We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bad hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

worst hotel every stayed in very dirty no hot water bad so called breakfest had my labtop in my room came back someone played with it next day took out the battery left on table came back battery was in lab top and had a virus on it went to the front office told them they said maybe one of the maids did it that all they said did not care bed saged in the middle wood floors very sticky would never stay their rather sleep in the car

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank randy054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    13
    22
    31
See reviews for
15
33
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was by far the worst America's Best Value Inn we have ever stayed in. The floor in the first room was so weak in places we were afraid we would fall through. The final straw was the toliet seat sliding off the commode. This room was supposedly recently remodeled. No carpet but this may have been a blessing since it would probably have been dirty and worn. The second room was some better but the furniture was well worn. The property was strewn with litter and old mattresses and box springs were sitting along the walls of the parking area. The pool was too dirty to enter. The internet access was so difficult I had to take my laptop to the office to keep a signal. I can't believe the sign for America's Best Value Inn is still on the property.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Visalia hotels

Rancho Cordova, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I recently had the worst stay at the Visalia location. We were arriving late and I called the Inn ahead of time to let them know we would be a late check in. During the phone call the phone attendant hung up on be before I could give her my name. Upon arrival I had to check in through a glass window where she barely said anything to me other than hand me my room key & wireless password. We went up to our room and when we got in there it was over 80 degrees and we had a Queen bed and not a King that we booked. We went back down to the window to find NO attendant, so we were unable to get any help. We had to move our bed across the room next to the wall a/c in order for the temperature to be tolerable. Our television did not work and the cable was running across the outside of the wall. The lights were on motion sensors and went off about every 45 minutes throughout the night and made it extremely uncomfortable to try and sleep when we had to get up and turn them off over and over again. To top it off their "breakfast" that should not even be allowed to be advertised as breakfast was fake orange juice (tang), horrible coffee and pastries that you would find at the gas station. I would NEVER recommend this location to any person without this hotel going through a major overhaul in appearance, quality and customer service. Also, if you are a female I do not recommend staying here alone. I did not feel safe and I was with my spouse,

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WFTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We picked this hotel because we have stayed at Americas Best Value Inns in other cities and found them to be clean and comfortable. This is a beat up old hotel with a coat of paint slapped on. The "king-sized bed" was definitely undersized. It is in a run-down part of town. Check-in after hours is through a slot. No lobby entrance is allowed. My wife and daughter stayed here. The safety latch was broken off the door. They resorted to a chair under the door knob to ward off possible intruders. There is no carpet on the floors. When they arrived the room was hot from the 100 degree plus weather. It took a long time to cool it down. If the WiFi existed, there were no directions as to how to access it. The "complimentary breakfast" if it existed, was said to be coffee and Danish by other guests. The lobby was not open when they went to eat the "complimentary breakfast". They talked to an older couple who paid twice as much for the room as they did. They were trying to find breakfast also. Another guest told them that their shower was so dirty, they did not use it. The hotel should be rated ¼ stars. My wife and daughter left as quickly as possible the next morning. Not a chance we will use this hotel again. Find somewhere else to stay!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BakersfieldWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Cheap an quite good location to visit Sequoia National Pak, but not clean . Smell outside, rooms not clean, hairs found in bathroom and in beds
The night was awful thanks to the air conditionning noise
While breakfast is included, we preferred to escape as soon as possible ant take it elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

i been to this hotel a few time when it was Rodeway Inn...and it wasnt bad at all...price was good,rooms clean,comfortable and cozy.I was here again under new management and new name.When i first checked it out online( TripAdvisor),i was wondering why the management kept sending apology emails after some reviews...but since i been here before,i didn't pay it no mind.When i went to check in,the lady was very kind and pleasant and got my room quickly. Now i have stayed at this chain before in different cities.These rooms don't look nothing like the ones that i expected...i knew the size of the room would be much smaller than the ones that you typically find in this chain...no problem.the look of it lost the comfortable and cozy appeal that you or i got when it was the Rodeway Inn...now having hard wood floors and doesn't have the warmth that you would typically feel....which was a shock.the price was higher than i expected also from a little over 50 USD to now a little over 70 USD....

Overall i think the rooms should have stayed the same and the price isn't bad but i personally don't feel it is worth the amount that this hotel NOW charges. So now my review sadly enough has dropped and i think that i will be looking for other hotels to stay,when i am in Visalia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good location, in the centre of a small city named Visalia. Good if you want to go to visit Sequoia National Park by car ( about 45 minutes ). Not expensive, so I'm not disapointed about the price , I just want to prevent another travellers

Lies: Please, don't say that "Continental Breakfast is included " !!! They don't have a place for guest to have breakfast, the only thing they have it's on the same reception, a disgusting coffe and some pastries ( if you're lucky and they are not already finished, like it happened to me ). And also I booked the room because it was annonced as a "smoking room", but when we arrived there, it was not possible , because she said ( the young girl at the front desk ) that: we only have a few rooms for smoking people and I've already gave them to other people who has arrived sooner". We arrived at 5pm, it was not so late, but anyway, then reservation it serves at what ??? And she was not very helpful, I asked how to go to the centre, and she only asked "we are at the centre" ( ok, I know, but I have to go right or left for restaurants, for example? I don't know the city !!! )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felizkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
Address: 623 W Main St, Visalia, CA 93291-6147 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Visalia hotel is located in downtown Visalia - walking distance to restaurants, bars, the Visalia Convention Center, and the Visalia Police Department. Stay at this hotel on your visit to Visalia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Visalia
Visalia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing