We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you're anywhere near Visalia”
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We got to spend two nights here while on our week long visit to California. This was not our original plan but the itinary was disrupted and we didn't make it to Yosemite as planned. So instead we by chance booked the room here and got it for the following night as well. There is a restaurant on site, owned by the LampLiter, that is good and within walking distance of the rooms. The rooms are situated within a pretty, quiet, landscaped area off the highway but you'd never know it being there. The staff was outstanding to us and even stayed open until we arrived at almost 1 a.m. having gotten lost driving from San Fran the previous night. As soon as we got checked in, I had to get online to check tickets for Muir Woods (Sequoia Forest) that hubby wanted to see the next day, and the clerk let me use the lobby computer for the tickets. We went to bed and were back up for the tour that morning, which had a shuttle pick us up at the door. This was a comfortable, private tour bus that made several pickups just for this day trip. The drive itself to get to Muir Woods was over an hour but the scenery was gorgeous. When we got into the park I realized that I had only bought a ticket for us to get in, not to get back, and the shuttle driver, after dropping everyone else off, took us to his dispatcher office so we could get on the list to get back on the bus. They were all very accommodating, and it was crowded in the park that day. We stayed in the Sequoia forest for awhile, took our pictures and enjoyed the educational museum that they have. While waiting for the return bus we spoke to the park ranger on duty who gave us our trip route for the next day, which was to go back to the San Fransisco area to see the Redwood Forest. He was very helpful and the bus trip back was scenic, spotting a brown bear feeding by the roadside, and passing acres of lemon and orange groves. We dined at the aforementioned restaurant that night. There was an inviting outdoor pool but we didn't bring suits. The next day I had to print boarding passes and the clerk helped me with all of that, letting me use his personal laptop and the hotel's printer. They gave us our fill of coffee and wished us well as we had several hours' drive ahead to get back to the city.

Room Tip: We had our AAA rate, which gave us a very good price for the room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Lamp Liter Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

Yes, our family made the trek to Visalia, California and celebrated our family reunion at the Lamp Liter Inn. We have been celebrating our reunion at the Lamp Liter Inn for at least twenty years plus, although we only meet every three years. It is a rather large affair, and as always the Lamp Liter Inn is very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and "COOL" which is very important in humid Visalia. Guest services from room service, housekeeping, and front desk were great. And many thanks to Richie at the front desk for all your help. See you in three years, 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lumarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

When I come to the Valley I always stay here. It feels like home when you are away from home. Great place to have Weddings, Reunions, and Large Parties. Landscaping is beuitiful! You feel like your in a Home and Gardens Magazine! Truely you do. Very clean and Service Staff are always willing to assist.

Room Tip: Downstairs in front of fountain or pool area
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LampLiterInn, Director of Sales at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for the kind comments! We thank you for your continued patronage of our facility and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We just got home from my husbands family reunion that is held every three years and it is held at the lamp liter Inn. They always do a great job and this year we had Richie helping us ( us is 300 family members) with everything...Always had a smile on his face and always very polite...In fact we want to adopt him into our family...thanks Ritchie and the Lamp Liter Inn and we will see you guys in three years...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 108donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LampLiterInn, Director of Sales at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

We at the Lamp Liter Inn are thrilled that we continue to have the opportunity to host your family reunion at our facility. We’re pleased to hear that everybody enjoyed themselves and look forward to seeing everyone again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My grandson and I found this Inn the perfect stay for our golf vacation. The staff here made us feel like "one of the family". We'll be back !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LampLiterInn, Director of Sales at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

We’re delighted to hear that you and your grandson enjoyed your stay at our Inn during your golf course tour. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to Sequoia National Park. The Lamp Liter inn is an older style motel. Not flash, but comfortable and well priced. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surlaw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I keep coming back (first visit: 1967). The place never changes. Clean, comfortable rooms and a friendly staff. Reasonable rates, too. Classic 1960s resort atmosphere. Great for a night swim if you're in the mood (please fix the pool light). Convenient parking and close to town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayDee90017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
868 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
773 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
3.7 mi away
Visalia Sequoia Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Address: 3300 W Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: $76 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing