We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Night at the Movies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Theatre

Fox Theatre
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Visalia
Attraction details
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Night at the Movies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Average theatre with multiple screens. Cute downtown area. Nice seating. The projection cut out in the middle of the film, but the house lights came up and it only took a couple of minutes for them to get it running again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just like the old days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife is a native of Visalia. We walked around the Main Street area and were amazed at the changes in the town. Most of the businesses she remembers from so many years ago are gone - replaced with new and interesting restaurants and shops.
She was delighted to look into the lobby of the Theatre to see that it looks much as it did 50 years ago. Elegant decor and architecture - a standard in movie theatres in those days. They apparently host a number of concerts and events, so it's good to see the old place alive and an active part of the community. Too many "historic" structures have been torn down in the name of progress...whatever that is.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WBrecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anything at the Fox: from church to big name acts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Kudos to the friends of the fox for
preserving this gem. Real community asset. Lots of free events. Office next door and website. Shows the grandeur I'd the silent film age. Anchor of the vibrant downtown. Have dinner at cafe 225 and drinks at fugazzis. Walk downtown in the early evening!

Helpful?
1 Thank JackTheMajor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Fox Theatre in Visalia is a gem. It is clearly historical with very cool architecture. It is on the main street with has wonderful shops and restaurants. And it is small enough to feel like you are getting a personal concert. I hope to be able to go back again soon.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank photoggirl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia CA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FREE things to do in Visaila California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

With the recent economy and budgets I'm finding more and more entertainment that I can get for free-- my most recent is:

I love the Fox Theater and recently they have been having Free Movies and they are really good movies!!!! Alot of times it's associated with a fund raiser but that's kind of a bonus since you learn more about what's happening in the community!

This is a great place to have a date night that doesn't cost alot and then walk hand in hand down the street afterwards and get a bite to eat or just enjoy the evening ...

They even have a web site to check out what's playing !!! www.foxvisalia.org

Not sure what to do on a Saturday night?
Check it out I think you'll be pleasantly surprised!!

Helpful?
2 Thank AnimaloverCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Fox Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing