We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Nearby Hotels
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamp Liter Inn(Visalia)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Inn(Visalia)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
113
88
39
15
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
88
39
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjack in the boxdel tacobatting cagessausagedrug storewithin walking distanceindoor poolgas stationfast foodbreakfast barnice clean hotelnice stayhot breakfasthot tubking bedbeds were very comfortablegreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 272 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect before I got to the motel, some of the reviews I read were a bit iffy and some where amazing, so I went in with an open mind. To my surprise I loved everything about this place. It was a very welcoming environment and I enjoyed my room, it was very clean and up to par, the breakfast was the best continental breakfast I've had, and the pricing was very reasonable.

I came to realize the bad reviews were not reliable and I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night when we decided to make a spur of the moment trip to Sequoia National Park. Our main deciding factor in choosing this hotel was that they accepted dogs (I don't believe there was an extra fee, either). Check in was easy and quick, and our room was clean. The bathrooms are very large and the whole set up was very comfortable.

Our issue was really with our neighbors. The hotel must have rather thin walls/floors, because we got to listen to the guy in the room above us stomp around until about 10pm, when he must have gone to sleep. However, some level of noise should be expected in a hotel and we didn't give it too much thought. Unfortunately, about fifteen minutes after that, a couple checked into the room next to us, and they were SO LOUD. Yelling and nonsense for a while- I ended up taking a sleeping pill and trying to rest. Then they turned their TV on, and it was loud enough that I could perfectly hear every word from my bed in the next room. I tried to ignore it for as long as I could, but ended up going down to the front desk around 1am to plead my case with the clerk on duty. He was very responsive and nice about the whole thing, and he did get the neighbors to quiet down some about ten minutes after I spoke to him. In retrospect, I should have just gone down earlier to complain, but I try to avoid complaining unless its really warranted. After a rather sleepless night, I stopped downstairs, where there was a basic breakfast (continental) that was complementary. My husband wanted to try the waffle place across the parking lot, but in hindsight I should have just gone with the hotel's cereal (restaurant was not so great).

So even though I had a rough time here, it was not because the hotel was bad, just that other guests were. The gentleman I dealt with looking for help with the issue handled it well and never acted like I was being demanding or a burden on him. I would stay at this location again, but I might ask for a room away from other occupied rooms, if it was possible. I rated this hotel as a 4 because the hotel and staff were just fine, and tried not to let the noise thing affect how I feel about the property.

Room Tip: Thin walls- ask for a room without too many neighbors if it's possible!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lo_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Overcharged my card by thousands. Management is very immature and has no clue about customer satisfaction. Noisy rooms, overcooked same breakfast every morning,clumps of black hair in the pool,rude, and lazy staff! What a nighmare!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Botanical1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We ended up staying at the La Quinta in Visalia because every hotel within 100 miles of Pismo Beach was booked, so it was kind of by accident, but we loved it so much we extended our stay an extra night. This hotel was so clean and the rooms were spacious. We got a King room with a desk and a sofa sleeper for $104 a night. The breakfast was delicious with waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, pastries, cereal, and 2 juice choices. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Not far from Visalia is the Sequoia national park which is an absolute must to see!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pewfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The location was handy, and the parking was easily accessible. We paid extra for a "suite" which included a separate bedroom that could be closed off. Together with its location on the top floor at the end of the hallway, it was reasonably quiet ... although a few times we could still hear shouting in the room below. On the other hand, a true "suite" ought to have two lavs, which this room did not.

The free breakfast is nothing special ... overcooked mini-omelettes with no toppings besides catsup, greasy sausages every morning, peel-it-yourself hard-cooked eggs, and lots and lots of starch. And the standard weak coffee. (How is it that years after the Starbucks revolution, people still tolerate the dishwater that passes as coffee in motel and hotel buffets?)

Housekeeping could improve. We had to check all our towels to make sure they were actually clean.

The "business center" had two computers and a printer that worked sometimes. However, the kids who were hogging the computers to search for porn and get sticky stuff on the keyboards -- ick -- made doing any "business" here pretty tough. A real business center would require key-card access and an adult supervising any kid use.

Lastly, the staff. Oy. I don't want or expect to be called "sir." But having the desk clerk say, "How's it going, Man?" as you pass through the lobby is a bit too informal. What's wrong with, "Good evening. How is everything?".

All in all, this place sure isn't perfect. But it's no worse than any other place in this price range you're apt to find in a place like Visalia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckminster_Fievre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews