We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started off friendly until they got a new camp "host"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Visalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA
Waialua, Hawaii, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Started off friendly until they got a new camp "host"”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Started off loving it here! Owners live on site and are very friendly and helpful however, once the current camp host left the new one and his wife are awful! This KOA is very friendly for dogs and owners We have been here for a month now and everyone just loves our lab. I now have been harrassed by the camp host and his wife about my dog not being on a leash! I was stopped while riding my bike around the camp and my dog running beside me, then I was outside with my dog laying in the sun and his wife told me that my dog needs to be supervised at all times! Are you kidding me?!!! Hopefully camp host that rides around in the golf cart all day doesn't stay here too long!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Visalia KOA is a great little campground. It's got amazing green space for tent sites; nice, clean bathhouses and a great pool. The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is pretty good. It was about an hour to Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

When my husband suggested staying at a cabin at this KOA as opposed to a hotel, I was not on board. But when we arrived, I was shocked to find how surprisingly cozy they were. We didn't bring our RV so we just rented a small little bungalow equipped with it's own bedroom, kitchenette, kids' room and bathroom. You would never know you were in the middle of a campground...it was more like a mini-apartment. The pool was clean as were the other facilities and when we were there, they were redoing the rec room which is geared towards families and children.

Apparently, they were recently bought by new owners so it looked like they were trying to make a bunch of improvements and were super friendly and accommodating to us (especially since I was about 7 months pregnant at the time). Now that I have my baby, I'd go back for sure. It was a perfect, affordable stop on our way from Southern to Northern California...a trip we make quite often. Not too far off the highway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mats1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Park was a field next to an industrial park. The staff not very helpful. Amenities geared to the ease of the staff instead of to the guests. Laundry required a "pre-paid debit card with a deposit" only available from the office which had limited hours...if you come in late or leave early, you are out of luck.

The staff "claimed" not to know about an RV repair place between park and closest grocery store less than 2 miles away. Instead, they tried to steer us to a RV dealership for needed repairs. BTW, RV Express in Visalia was GREAT!!!!!

The only good thing to say about the KOA is that the only other "listed" RV park in town was a mobile home park with a few spaces for RVs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeetx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Visalia hotels

San Jose
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stay at a different KOA each year. This one was by far the worst. Open dumpsters, dusty roads, and clueless staff. Can't do anything about the location (it's surrouded by farm and industry--Nitrate warnings posted for the water) But the staff doesn't seem to have a clue about managing activities. It was sold out Fri and Sat for a charity weekend. At the pancake breakfast, TWO PEOPLE were serving, campers walking away in disgust. Ice cream social? Again 2 elderly people trying to scoop through rock solid tubs of ice cream. To top things off, staff parked their golf carts in the prime seating area of the musical performance, while their guests either had to stand or sit on fallen logs. I don't know what possessed them to do this: entitlement? arrogance? Dozens of folding chairs were never put out.

Our cabin was nice, new, with great AC.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DopeyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, BC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

We stopped here on our way to Anaheim. The campground was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. They have a pool for those hot days, and it was very hot when we were there. They also have a playroom for the kids, which was nice. Our only problem was we had tons of red ants at our site and we all got bit. We would most likely stay here again, but next time we bring out the ant replent.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank offwegoagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We chose this KOA as a stop off on our way to Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Park. The location is away from the city but nothing to brag about. The camp itself is well maintained. The sites are easy drive-thru with picnic table & fire ring. There are also cabins & tent sites available. The pool & bathrooms are kept clean. There is a nice laundry room as well as a store with just about anything a camper might need last minute. The staff are very friendly & helpful. We experienced quiet nights & carefree lodging in our trailer. We didn't have any kids with us this time, but there is a game room that seemed to stay busy when there were kids in the campground. There are plenty of places to eat in Visalia from every variety & price range. We found it to be too far from the national park to commute so we moved to a national campground in the park then returned to this KOA to recharge & rest. We'll probably return here next time we come this way. Nothing fancy, but clean, convenient & a good value ($40/night w/ hook-ups).

  • Liked — easy access
  • Disliked — nothing picturesque about location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cal4nadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
802 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
744 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#4 of 14 in Visalia
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
6.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
194 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA

Property: Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA
Address: 7480 Avenue 308, Visalia, CA 93291-8767 (Formerly Visalia/Fresno KOA)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Visalia
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA is a family friendly park that is located in Visalia,California near Sequoia & kings Canyon National Parks which makes it a great spot for those who plan to visit the Sierras. This location provides opportunities for wonderful day trips such as downtown Visalia with all its quaint shops and restaurants or Exeter with its murals and antique shops. For RVs, we provide grassy, shaded pull thru sites with cable TV & Wi-Fi. Our tent sites are large and grassy with restrooms near by. There are one and two room camping cabins with air-conditioning. We also have deluxe cabins available. All sites have tables and fire rings. Our facility also contains a pool, volley ball court, horse shoes, a playground for smaller children, and a game room. Four our pets we have a K9 dog park. Planning a family reunion or group event? Reserve our Recreation Room for your "get-to-gether". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing