We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Will be back next year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Liter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Will be back next year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

6 PM and baby getting ready to melt, so we figured it was best to stop for the night rather than making the push to the campground. Started calling the usual motels on the south side of the highway and they were all full. One suggested calling the Holiday Inn or the Lamp Liter, and as I try to avoid chains whenever possible, this is the one I went with, and at $79, it was about $10 less than across the hwy. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and English-speaking, just like the old days. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL - intense greenery, lots of flowers, little fountains that the kid could play in, big pool, lots of open space - exactly the right remedy after hours cooped up in the car in 103 F (40 C) heat. The only reason for not getting 5 stars was that "the maintenance man went home" so for some reason, they could not get us a crib for the baby. Luckily, we had sleeping bags ready, but if you call in advance, I'm sure it won't be a problem. Did not see a single "rouch" or even a roach. Vintage early sixties but everything clean and comfortable. The attached restaurant has PHENOMENAL breakfasts ranging from the extremely healthy to what you REAL-ly want. Get the sausage and pancakes off the kid's menu for a nice surprise.

Room Tip: With small children, call in advance for a crib.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonzo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    148
    88
    17
    16
See reviews for
132
142
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We went to Sequoia Natl Park and decided to stay at the Lamp Liter Inn and took the Sequoia Shuttle too. The room was clean,smelled fresh and everything was in working order. It is an older hotel, but who cares? The room we got was huge compared to other hotels we have stayed (residence inn,embassy suites etc) and for $90 per night it couldn't be beat compared to other chains hotels in Visalia. The front staff was pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this for bigger families needing some room! The restaurant there was good, but a bit pricey. They had the usual american continental cuisine. But their staff was quick and helpful. They also open early for those of you that get the shuttle early like we did.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papopipo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stay at Lamp Liter Inn every year the night before we head into Kings Canyon National Park for a camping adventure. I am always impressed at how nicely the Inn is maintained. For an older building, the rooms are well decorated and always very clean. The landscaping is lush and beautiful and the pool and pool area are both large. The Inn has a small restaurant attached which always provides a pleasant breakfast before we venture off. The staff is always very friendly and accomodating. I believe this is a family owned property. To the family and staff - thank you for a consistently good experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32655Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

what else can i say. All bad make sure you shake out your stuff.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seeinitthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LampLiterInn, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
The guest called the front desk and advised them that she found “a” roach in her room. We immediately investigated and found “a” dying water bug in the sliding glass door threshold. Our post control service had heavily sprayed the entire outside perimeter of our facility a couple of days prior which would account for the pest.

We gladly changed rooms for this guest and she had no further issues.

We did ask our pest control service to check this room after the guest vacated; he confirmed the pest was of the ‘outside variety ’, they found no other problem with this room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
797 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel was comfortable, but its an old building. It has a 50s feel to it based on its layout. The grounds are pretty nice. Rooms have comfortable bed, flat screen TV with lots of channels, and a coffee maker. Room had a shower, no tub. Basic amenities. The on site restaurant is pretty good for breakfast.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotha, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stay here for two days to visit the Sequia NP. We arrived late an were welcom were friendly. The location is central to make trips to the NP. Shuttle to the park and to the city also aviable. The rooms are nice and clean and the personal is realy kind and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the country cottages - realy great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Annett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This hotel was supposedly completely rennovated but I think they scrimped on replacing the box springs. The sides of these beds were completely stained and brown. The shower was very motel-esgue (i.e., no tub, just a small lip to keep water from going on the floor). The blankets had all kinds of hairs stuck in them - yes, those from the nether regions. I understood that it was New Years eve so the shouting, cars peeling out and the neighbors screaming "wooo hooo!!" until 3:20AM was expected. Luckily our baby and little boy sleep like logs. I saw one of the "cottages" the next day and would pay the extra money (a whopping $79!) - they are larger and only share a wall. Our night was $39 - you get what you pay for.

Flip side- food in restaurant was great and the staff was very friendly and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.0 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Liter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Liter Inn

Property: Lamp Liter Inn
Address: 3300 W Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamp Liter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lamp Liter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Liter Hotel Visalia
Lamp Liter Visalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing