We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OK if you must have sushi and rice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akamaru Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akamaru Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: We serve the tastiest Japanese dishes, rolls and sushi. All made from the freshest ingredients available. Come visit us and enjoy our Weekly Specials.
Orange County, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK if you must have sushi and rice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

As a Sushi lover who eats at Japanese restaurants 2 times a week, the restaurant is not on top of my list. Service is good and decor is nice. Fish quality is average. DINNER PORTION IS HUGE.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnCWang1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best sushi in Visalia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I liked everything about this place.
Sushi was above expectation for midland.
Hawaiian roll was excellent choice for me.
Don’t ask for Oh-my-God roll unless you believe that jalapeños are sweet…

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arrowhead_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Started Out Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

But they changed some of their items and it's not been the same. Also smells to fishy, not good for sushi!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never got food!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Waited an hour and a half and had to walk out after the 4th waitress came over and said it would be 5 more minutes. Didn't offer us drinks or anything! Never going back, food was decent other times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonymousEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent sushi! Went here just to check it out and we loved it! I can't wait to go back :)

Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akamaru Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing