We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamp Liter Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Ridgecrest, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Yes, its not fancy. The TV was a little small, the old fashioned key was a little sticky in the lock. But really, it was clean, bug free, everything worked, plenty of hot water, and the bed was pretty good (husband said he noticed a little sag in the middle but I didn't notice it at all). Plenty of parking near the room. Not too much noise. We didn't try the pool but it looked nice. Lobby area was nice and front desk help was great. Good location, convenient to dinner choices and nice launching point for our day trips to Sequoia and Kings Canyon. Price was great. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were in 247. While nothing was brand new, nothing was worn or threadbare either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    160
    94
    23
    17
See reviews for
143
157
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Passing through on our way to San Francisco we found this perfect location hotel, affordable, clean, good service. The outdoor pool is perfectly clean, we had the perfect morning swim and enjoyed the garden before getting back on the road. It takes about 4 hours to get to San Francisco from here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vizbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wow! If you are lucky enough to get a room on the first floor near the pool and office you will more than likely want to sit outside in the evening and enjoy the well kept grassy courtyard. It was like having you own back yard, well shaded, and well kept.flowers and shrubs.

The attached restaurant served excellent food served by a friendly staff.

Room Tip: No refrigerator or microwave, but but we never missed that. The atmosphere and restaurant more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated for a trip to the Sequoia National Park, particularly since the shuttle to the park picks up right in front. It's close to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, and the pool is clean and nice, though we wished it didn't close at 10. There is a full-service restaurant (more like a diner with a large menu) offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Our breakfast was amazing--fresh blueberries in the pancakes, everything cooked perfectly to order. The people are incredibly kind and helpful, both in the restaurant and in the hotel. They truly seem to care about providing a good experience. As another reviewer mentioned, the wifi is inconsistent, but that was the only negative. I can't imagine doing better for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APracticalIdealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here, spacious and clean rooms. But the wifi was ever so frustrating. For a place like this it's very disappointing hence 4 stars only.
We had the most amazing Cobb salad from their restaurant even though they had forgotten to add the egg. They have a good range of meals and steaks on offer.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Musti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Want a stress free and perfectly located hotel in Visalia? I highly recommend the LampLiter Inn.

Family trip was for visiting the Sequoia National Park June 18th-19th, 2014. From San Francisco, it's about 250 miles to the Lamp Liter Inn. It took us about 4 hours with one stop.

Fabulous price and value! Fast check in and check out with friendly service. Lots of parking.

Room is basic but clean and comfortable. Plenty of cable channels. Bathroom has separate sink and toilet, a big plus. Updated bedding. Swimming pool was not heated, but Visalia was 92 degrees during our stay.

Hungry? Starbucks is opposite side of the freeway and McDonald's is a half block away. Lamp Liter Inn has a great restaurant or you can drive 5-10 minutes to restaurants on Main St. (downtown) or Mooney Blvd. In fact, it's the very next exit when you get on the freeway.

TIP: Most restaurants close at 8:00 p.m. or 9:00 p.m. Go before 8:00 p.m., just to be safe. Unless, you have a craving for In-n-Out burgers, which closes at 1:00 a.m. Sunday thru Thursday and 1:30 a.m. Friday and Saturday.

Going to Sequoia National Park? Instead of driving, take the shuttle for $15 round trip, worth every penny. Then, when you're actually in the park, the park has free shuttles to get you everywhere and anywhere. www.sequoiashuttle.com, sign up in advance online and they will pick you up in front of theLamp Liter Inn. There are 5 different pickup and return times. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

If you happen to get Marvin as your driver, consider yourself lucky as he is very knowledgeable about Visalia and Sequoia National Park. He made our trip so much more enjoyable.

TIP: Bring your camera and cell phone a/c chargers as the Lodgepole Village and Market has limited outlets in the restaurant area to recharge your electronics.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-provence, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a very friendly hotel. The rooms are perfectly comfortable and the service was great too. The hotel is close to restaurants and supermarkets. This is a perfect stay if you want to sleep before of after you go to Sequoia & Kings Canyon NP.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Property: Lamp Liter Inn
Address: 3300 W Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing