We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizano's Wood Fired Pizza

Pizano's Wood Fired Pizza
Ranked #6 of 277 Restaurants in Visalia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ca
Level Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“We love this place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am from New York and we have GREAT Pizza there! This place is equal to it! Best thing to that happened to Visalia restaurants! Good cakes also. A little slow on the wait but worth it!!! Well worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Really good neapolitan style pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Really good neapolitan style pizza. Wood fired pizza oven came from Italy. I wish they would make neapolitan style garlic bread. Service is hit or miss depending on how busy they are. It is best to call ahead if you're on a time budget. Fresh dough daily.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cool wood-fired pizza pleasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We fell into Visalia and Tripadvised into this place after seeking better than Me & Eds pizza. We were glad we did. Salad was fresh and seemed hand cut, local and clean. I had the puttanesca and the mrs. A cheesy pie of her own. Great crust, well seasoned and balanced pizzas. The wait was a little long but worth the late night scene. Note to me pizano: our stateside desert palates demand extra sugary deserts: more lemon in the cake and more sweet in the carrot eh? Diners: until that message gets out we would suggest more pizza, less desert.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beagle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
303 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Good Service Average Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's maybe one step above pizza hut. You walk up to place your offer but they bring the food to your table. The salad was large and pretty tasty and the pizza for ok for what it is. Probably slight pricier than it should be but it's quick and convenient.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ranked #13 out of 74? R U Kidding?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Domino's, Me&Eds, Round Table, we've come to think of those as "Pizza". I then realized after my first visit, I've never tasted real pizza until I'd been to Pizano's. They offer a menu which includes salads, appetizers, drinks and the pizzas which they are more than happy to modify to your personal preference.

After more than a few visits, my personal favorite is "The Margherita" which is made from San Marzano Tomatoes & Sauce, Floir Di Latte Mozzarella, Fresh Basil, Extra-Virgin Olive Oil, Parmigiano Reggiano, & Sea Salt. On that, I have them add slices of Pepperoni which is the best Pepperoni ever. Every single person I've introduced to this pizza is astonished & flabbergasted. They suddenly look like Jody Foster in the movie Contact when she says, "I had no idea..." :-)

The atmosphere is very casual and their desserts are as spectacular as their pizzas. LJ manages the restaurant and does an outstanding job keeping things moving. Don't judge by the wait staff. If LJ isn't taking orders, I've often got the waiter who is in training and if I based my review on that, you might never know how sensational "real pizza" tastes. There is no better pizza in Tulare county.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank W Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizano's Wood Fired Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Pizano's Wood Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing