We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful historical park and museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mooney Grove Park

Mooney Grove Park
Ranked #7 of 17 things to do in Visalia
Attraction details
Alabama
Level Contributor
280 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful historical park and museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a wonderful historical park for Tulare County and the surrounding area. We came to look at the newly displayed caboose as our grandfather had been the brakeman on it for the Visalia Electric Railroad (1920's through the 1960's) and we had an opportunity to ride on it as children in the early 1960's. The museum contains many local Indian artifacts and memorabilia important to the area.
The park has beautiful trees, picnic areas, and a lake with little paddle boats for rent.
Also on display in the park is a replica of the original very famous End of the Trail statue by James Earle Fraser, which was on display at the 1919 San Francisco Exposition. The statue paid homage to the demise of the Native American culture.
We also enjoyed the ducks and geese around the lake as well as a giant slab of Sequoia Gigantea redwood.
Visit this beautiful park and enjoy its' many offerings!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    7
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Place for fun and frolic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My granddaughters love a chance to go to Mooney Grove...whether it is for a leisurely walk, feeding the geese, or exploring the playgrounds and monuments. Mooney Grove is a wonderful outdoor sanctuary.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“drove by. looks so nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

we only just drove by, but i wanted to say that this place looks very well maintained and nice. so many trees, being from texas this place is heaven for a tree hugger

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Umbrellaone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Fun park, lots for a child to learn about. The peacocks are a beautiful sight and the little row boats are fun to be in. I had a lot of fun here, and would love to take my children and grandchildren when I come back down to California.

Helpful?
1 Thank jtatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a picnic, and tried very hard not to step in goose poo. It was every place. Other than that it is a lovely location with beautiful trees.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooney Grove Park also viewed

 

Been to Mooney Grove Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing