We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel, not a quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Certificate of Excellence
Bodegraven
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not a quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spacious rooms with suite to sit and relax and big bathroom. Nice staff, parking covered and next door in the middle of Visalia just behind the main street. Nice restaurants and shops close by. Did not sleep well because of a lot of street noises till 3am. Cars accelerating loudly, people shouting, very disturbing. Maybe it was because it was a Friday evening. Breakfast was complimentary and offered lots of warm and cold choices enough to make it to lunch and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    71
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
56
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've stayed at this Comfort Suites twice, the first time many years ago when it was new. It's location is perfect, we hardly used the car as we could walk to shops, and restaurants. We like the "suites" as they are roomier than most hotel rooms, and have all the amenities. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good, with waffles, eggs, bacon as well as the usual bagels, sweet rolls, yougert, fruit, etc. The hotel shares a city parking garage, but having indoor parking in the heat of summer, was a real plus. The hotel is starting to show it's age, the drapes were looking worn with the hot sun beating in on them, only one elevator, so sometimes a wait to get back to the room. Reasonably priced, though, so can't really complain. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We arrived early, and had no problem checking in for Friday/Saturday nights. Request a room not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancymoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great staff and location, comfortable room. Breakfast was typical of what you'de expect from a Comfort Inn, this location offered a managers evening reception w/drinks. The drinks were average beer or wine offerings but it was kind of weird since you were given a "coupon" good for two drinks p/person but the woman running the evening shift couldn't recall who had what and when we asked for our second drink she told us we had them already. UM....no we didn't. Not a big deal but just felt weird having a disagreement about having another beer after a long day of driving. The other hiccup for me with this strange smell in the room, not musty but almost like there had been a fire or something. Not enough to complain about since we were only staying one night. Overall a very comfortable stay, good location with very good staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFirewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi D, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I am sorry about the problem you had during the Managers Reception, I do appreciate you writing to let us know, we always appreciate hearing from our guest.
I hope you will give us another chance, to make your stay with us everything it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great downtown location and close to all eats.

Staff very helpful and great breakfast..

Held both rooms together and when we arrived late they were next to each other.

Helped with our restaurant selection and was great idea.

Room Tip: Pillows could use a little work, pretty small great HBO and staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmacguy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were only here one night but it was a very pleasant experience. We arrived very late and the staff was great. He had us checked in right away. Parking was very secure and easy. The rooms were well stocked with the basics and very clean. Overall we had an enjoyable experience and a restful night sleep.

Room Tip: We had the double queen room. Very spacious with a mini living room at the front. Nicely set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in downtown Visalia. All of the rooms are suites. We stayed here 1 night on our way out of Sequoia NP. Parking is free in the garage next door and spaces are reserved for hotel customers. The room was clean and very nice. The breakfast had hot and cold selections. We also used the guest laundry and the front desk gave us a room on the same floor which made it convenient. The hotel was also reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaloja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had reservations at the other Comfort Inn in Visalia out by Highway 99, which turned out to have extremely loud road construction going on. The lady at the desk was EXTREMELY nice about calling the downtown Comfort Suites and hooking us up.

On arrival, the whole operation was pretty funky. Unpleasant multiple-use parking garage, a beer garden across the lot from the lobby, the lobby itself looked like it had been put together by a committee of people who hated each other. The room itself was almost bizarrely laid out, a roomette with the bed, a roomette with the desk and a sleeper sofa, the bathroom separating them. The bloom has faded from the last rehab, and the decor was--strange, just strange. And too many of the folks coming and going in the lobby matched the decor. We almost left to see if the Hampton had any rooms left.

But we stayed three days. Ultimately, it worked. Biggest thing was old, solid construction--no booming and banging every time someone opened a door. At 5 AM the whole place was dead silent. And the price was right. And the staff was great.

If you don't expect a slick, modern facility, it's a solid value, and it was a terrific place to work on the Net.

Room Tip: Next to a hospital, so watch out for ambulance noise. Next to the Convention Center, so I'd che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdAstraPerEmentitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
0.1 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#3 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 210 E Acequia Ave, Visalia, CA 93291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel located in downtown across from the convention center. Close to dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Suites Visalia
Visalia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing