look at on the outside, but the rooms are well lighted, clean and very comfortable, and the front-desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast had the usual continental items, and make-it-yourself waffles. Reasonable senior rate:$75

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2005

Located on the edge of a not-so-bustling downtown Visalia. An older property but it appears that they are trying to keep it respectable. Outdoor corridors with bags of old towels in the hallway. Had a hard time opening the door from the outside and closing it from the inside due to possible warping.

Room was clean but very cramped. Air conditioner sounded like a Pratt & Whitney JT8D jet engine spooling-up. What made it worse was that the AC unit was less than two-feet from the side of the bed. The bed was elevated so high off the floor that one could break something if they fell off, for whatever reason. Marginal cable selection [NO Weather Channel] with spotty reception.

It requires a hike of at least several blocks to find any food, or at least a live person as Visalia rolls-up its sidewalks rather early. Breakfast was as basic as it gets. Not even a glazed donut! Since when does a waffle maker constutute a 'full breakfast'? Only one ice machine and it is downstairs at ground level.

If given a choice I would choose the newer Comfort Inn several blocks away, as it is newer and closer to civilization.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank airlinestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
Address: 623 West Main Street, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Visalia hotel is located in downtown Visalia - walking distance to restaurants, bars, the Visalia Convention Center, and the Visalia Police Department. Stay at this hotel on your visit to Visalia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Visalia
Visalia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing