We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Affordable”
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here on our way to Yosemite - cool property!

Loved the gardens, and the room was clean and large. Smelled good. Affordable, we spent less than $100 for a king suite overlooking the beautiful gardens. Poppies were blooming poolside and great light in the room. Firm and comfortable bed. Large restroom. HBO.

Loved that it was not a chain and unique. Friendly and helpful staff.

Would stay here again. highly recommend it!

Room Tip: king suite is the way to go - great value, we loved our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 493 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here this weekend for the CCRG Model A meet. The place was booked solid. We tried to check in early and our room was not empty yet. We were told to come back later [at the check in time]. We came back later and were told that the people who were in our room were not leaving and that they were trying to take care of us. They put us into a cottage which was lovely and twice the price but honored our low price reservation. They were very nice and helpful in taking care of the problem that they did not create. I commend the staff that was able to actually think and come up with a solution to a problem. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cctfds12084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

No A/C, just a fan. Bathrooms are dated but overall it's better than Motel 6. Arrive before 10pm, otherwise they lock you out of the lobby and do all transactions behind a Sam window like a convenience store in a bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

While traveling around California we never really knew where we were stopping each night so we would look during the day when we had a better idea of where we would be that night. This was a wonderful - non-chain-hotel - place to stay. The rooms we pleasant, the staff was friendly and the gardens are beautiful. We were there in the winter but I can only imagine how lovely it would be to stroll around in the evening. Beats sitting in a room at night! There is a restaurant and pub/bar on site so no need to drive once you stop. We went to the bar to eat but had to wait a long, long time as the same person was running both sides. Not a big deal as we were not in a rush but if you want to eat quickly I suggest you try the restaurant side.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a surprise. this motel was. It is one of Visalia s older motels but the owner s really take care of it. The garden areas around the motel are beautiful, and with a super large pool in the middle it really adds to the trees and flowers. My room was spotless, and it was set up with plenty of room with a large closet and the way the room was designed someone could be sleeping and the other person could use the shower and bathroom with out bothering the other person.
I liked the fact that a nice little cafe was on the grounds with good food at a reasonable price. There was also a bar next to the small convention center which was by the cafe.
If you wanted to have a company banquet, or a fund raiser , this is the place. I attended a banquet there and the food was good, and we had about 140 people there with lots of room for more.
The next morning I had to attend a meeting there which was the next room over, and the seating and lighting was great.
The front desk was very friendly , and helpful. If you are planning a trip to Sequoia Park or Kings Canyon Park this is the place to stay. Very clean, plenty of room for the family and a nice little place to eat. You have to check this beautiful motel out, its a winner!!

Room Tip: Call them direct 559-732-1840....this way you can a select a room thats right for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Clean rooms and a great price are just the start. The staff is nothing short of amazing, which always makes the stay at a motel even better. It's not often, these days, that you are able to interact with a staff that truly loves their job. It's like a home away from home here. The rooms are clean, quiet and spacious. Their location is perfect with easy freeway access, grocery store and Starbucks nearby; and only a short drive to downtown. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was so pleased with this inexpensive motel. While the room we had was fairly small, it was definitely large enough to accommodate us, and spotlessly clean. No microwave, but they did have a small fridge. We didn't want to cook anyway. The only real disappointment was that there was only a shower, no tub, but again, what real difference did it make.

Now the good stuff. The property is absolutely gorgeous. Everything inside and out was well tended and clean. If I wanted a place to stay for several days, this would be it. Park benches outside in the gardens invite you to sit and read, talk, or just relax in a beautiful setting.

The front lobby is also very comfortable, with couches and comfy chairs inviting you to sit and read in front of the fireplace. The staff were friendly and helpful.

My only complaint is that I didn't have the time to spend several days here. I would definitely stay here again and might even adjust my travel plans just to spend more time here. A serene, quiet, beautiful place.

Room Tip: They have the standard rooms, but we saw some through windows that appeared to be suites, with a liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
906 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
789 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Visalia Hotel
2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
219 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: $74 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing