We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away, bedbucks, impolite staff!!!”
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We slept in this hotel on 20th september. I woke up with the feeling something is walking on my hand. I slapped it, switched on the light and saw a bedbuck! In the bathroom I found more of them. I caught one and called the reception to come to my room and see it. It was 2:30 a.m. The lady on the phone called me back and told she is alone and can´t come. She made an offer to move into another room. I refused, because the bedbucks can be anywhere in the hotel and I could not imagine to sleep here. She told us to bring the bedbuck into the reception, which we did, but she did not like to let us inside and talked to us through the window. From this distance she told us it is not a bedbuck. Sorry, but how someone can recognize from this distance, if it is a bedbuck or not? She was very impolite. She did not like to give us the name of the hotel manager. I also ask her name. She refused to do it. At the end she told her name is Jude, but did not like to give us her second name. She told us to wait until morning 7 a.m. What should we do middle at night in the bedbucks hotel? The lady let us stay outside the reception with the bedbuck in the glas and went back to her office. It was very ignorant, impolite and rude! We are going to pack our baggages and leave as soon as it is not dark.

Stay away from this hotel!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Adri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan l, Front Office Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Our staff has been trained to recognize bedbugs (or “bedbucks”) and the guest’s pictures affirm our night auditor’s observation that there were NO bedbugs from their guest room. The extreme close up picture depicts an insect adjacent to the entrance door which opens to our extensive gardens and/or parking areas. It is likely the insect came from our gardens during the guest’s short stay with us. It is our practice to have our professional pest control service immediately inspect the guest room after a complaint. The service found no bedbugs or any other pest infestation in the room. The guest remained inconsolable despite being offered an upgraded room. The guest was given a full refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 491 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor's recommendations and was not disappointed. Rooms clean and updated. Restaurant on the property but we did not try it. Main Street Visalia is a short ride away and has a number of places open with great small town down town environment.

Overall a great stay for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The helpful desk clerk suggested that we upgrade to the 'Garden' rooms for an additional $10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TestPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

With about 3 days planning we spent our Labor Day weekend visiting Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks. We used TripAdvisor.com and other web sites (kayak et al) and found all of the in-park accommodations were full. We expanded our distance and found the Lamp Lighter Inn was highly rated and a very good rate (less than $85 with tax) although we opted for a "garden view" room for a couple of extra dollars. Warning: it is about 120 miles round trip to the parks so allow about two extra hours to get there and back.

We got to Visalia late and the hotel desk was still open but we had to communicate through a secure window and drawer. Even though it was a garden view, it had highway noise at 6 AM. The rooms near the front (we stayed in 201) can hear the road noise but rooms further back should be quiet. There is no elevator to the second floor which is not a problem for us. If you have issues ask for the first floor. The room was air conditioned and also had a ceiling fan that was whisper quiet on low speeds but did buzz a bit on the highest speed. The TV was a tube and had 60 or so cable channels to include most of the middle grade ones (Animal Planet, Discovery, History, Speed...) but I don't recall premium movie channels (HBO or Showtime). If you need those you should check. Good reception but it was low definition. I trust as the TVs die or they have extra money they are being replaced by digital flat screen LCD units.

The linens were of good quality. Cleaning crew did a great job. The bathroom had a few issues such as the lower part of the door needs to be painted and the shower hooks tended to pop open an let the curtain droop when they were pulled. Toilet had a multi flush capability and if you don't hold down the handle it saved water and was really quiet. A full flush worked well. The shower delivered lots of water so you could bathe quickly should you want to. Shower head was about 5' 9". The sink, which was outside the toilet and bath room, had adequate counter space for multiple people.

There was an iron and ironing board and a hair dryer. The room was large and the beds were decent, though people obviously sit on the edges to watch TV instead of in the chairs. Our room had a patio door out onto the balcony and room darkening drapes. The room layout was not optimal. The TV and desk were too far from the front door so the chair was against the bathroom door which required navigating around it in the middle of the night. It almost seemed somebody put up a mirror in a bad spot and that dictated the rest of the layout or perhaps the layout worked for the king bed but not the two queen layout.

There is an ice machine by the pool. We didn't swim but the temperature seemed good (September 1). We just didn't find enough time. There was some trash around the pool in the morning thanks to some less than nice guests. The grounds were well maintained. I didn't look into exercise facilities. There is a restaurant but we didn't try it out.

Even given the few flaws we added an extra day because we wanted another day to see the second largest tree in the world (which is in Kings Canyon vs. the largest which is in Sequoia). The Lamp Lighter is aspiring to be a convention center. They are trying hard so if you have a group of 100 or so people they seem like a great choice given the cost and facilities. The place really deserves a 3 1/2 but tripadvisor doesn't allow that. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was the perfect place for us after a day in Sequoia National Park. Our room was nice and overlooked the pool and beautiful grounds. The pool was very welcome after a long and hot day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The inn is just off the freeway, but is also a short drive from the restaurants on Main Street. We had a very pleasant stay and also recommend their bar and grill for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parksvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We reserved a room at this motel based on other Trip Advisor Review, somewhat reluctantly as our granddaughter, who lives locally, had attended a wedding here about 8 years earlier and thought the property to be run down. I learned that the property was built in about 1963. Fortunately it has been refurbished. Rooms are comfortable, clean and attractive. New showers are very clean. Housekeeping staff do a thorough job each day and probably even more after guest check-out. It is so helpful to have a restaurant, bar, computer station with printer (in lobby) and a large swimming pool. Our young great grandsons enjoyed the pool and recption desk staff could not have been nicer about providing pool towels for all. Wedding receptions are still held in two large rooms within the conference center. The motel sits on a large piece of land, which is beautifully landscaped--we saw gardners caring for the flower beds and lawns daily. This is a popular motel, especially on weekends; so reservations are advised. It appeared that many foreign tourists find Visalia a convenient spot for day trips to the Giant Redwoods, Death Valley and other attractions. I heard reception staff provide directions and all kinds of helpful advice regarding foreign postage and the like. Complimentary coffee is provided in the lobby. Cable TV provided along with small room fridge. We will stay here again on future visits with our adult granddaughters.

Room Tip: There are both smoking & nonsmoking rooms. Be sure to ask for your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

After reading reviews from Tripadvisor, we were looking forward to staying at the Lamp Liter Inn. However when we get there after a tiring day in Kings Canyon and Sequoia NPs, we were allocated a room on the far side and no view onto the grounds, but with very noisy neighbours we could hear all night long through the communicating door. We had trouble closing/opening the door with the old fashionned metal key but didn't get much help from the staff and we found dirty socks and dead bugs under the beds. Overall, not a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varanasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

I am sorry to hear of this unpleasant experience. The housekeeping staff has been made aware of the situation. During our busy booking season garden view rooms are not always available and it is a good idea to request "garden view room " during the booking process. It is the desire of the Lamp Liter staff and management that our guests enjoy a pleasant stay and we will continue in our efforts to make this possible to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Motel is easy to get to. Great Pool area.
Rooms are rather small and are aged, especially the bathroom needs some renovation but its not that bad. Some renovations of it would be necessary.
Price was good, $86 for one night.
Breakfast was at a closeby diner. Friendly staff and good food.
If you look for a quick and cheap location to stay, then its good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Lamp Liter is committed to making our accomodations comfortable and will continue in this endeavor..it is our hope you enjoyed our spacious and beautiful gardens and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
899 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
219 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: $74 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing