We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown Visalia???!?”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise from its unambiguous exterior to the delightful rooms. I was leery because of the location. Downtown Visalia is not the greatest of locations. Quite frequently you hear the sound of firetrucks and/or ambulances visiting the surrounding neighborhood. And I hear a lot of loud voices and yelling outside the hotel on the street while staying at this hotel. But is is NICE. The breakfast is NICE - biscuits and gravy, sausage, eggs, bacon, waffles, and pancakes to name a few of the items on the menu. Great little hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omnifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

On a 19 day loop tour to the West Coast from Ohio, we stopped in Visalia to meet up with an old friend who lives a bit farther east in Exeter. I chose the Comfort Suites for two reasons - the price for a "downtown" type hotel was extremely reasonable and the ability to reserve a room with a King bed and a sitting area of some type since we were planning on visiting with our friend in our room as well as going out to dinner.

We arrived just around 5pm and the desk clerk was finishing up the check-in ahead of me. She was efficient and friendly and there were freshly baked, chocolate chip cookies so who could mind a brief wait? My traveling companions unloaded the car onto the more than generously sized luggage rack and by the time they were ready so was I. The desk clerk did tell us that the attached parking deck does not have direct access to the hotel and to park on the lower levels if possible.

We were thrilled with our room from the moment we opened the door. Even just across from the elevator, once the door was closed it was like a quiet oasis. The room is actually smartly arranged as two rooms with the bath between. The first room is a sitting room with a sofa bed, desk and desk chair, dresser with flat screen TV, 2 end tables with lamps and a wet bar mounted in a long counter with mini fridge under. The closet as well as the sink and mirror were across from a door behind with were the commode and full tub shower/bath; an arrangement that actually created a little hallway to the bedroom and added significant privacy between the sleeping areas. The second room was the bedroom with a king sized bed, two night stands, a club chair, a dresser with a second flat screen TV and plenty of lighting. Way more than adequate for our one night needs.

Perhaps the best part of this fabulous set-up was the attention to the modern age shown by the overwhelming number of available outlets for plugging in all of our technology, 4 phones, 3 computers and a couple of cameras were all happy charging while we were at dinner and sleeping. The desk even had a desktop mounted arrangement with several different styles of outlets including a direct USB socket and three 3-prong sockets nicely spaced to accommodate even the most obnoxious plug arrangements on electrical devices. Further, I found the WiFi connection more than adequate both on my smart phone and my laptop; strong, quick signal with no drop out.

The thermostat was centrally located near the bathroom allowing both rooms to come to temperature rather than the typical window mounted controls that leave one side of the bed boiling and the other freezing, unless there is a draft. No one complained about the room temperature the entire time we were there!

There is a small, outdoor hot tub on a covered and enclosed patio which looked inviting but was not in the cards for us this trip. Across the street from the Visalia Convention Center and near several great sounding restaurants. This Comfort Suites will be on our "stay here again" list if we are ever back in the area.

Room Tip: The King Suite with Sitting Area is great value for cost with AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etoile_of_NE_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

You can't beat the location of the Comfort Suites when visiting Visalia. Fantastic selection of restaurants, bars, bakeries, etc. within easy walking distance in the charming downtown area. The hotel offers lots of amenities: free parking in the adjacent municipal structure; above-average breakfast included in room price; spacious rooms with fridge, microwave, and comfy beds with nice linens; free internet.

My only quibbles: as other reviewers have said, the elevator may be the slowest I've ever used. Minor annoyance, really. Also, I like that the entire property is smoke-free, but I'm guessing our room was a recently-converted smoking one, because there was a slight lingering odor. Not oppressive; didn't make our clothes stink; but noticeable when entering the room. I know I'm particularly sensitive to the smell of smoke; it probably wouldn't be a problem for most people. It wasn't bad enough to keep me from booking a room for our upcoming family Thanksgiving visit-- the location, value for money, and helpful & friendly employees make this an excellent stop.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lester26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

After being led the wrong way for hours and hours by our gps (at some point even got pulled over by the cops, saying that the town we were at was 'not a good place to be' for us), we were SO glad we finally found a safe town and a hotel that didn't look like we were gonna get robbed in the middle of the night. We really didn't care how much it costed or how small the room was, we just wanted to get some sleep. As it turned out, Comfort Suites were actually very good value for our money!

Rooms were large (with a seperate sofa/tv area), clean and very well equiped. The bed was definitely comfortable, as was the nice hot shower. The breakfast was royal. Never made my own waffles before :-)

To sum up: we had a great night's sleep and a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I'm originally from Visalia, and head back to town every now and then. When I know I want to enjoy the bar and restaurant scene, I stay at this hotel. The amenities are decent (free internet, small gym) and the staff is quite helpful. This is a much more affordable choice compared to the Marriot across the street - which is actually just an old 1/2 renovated Radisson. However, although this hotel is newer (built around 2000), the rooms appear quite older than their age.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing East. On a rare clear day in the valley, you can see the Sierra Nevadas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcasillas623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Walked in off the street and 1st surprise was reasonable pricing for central city hotel. Nice, large room, quiet and comfortable. Visalia is a lovely clean & tidy city so we stayed another night to have a good look around before heading off to Sequoia NP.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Suites for one night. It was in a convenient location. We came from Sequoia National Park/King's Canyon and stopped here on our way to Hearst Castle. The room was large with a nice sitting room, clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was incredible with A LOT of options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodiR95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
779 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#5 of 14 in Visalia
486 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
5.7 mi away
Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 210 E Acequia Ave, Visalia, CA 93291-6319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range: $98 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel located in downtown across from the convention center. Close to dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Suites Visalia
Visalia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing