We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm of yesteryear with modern maintenance.”
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewed August 10, 2014

As mentioned by others, the grounds are well kept and the rooms are clean. The price was very economical- less than $75 for a 2 queen bed room. The property is easy to find, and less than one hour drive to the Sequoia National Park. The internet was nonfunctional during our stay, but we really didn't need it as we were on a family vacation road trip. There is a little restaurant on the property that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. But it does close a 9 pm, even on Saturday. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gem0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 494 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Lamp Liter has been in Visalia for more than 50 years and it is showing its age. The grounds, as mentioned by others, are nice and well kept up. The location, right off 198, is also convenient. The rooms are okay, a bit small but generally clean and decently maintained, but really outdated. The bed in our second room was terrible. Also as mentioned by others, the wi-fi is really, really bad - if you have work to do, go across the street to Starbucks. When I mentioned the poor wi-fi to the front desk, they seemed completely shocked, as if no one had ever mentioned the issue before. The best I can say about the Lamp Liter is that our stay was average.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We have been working on updating our Wi-Fi and it is hopeful we will have no further issues. You mentioned that when you told the clerk about the problem with the Wi-Fi that they acted surprised. It was most likely because they themselves were not experiencing a problem at the front desk Wi-Fi connection or at the guest computer..also it could have been that we had not have anyone else complain. You also mentioned in your review the age of our facility..I don't know if you asked our staff about that or did research on your own. The Lamp Liter is a venerable presence in Visalia and we do not pretend to offer state of the art rooms and for the price you enjoyed I am reasonably certain you were aware of that. From your description it sounds like you were in our "standard section" and they do not have the same amenities of our garden rooms however I wish you had informed us of your discomfort as we would have tried to relocate you. Again, I regret that the best thing you could say about us is that your stay was average as our guests comfort is most important to us. If you should come this way again please contact me directly and I will make certain your stay will be completely satisfactory and enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked the room through an online travel site and got the room for less than $70 for two queen beds and 4 people. So, it was a great deal and the motel is rated great. The location,grounds, and staff were great. The bad things about our stay included internet that was essentially inoperable at the back of the property where our room was. There is no included breakfast although the restaurant serves good food. The bed was very firm yet also sagging in the middle so that my wife and I struggled all night to keep from rolling into each other. All in all, we were pleased with our stay but felt let down after reading some of the rave reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobluph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

I appreciate your input regarding our Inn. I am so sorry regarding the Internet situation. We have recently upgraded which should eliminate any further problems but I realize this does not help you. You did opt for a "standard room" and all these rooms are in the north end of our property which may have been part of the internet reception issue. I apologize if your bed was uncomfortable. You did not mention if you complained while you were in-house so that we could have moved you to a room that would have better suited your needs, That at least provides us the opportunity to solve your problem. I would very much appreciate your letting me know if you had advised the front desk of your issues, it is always nice to resolve a problem rather than having a negative review posted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We repeated our visit of two years ago, again visitng relatives in the area. Rooms are nice and well maintained, especially considering age of structure. There are insufficent electrical outlets for all lamps, microwave, bedside clock, refridgerator to be on all at once. We never used lamp near our pillow, as we did not want to reset clock repeatedly. We did not use microwave, so were okay elsewhere. Inn style decor good for weddings and receptions (large reception hall available). Gardens suffering a bit due to extraordinary drought conditions, but still attractive. Onsite restaurant and bar good for weary travelers. Staff could not be friendlier & coffee always available in lobby. We prefer our own breakfast cereal and ate several breakfasts at one of several garden tables. Lovely, pool enjoyed by our great grandsons.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for garden room. Rooms quieter toward back of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped in for one night at the Lamp Liter so that we could visit Sequoia National Park the next day. The hotel grounds, decor and landscaping have a 60s era charm, and it's well kept. Inside, the rooms are upgraded and clean. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave, which was useful since we were traveling with kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lamp Liter has a beautiful pool, by the way. We wished we could stay longer just to spend more time there. Considering how inexpensive the Lamp Liter is, I would definitely recommend it for a stay in the area. Four instead of five stars because, though the wi-fi was free, it didn't work.

Room Tip: Garden and pool view rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Like many other reviewers we wanted to visit sequoia np and this hotel offered the perfect location for a 2 night stay and pick up for NP and to wind down after a 350 mile drive . Friendly staff clean tidy room comfy bed [ great sleep] good pool,. nice on site restaurant also.close to other restaurants and good supermarket, 10 mins drive to malls and other shops in town centre. All this for a great price .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

On our drive back south through CA, we stopped by the redwood and needed a place to sleep for the night. We didn't have high expectations going in, but wow this place surprised us! All staff was very friendly, the rooms and grounds were clean and very charming. We were very comfortable in our room and had no concerns about safety. We really enjoyed the attached restaurant and bar because we didn't have to venture out after a long day of driving.

Pleasant surprise! Keep up the good work Lamp Liter!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blackcattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
917 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
793 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Visalia Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Visalia
7.3 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: $77 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing