We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“recent stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Ridgecrest, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“recent stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I made a point of taking a "virtual tour" of this motel before I made our reservations. The virtual tour is very deceptive. Expecting a modern and clean motel we were very disappointed when we arrived to find it somewhat run down, rooms totally unlike the virtual tour, shabby and without amenities expected. One of the double beds was precariously perched on a single bed boxspring. There was a constant sewer odor emanating from the bathtub drain. We purposely booked this motel because it advertised a continental breakfast - what a joke - coffee & packaged pastries!!! We ended up having to go out for breakfast which cost us over $50.00/day for 5 of us. I was very embarassed as I had booked my sister and brother-in-law from Canada a room as well. It should be against the law for motels to show a virtual tour of a decent motel and when guests arrive find totally unacceptable accomodations. The Visalia Chamber of Commerce should be ashamed to list this motel in their publication. The only acceptable thing about this whole stay was the friendly and helpful daytime employee.

Room Tip: do not rely on their Virtual Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize for your disappointment with your stay here at the America's Best Value Inn. Since your stay there have been some upgrading and changes made to improve the property and its guest rooms. I hope that in the future you do consider us again when in the area.

Thank you for your review as every review is an opportunity to make improvements.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    13
    21
    28
See reviews for
14
31
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Needed somewhere to sleep in Visalia and found this. Nothing special but nothing wrong with it either really. Although on main road wasn't noisy. Breakfast had wafflemaker which was a plus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKflashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Disappointed Guest,

I am the new manager here at the America's Best Value Inn in Visalia and have had an opportunity to look at the reviews posted regarding this property over the last year. I understand where your disappointments are and can assure all fellow travelers that this is not the case any longer. We have made upgrades to our guest rooms and made changes in the staff that will assure that reviews like this are in the past.

I appreciate your input even though it was 7 months ago, I still see it as an opportunity to improve our services and amenities. I hope that you also re-consider staying at our property again in the future as I know that you will have a different experience.

Thank you for your input..

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Walked into the room and the main light would not work. Reserved a single queen bed and got two queen beds. Upon turning the lights on in the bathroom, I discovered some sort of dried red liquid (possibly blood) all over the lights and wall. The tile in the bathroom was missing grout on the floor. The bathroom wall had some sort of dried substance near the toilet. Went to bed and discovered that every 45 minutes during the night the bathroom light and loud fan would turn on automatically. The sheets on the bed did not cover the entire bed as the maid placed them on sideways for some reason. The feet of the bed had no sheet and the pad was showing. The wall paper was comming off the walls, and the carpet was sticky as if it had not ever been cleaned. Went to the "lobby" for the breakfast and discovered a pot of coffee and six mini store bought blue berry muffins. I am not a picky traveler, but please..... this is one of the worst motels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose a room not at this complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your experience here at our property. I am the new manager here at the America's Best Value Inn and hope to be successful at turning around the opinion of travelers like yourself who are looking for value and good accommodations when on the road.

We have made upgrades in our guest rooms, our breakfast offerings and in our staff performance and hope that you re-consider us when in this area again.

Thank you for the review as we see every review as an opportunity to improve our services and accommodations.

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Visalia hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here two nites when it was in the 100's during the day while visiting King Canyon Nat'l Park. The parking is tight as mentioned in other reviews but our Prius had no problems. We were assigned a room before checkin time which was great as the motel was full when we returned from the Park. The air had been left "on" so it was nice and cool. The amenities of the room aren't that great. Bed was ok. TV was old and snowy. We had a mini-fridge and microwave which were nice to have. They had a special "end of summer" sale on the rooms so the price was great - under $50. Continental breakfast was poor and the coffee not good at all. Altho the proprietess was somewhat reserved, the proprietor was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: 2nd floor near the stairs room has fridge & microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Arrived half an hour early for the 1pm check in, so went for a wander for a half hour came back and room still wasn't done.... repeat until 3pm! However, aside from being a little disorganised at the start the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room looked a little tired but was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable with lovely big fluffy pillows. Internet connection was good. Did not take advantage of breakfast so can not comment on that.

Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iiisecondcreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Our room was so dirty, and the wall paper peeling off so much that we could not get a good night's sleep. The air conditioning unit was quite loud. Yes it is a good location for those wishing to visit Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon, and for those who are very cheap, but there are better choices. Unfortunately we arrived late and had no other choice. The "breakfast" was coffee and a meager offering of cheap pastries. We would not stay there, ever, again. Very small swimming pool available but it looked dirty as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dahewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corry, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My brother recommended Americas Best Value Inn to me. I stayed here for a period of ten days and I am absolutely satisfied with the services. I got complimentary breakfast every morning which was of good quality. Rooms were spick and span and things such as bed sheets and towels were changed on a daily basis. I liked it and will definitely spread the work.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samwills820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
1.6 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
Address: 623 West Main Street, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Visalia hotel is located in downtown Visalia - walking distance to restaurants, bars, the Visalia Convention Center, and the Visalia Police Department. Stay at this hotel on your visit to Visalia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Visalia
Visalia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing