We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Motel with great Pool but slightly aged facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
World
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Motel with great Pool but slightly aged facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Motel is easy to get to. Great Pool area.
Rooms are rather small and are aged, especially the bathroom needs some renovation but its not that bad. Some renovations of it would be necessary.
Price was good, $86 for one night.
Breakfast was at a closeby diner. Friendly staff and good food.
If you look for a quick and cheap location to stay, then its good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Lamp Liter is committed to making our accomodations comfortable and will continue in this endeavor..it is our hope you enjoyed our spacious and beautiful gardens and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    151
    92
    21
    17
See reviews for
136
149
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London SE27
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent two nights at the Lamp Liter Inn & were extremely impressed with the hotel.

Our ground floor room was spacious, clean & very pleasant, with a large glass sliding door facing onto the delightful grounds which had gorgeous displays of flowers, manicured lawns & the sound of a fountain/water feature- all so wonderfully relaxing.There was a seat just outside the room where you could sit & enjoy the lovely garden.

The room itself was comfortable, with a small fridge & tea/coffee maker. TV was old style CRT but had a good picture. There was no in room safe. A/C was efficient & quiet.

WiFi was free, but the connectivity appeared to fluctuate in our room so that signal was sometimes lost.

The bathroom had a good powerful shower (albeit set rather low down the wall).

There was a more than decent swimming pool, with enough space to lounge/read/relax & appreciate the floral displays.

Breakfast was not included but there is the diner on the same site which does breakfast, lunch & evening meals. The selection & quality of the food we had there was very good & reasonably priced.

There was no launderette in the hotel but there was one across the (rather busy) road. Interestingly, although the hotel was on the main road, I did not notice any traffic noise.

Check in & out was easy.

We paid $75 a night for a standard 2 queen bed room, which we considered to be excellent value for the quality of the accommodation at the Lamp Liter. The beautiful grounds & great pool mean that for us it warranted a '5' rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. The staff and management at the Lamp Liter are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed for one night in June based on good reviews on tripadvisor. We paid $93 for the room (without breakfast), which was cheaper than any of the other hotels we booked on our trip, and I suppose it represents fair value for money, but overall we were not impressed with our stay.
The grounds of the hotel are quite attractive but it is located just off the main highway and there are very few restaurants, shops or bars within walking distance. The room was clean and quiet but was old, tired and lacking in any character. The reception staff were efficient but not welcoming.
The choice of accommodation in Visalia appears rather limited but if I visited again, I would try somewhere other than the Lamp Liter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Starts with a mix-up at front desk that requires extended time for check in. Room is clean but definitely starting to show its age. Shower stall and toilet in separate area, and shower head didn't shut off 100%, the sliding shower door was left open and the floor in front of the toilet was soaking wet from splatter, not a big deal but should have been addressed. Also a considerable amount of mildew on wall above the top of the shower enclosure. The room was very quiet and the grounds of the property were pleasant. The first morning at ~515am, what appeared to be a broken sprinkler pipe turned on right outside the sliding glass door of our room to splash quite loudly on the sidewalk. This was a 2 night stay so wanted to be able to use my lap top, forget it. When I was able to stay connected for more than 2 minutes at a time, the connection was glacially slow. We also had trouble re-entering our room at one point using the old style metal key, again not a huge deal but annoying. I liked the feel at the Lamp Liter but pretty sure I wouldn't stay there again. Just barely a 2.5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandalf_grae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CERES
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Quiet roomy rooms, Nice pool and landscaping. Plenty of hot water for big shower. Great food at the place next door. We had a great time and are looking forward to our next trip. Great family place. The room next to us had children and we never heard them! It was hot and the AC worked great!

Room Tip: I forgot to ask for downstairs, and none were available. We went for 4th of July! There is superma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KARAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Lamp Liter Inn the night before we visited the sequoia national park. We got a room for 80 bucks without breakfast (forget about breakfasts in US-hotels). The room was clean and next to a lovely pool. The staff was very friendly. all in all good value for reasonable prices. Recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon,UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very much enjoyed our recent stay at this lovely hotel...The only minor complaint was the slow public computer.
Lovely swimming pool which was very welcome after a long hot drive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Property: Lamp Liter Inn
Address: 3300 W Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing