We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Visalia”
Review of Akamaru Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akamaru Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: We serve the tastiest Japanese dishes, rolls and sushi. All made from the freshest ingredients available. Come visit us and enjoy our Weekly Specials.
Restaurant details
Description: We serve the tastiest Japanese dishes, rolls and sushi. All made from the freshest ingredients available. Come visit us and enjoy our Weekly Specials.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best sushi in Visalia”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I liked everything about this place.
Sushi was above expectation for midland.
Hawaiian roll was excellent choice for me.
Don’t ask for Oh-my-God roll unless you believe that jalapeños are sweet…

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arrowhead_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Started Out Good”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

But they changed some of their items and it's not been the same. Also smells to fishy, not good for sushi!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never got food!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Waited an hour and a half and had to walk out after the 4th waitress came over and said it would be 5 more minutes. Didn't offer us drinks or anything! Never going back, food was decent other times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonymousEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent sushi! Went here just to check it out and we loved it! I can't wait to go back :)

Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Sushi, a party in my tummy”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I went here for a surprise birthday party and was pleasantly surprised. Upon recommendation, I ordered a Flying Tiger, which is a heap of shrimp wrapped up in noodles and placed atop California rolls. The noodles look like something you might see on Fear Factor, but they add a crispy texture to the shrimp. The plate was enormous, large enough to share with my husband and we left feeling satisfied. The staff was also friendly and attentive to our large group of 20 or so.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akamaru Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing