We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great steak salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Joe's

Tahoe Joe's
Ranked #33 of 274 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great steak salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Great steak salad. I find the steaks inconsistent. Hamburger average. Great vibe. Nice wait staff. In the Winco shopping center.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoy going to Tahoe Joe's about once a year, if we can afford it. We share a meal so we can get out of there for just under $40.00 that's including strawberry lemonade for the wife and ice tea for me. We pass on desert unless we have a coupon for a free Cheesecake which cost $8.00 a slice last time we were there. But we like the food there and most of the time we get a good server.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Level Contributor
315 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the prime rib because the 6 ounce steak I wanted is slow cooked or roasted and only is served "medium". I like my meat medium rare so opted for the smaller portion of prime rib and was satisfied with what I got. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and super efficient. My husband isn't so impressed with Tahoe Joe's food and probably won't go back. It's a little pricey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First time and we were not disappointed on this night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overnighting in Visalia - we were in the mood for a good steak. I did some on-line research but there wasn't a clear winner. Found this steakhouse not too far from our hotel and decided to give it a try. The decor was interesting and eye-catching. The noise level was fine for us - busy but not overly loud. You can carry on a conversation easily with those at your table. Our wait staff was busy but attentive. He took our drink order and I noticed that he made our drinks as well (not sure if they were short-staffed? or he does dual duty?); either way, the drinks were fine. He offered a "tour" of the menu but we were already to order. I ordered the steak and shrimp (grilled). HB wanted a steak but since he likes his med well - we asked if he should order the smaller steak. Waiter said - no - go for the larger sirloin as the chef does a good job (and won't butterfly it either). All I can say is that the meal was excellent! My steak was flavorful. HB's steak was also done perfectly and very tasty. Came with green beans - fresh and done right (not soggy). We were stuffed before the end of our meal, so you will get plenty. Then we were offered free dessert as we were first timers! Wow! We chose the apple pie slice and the waiter brought it to go as we were very full. A great experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_horse_android
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I really tried to give it a shot...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to Tahoe Joe's on 3 occassions. Each time I had a different cut of beef, the first time was either a T-Bone or Porterhouse and the last two were Filet Mignon. I have eaten a lot of these steaks over the years but there has always been something really off with the taste of their beef. I like the atmosphere there but the last time I was there I dared the waitress to take a bite of the Filet Mignon. I could not eat it. All I could think of was a line from the movie O'Brother, Where Art Thou? "I slaughtered this horse last Tuesday. I believe she's startin' to turn".

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank W Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Tahoe Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing