We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the best!! Needs a remodel though” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa's Italian Restaurant

Rosa's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 273 Restaurants in Visalia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Visalia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best!! Needs a remodel though”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I can honestly say there are only two great Italian restaurants in Visalia and this is one of them. The other is Little Italy. I love the Chicken Marsala here and the pizza. I'd really like to see them update the place though. Get rid of the tv up front, looks unprofessional to see employees watching the tube when you first walk in. Gives it a bad impression when you first step into the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Romanticgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ARCADIA, CA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Solid Italian Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having eaten in a number of restaurants for dinner in Visalia, I think that I can safely say that Rosa's has been the best Italian-style restaurant in the area. The food is Southern Italian, with all the traditional dishes served, and the sauces are also Southern Italian in style. Unlike a previous review, i did not find the sauces I tasted very acid, and i agree with another that they tasted as if they were made with fresh ingredients. Portions are generous, and the Cioppino that I ordered last night was very flavorful, filled with at least 5 different forms of shellfish and 3 different varieties of fish. The service was friendly, and ,as a nice bonus because it was a weekend night,I think, there was an excellent classical guitarist playing throughout dinner. Decor is not fancy but pleasant. I would highly recommend Rosa's if you are in Visalia and would like a very good Italian-style meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not very Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Red sauce is fresh out of a can, thick and acidy if there is such a word. Food does not have the Italian flare or flavor of any good Italian food I have had elsewhere. I have tried different dishes , only to experience more of the same,even when I asked for Rose sauce, it was still too thick , red and acid. Try using whole tomatoes crushed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Level Contributor
316 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took our son and our granddaughter here for dinner. Our server was a little slow at the beginning of our meal but made up for it throughout the evening. I liked my tortellini and asked for a side of meatballs and found them to be just average and didn't finish them. The side of sausage that my husband ordered with his meal had a taste all of its own and I don't mean that in a good way. We each had a bite of it and wondered what it was so didn't finish it. It sounded as though the pizza we ordered was alright but I didn't try it and gave it to our son to take home. The decor isn't impressive at all and very dark. The bathroom wasn't clean and that's always a negative. I found it to be a little overpriced and I don't believe we'll be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family tradition Italian Style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a delightful, relaxing, delicious way to spend time in Visalia, California! Walk into Rosa's and you are part of their extended family. The service is friendly, you are never rushed from the table, and satisfied guests surround you. Food here is consistently delicious - prepared with fresh ingredients, using recipes passed down through generations of their Italian family. Taste the cioppino and you could be in Italy - or San Francisco. I personally love the chicken marsala. The marsala sauce is a perfect consistency, and has a deep flavor. A side of pasta comes with the meal, and you can taste that the alfredo sauce does not come out of a jar! I'm a totally satisfied local.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rosa's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing