We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a Good Place to Stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not a Good Place to Stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel was not good at all. The staff was very rude and unhelpful. When we asked them some questions, they just gave us bad looks and walked away without answering. The rooms were just as bad as the staff. The floor was very dirty, and it looked like somebody vomitted on the carpet. There was hair all over the beds, making it very disgusting. In the bathroom, the paint was peeling, and there was fungus on the edge of the bathtub. The tables were also not clean at all, and there were black marks in the sink. As well as that, there were several bugs in the room that we had to kill. The breakfast was also terrible. Please do not stay in this horrible place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Obok15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    74
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
56
61
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Remich, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Coming from Yosemite with a great hotel experience we stayed 1 night in this hotel after visiting Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia National Park. At the reception it was already clear that we woudn't have the best hotel on our tour through the West of the US. Staff was very indifferent and rather unfriendly. Room was okay although the airco was quite loud, so we didn't hear noises coming from the airport which is directly opposite of the hotel. Airco wasn't activated so we started with a nice temperature ;-( Next day in the morning we had a bad experience having breakfast (which is included in the room rate): the breakfast room was far to small. People were looking for tables and chairs everywhere if they were lucky to get something to eat. There was only 1 person filling up food; meanwhile 2-3 persons were at the reception doing nothing. As the reception is opposite of the breakfast room they had a clear view on what was happening, but it seemed not bothering them. Part of the guests took their food to their rooms in order to be seated while eating. About Visalia: except of lot of Mexican restaurants there was not really something to see. This is one of the two hotels on our tour in the US we rated as poor: both hotels are belonging to Choice Hotels. So we know what to do in future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, Tx.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a clean looking facility, both inside and outside. It was apparent that they took pride in what the place looked like. The rooms were good siized and clean. We stayed there because it was pet-friendly, but would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was the normal, semi-hot meal with scrambled eggs and sausage, but was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK - South West
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had booked a quiet room approx 3 months in advance of our arrival and were allocated what we were told was a quiet room... The room did not directly overlooked the Interstate, but was in the next corner and as such, we hardly slept due to the noise from the traffic - and believe me, this is one busy interstate!!
The room however, was lovely, clean and spacious, just not in the quietest of location.
Breakfas was fine too and the ice tea on arrival was unexpected but very refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort_inn_visalia, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you, we truly appreciate your comments. As new General Manager of the Comfort Inn & Suites in Visalia it is important to me to receive all the feedback we can get as we strive to provide excellent service. Hwy 198 is undergoing contruction to improve access to our location and the crews are working very hard to finish soon. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Clean, quiet, well kept room and great downtown location within a few blocks of many eating places, the convention center and the hospital.

Room Tip: Higher floors better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonuNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites to break up a trip to Yosemite. Reasonable price, clean room, friendly service. Arrived late - easy check-in. Luggage cart at door. Some road noise - may want to ask for room on East side. We have stayed in town at the other Comfort Inn with good results but were not stopping this trip - Visalia is a cute town. Breakfast standard - eggs, waffle maker and basic assortment of fruits, bagels etc.

Normal problem of insufficient plugs near bed, good wifi reception but not secure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielfishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Where do I start...upon arrival, the room had a musty odor, carpet had stains. The next day after the maid cleaned the room. I found, a mucus booger apparently left by housekeeping on the bed spread, a wide variety of dead bugs stuck on the bottom of the soap, around the bathroom sink. There were bugs flying around and crawling on the walls (beetles,baby roaches and some unidentified). I had to go down to the front desk to ask for toilet paper and a bag for the ice bucket because the maid hadn't replaced it. I wanted to check out at this point because I was afraid to sleep with the lights off of fear of cockroaches and bed bugs. Call me crazy for staying one more night. It got worse the next day, I found the toilet hadn't been touched and left dirty and there was a strong urine smell in the bathroom that was not there before. This was the final straw. I told the front desk and all he said was "ok I will let the GM know" The next morning I ran for the hills.I made a list of things that were wrong complained to the front desk again and checked out and went to stay at the comfort inn near downtown Visalia which is much cleaner and in a nicer location and only 5 miles away. I doubt if anyone ever told management or if my note ever got read. The front desk people didn't seem surprised at my complaints. I usually don't write reviews but I had to write one this time. The only good thing was that I didn't find any bites from bugs yet.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny-girl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
3.7 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.7 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 9300 W Airport Dr, Visalia, CA 93277-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Visalia, CA just 39 miles West of the fabulous Sequoia National Park at Hwy 198 and only seconds from Hwy 99. All of our completely renovated rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. We serve Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast daily and offer Free WiFi for all our guests. Our Fitness center includes a weight system and other state of the art equipment as well as a Sauna for your convenience. We welcome pets. Plaza Park Sports Complex is just across the street and it includes a fun dog park as well. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Inn Visalia
Visalia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing