We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We regularly stop and stay at the Lamp Liter Inn on frequent trips to Los Angeles. The hotel in older, but well maintained. Great grounds. Very nostalgic for those of us who were raised in the valley. Breakfast at the grill is a must. Visalia is a great little valley town with a great mexican restaurant on the main street (Los Palmas) and is a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 716TimL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    166
    98
    25
    17
See reviews for
151
161
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice place not to far from Sequoia Park. The room is a basic Motel Room but the pool and the garden are very nice,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

The Lamp Liter Inn was part of a package booked through Orbitz.com and we did book upon reviews and the photos provided. Well, let me tell you that the grounds are even more beautiful than the photographs. Also, the grounds are so well maintained by the staff as well as the rooms. The rooms overlook the courtyard with the pool and the gardens. This hotel is also situated in the best place possible. Everything is off the main expressway and the main east/west roads (Mineral King and Noble). Across the expressway there is a self coin laundromat, grocery store, gas stations, etc. Sequoia National Park is 2 hours away and Yosemite is 3 hours away. Fresno is 1 hour away. Visalia is surrounded by Orange groves, olive groves, dairy farms, etc and everything you would like. So, when you come to this area, stay at this genuinly friendly hotel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin's M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I happened upon the Lamp Liter Inn totally by accident on a drive to LA from Fresno -it was a rainy night and I needed to break for the night rather than drive another 2+ hours. The fact is that my experience was so perfect that I returned with my wife this time. We actually drove 40 miles out of our way TWICE, just to stay there! Here's the story. Everything is beautifully decorated and maintained, the rooms are not at all like what you'd find at a typical hotel or motel -beautiful colors, spotless and the furniture is more home-like than the institutionalized style you're used to expecting. It's all in the details -beautiful colors, very clean, great towels, spectacular garden-like grounds (beautiful flowers everywhere) and very pleasant & accommodating staff. What's unusual is that you can tell that the staff are naturally smiling, and helpful, -not at all like the scripted drones at typical hotels. The on-grounds restaurant was a little retro feeling, the food was much better than expected (we had a rib eye on Saturday night & it was broiled perfectly & seasoned spectacularly). The house Cabernet choice could use a little tweak. The rates are very reasonable: we paid $67 for a garden double. All things considered -the quality of the Lamp Liter is far above the Holiday Inn & Marriott which are both a short distance away. I would call the Lamp Liter a modern day anachronism and a true joy in every respect. To give you perspective, we have only been motivated to review one other facility in the past 2 years- Le Manoir Saint Thomas in Ambroise, France. Very highly recommended -a former private manor, converted to a beautiful and wonderfully staffed 8 suite B&B -only 6 hours South of Paris. On the expensive side at $500 the night. We unquestionably recommend the Lamp Liter in every respect.

Room Tip: the first floor garden rooms are like having a beautiful park setting just outside your door -by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank begreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Chose the Lamp Liter because it was close to a friend's house in Visalia. We loved it! Nice, comfortable rooms, mattresses were comfortable, too! Windows that open so you can get some fresh air. We overlooked the gardens which were just gorgeous in their Spring blooms. Hotel clerks were helpful, breakfast at the Grille was good. Benches on upstairs corridors are great for sitting outside in the evening. Used the computer in the lobby for what little Internet access I needed, printer there which was handy for printing out maps. There are some cottages in the center of the complex near the pool, which would be great for a group traveling together.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoxValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at several places in Visalia. So far this is the best value in town. We will stay there on our next trip as well. Nice rooms, nothing fancy, just plain good. The attached restaurant is a great breakfast place too.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

To start off i was picked up at the airport with there shuttle. the hospitality of the shuttle driver and when i got to the hotel clerk was excellent. I had a really great feeling about this. The room is spacious. Old type tv set bedspread was ok but kind of looked mabbie pre 90s. Shower was nice good presurre . Internet was terrible the 2 nights i was there but the last day worked good? There's a mc donalds down the street and accross 198 theres a save mart,burger king, laundry mat and i think it was a 99 cents store and mis. The bar was closed at the hotel and i did not eat at their restaurant for i wanted to be conservative. The heater works good but i do not know if it doubles as a airconditioner /swamp cooler? There is a cealing fan over the bed. There is a table with chairs and the desk where the tv set is. There is a coffee maker with coffee supplied and soaps conditioner and shampoo. Also Refrigerator and microwave oven upon request. The room was nice and clean, floor was nothing speacial but clean enough to walk on with out wearing your slippers house shoes. The main attraction here is the landscape, This is without a doubt the best looking home like hotel i ever been to. the garden was nice pretty Shrubs/ bushes flowers trees green grass then the swimming pool was huge and in the middle of all the rooms. This is in a nice safe place. There's alot of little bussiness buildings next door in between the hotel and mc donalds. The only thing that made things bad was i went there just mainly for the shuttle to the airport and sunday was told no shuttle driver. I figured they were going to pay my taxi being i have been to other hotels where when the shuttle is not avialable they call a taxi at there expense. Well they did finally cover the taxi after i called the manager 3 times after i got home and around 5 days later they reemburst my account. So if you need a shuttle flying into visalia make 100% sure if you stay there you tell them that is why you staying is the shuttle service. There was i found out a days inn right accross the street from the hotel unfourtunately but it was to late for me. Other than that shuttle problem things were nice and the place is really quiet.

Room Tip: i always stay upstairs so i do not hear people walking around . and you get a better view of the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beacherca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
3.7 mi away
Visalia Sequoia Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Property: Lamp Liter Inn
Address: 3300 W Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing