We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fox & Hounds
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bear Hotel(Cowbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
125
36
4
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
36
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfresh milkb boff the beaten tracksticky toffee puddingvisited for sunday lunchlovely toiletriessingle track roadpretty villagesmall sofalovely villagecosy barwell worth a visitold churchwine listgreat attention to detailunder new ownership
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 172 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night B&B. The room was reasonable size, clean and comfortable. We checked in around 7pm and after a quick walk round the village, and a shower (which was hot and powerful) we went down to the bar. We were the only ones there at first and had a nice chat with one of the owners - Sue. We spent a nice couple of hours relaxing. Breakfast was very good, in fact one of the better breakfasts we have had in the UK. We would definitely go back again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Living in the Vale of Glamorgan we eat at the Fox and Hounds about four or so times a year, just for special occasions due to relatively high meal prices. It is well supported by local folk, which is always a good indication of good service.

I have not stayed there so can not comment on the rooms. However, the views from people who have stayed is generally very favorable.

The Fox and Hounds is situated in the picturesque village of Llancarfan in the Vale of Glamorgan. It's location is ideal for many of the attractions around the Vale. The town of Barry is just four miles or so away. Other nearby attractions include; Cardiff Castle, The Welsh National Folk Museum, Atlantic College, Cardiff Waterfront Bay and the historical town of Llantwit Major to name just a few.

All-in-all, the Fox and Hounds is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanT041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night while attending a wedding at The Vale Resort.
A beautiful and peaceful setting, the rooms were clean and well decorated with a wonderful power shower.
Breakfast was delicious, full English, toast, coffee, Orange juice and marmalade.
Hosts were lovely-can't fault it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mister_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We didn't stay but were recommended as good value meal. Good food and more authentic then most. Service made it a memorable night and locals eating at the pub indicates its good. Good wholesome pub. Local knowledge could be improved (like age if pub)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A great little find. Spent a couple of relaxing days away. The Fox & Hounds gives you a feeling of having gotten away from the madding crowd. Located out in a very quite vale, it's provides you with a great B & B experience. The food is very good both for breakfast and the evening meal. The menu provides a very good selection and the meals are well cooked and presented. The resturant area is comfortable, clean and uncluttered, with a log burning fire adding to the charm. The staff and management are very helpful and treat you with respect. The bar area again is very comfortable with a good selection of ales and wines. Our room was adequately sized, clean, well appointed and warm. Access to the upper floor however could be difficult for people with mobility issues, however suggest you ask about it when and if you book a stay. We left the Fox & Hounds after our stay with a warm relaxed glow.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chalkie560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews