We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great way to have 1st lunch of New Year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Joe's

Tahoe Joe's
Ranked #24 of 278 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to have 1st lunch of New Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Friend from out of town came for New Years and enjoyed our first lunch of the year at Tahoe Joes. It was a great way to start the New Year with a great meal. We will be back to visit again. Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SABRINAM532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had been to a Tahoe Joe's many years ago and when we saw there was one close to our hotel in Visalia we decided it would be a good place for dinner. It was ok. We both had the ribs. We love the ribs you get at Outback Steakhouse and they are much more reasonable. We thought Tahoe Joe's was a little expensive for the quality. Would we go again? Probably not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marianh635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

reviews of Tahoe Joe's tend to be hit or miss, but I enjoy it., This was the 8th or 9th dinner we've had and all were cooked right and tasty.
I've had the filet and the ribeye, both were cooked exactly right. Not overly seasoned, but with a good cut of beef all it really needs i salt and pepper.
the Campfire Shrimp is excellent, and the dipping sauce mixed with the bed of cabbage makes a great little salad.
For Visalia it's a lot of food for a reasonable price.
The only complaint I have is when it's crowded it's loud, but nearly every restaurant is.
If you'r looking for a good steak dinner it's a fair value, expect to pay $30-40 per person.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lkm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,199 helpful votes
“Chain restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Well, it's not bad or great either but it is eatable plus it is ok enough for a change, I have been here few times and those times the meat it's usually not cook as ordered but what else can I expect from a chain restaurant? The quality of food is not the best but it's still ok to eat, I also think the service could be better but by looking at the type of people coming here I can imagine why the service would be not that great. Over all I can only recommend this place if you never been here and you want to experience it first hand but if you know about food and you eat in high end places before you will not like it here. So it's up to you!

Helpful?
8 Thank MONTYHADES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The food is good but not especially creative or flavorful. They know how to fry and grill stuff. The service is very good but surprisingly slow. Three of us arrived early for lunch, so the place was not busy yet. We waited longer than I have a busier places. I might return at someone else's insistence, but I would prefer to try a new place or go to tried and true favorite.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ollie559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Tahoe Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing