We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out the way but ok”
Review of Fox & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox & Hounds
Ranked #1 of 1 Llancarfan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights,room clean, but the window did nt shut, tv controls did nt work, this i found was nt the most welcoming of places but maybe thats because we are ordinary working people, opening times are DIFFERENT, only the chef seemed to smile, and with good reason his food was top notch , would not recommend staying but would definately recommend eating, did nt even replenish tea supplies , no wonder there looking to move on to pastures new,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Fox & Hounds
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a great time in a beautiful inn in a very quaint old Welsh Village

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We haev stayed here on a number of occassions usually when we visit Cardiff for the Speedway Grand Prix. We decided to stay out of the city, as its cheaper and you recieve a better service. Although this place is remote for our needs its well worth the extra taxi fares as its a lovely place to stay.
Sue and the family here have looked after us really well, both rooms and food are excellent.
One tip when you are driving here on the first visit, if you think you have gone wrong and taken the wrong road, you havent ! keep going the road willl get even more narrow !! then you go through a small ford and then youve made it.
Looking forward to our stay here this year !

Room Tip: All are great !
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damoSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My first visit to the Fox and Hounds this week for Sunday lunch with family, a most enjoyable experience, the restaurant was comfortable and well presented, the service was very good, the food was excellent, I had a set three course lunch for £17.99, all three courses were very tasty and well presented, and the portions were more than adequate, I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

wonderful host,lovely food, accommodation clean and fresh. lovely setting

Room Tip: excellent value for money
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swindon2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Having booked a meal for a rather mixed party of eight, I was impressed. Good, invested property, professional service and layout, lovely, fresh and uncomplicated food, presented with thought and flair..all without breaking the bank account of my group. So glad I made the effort to get them out of more boring restaurants! Sue, one of the owners clearly knows her stuff and cares about getting it right. As the site is small, I would always book ahead, I can see how the business could be overwhelmed easily if everyone were to eat! Try to visit outside of peak times, would be my tip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeyCarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Following the nice weather we decide to have a drive out for lunch and came across the Fox and Hounds. The setting looked great with a nice big garden. The problem started when entering the building and trying to order drinks and food. The service received was so rude that after ordering drinks we decided that we would not stay to eat. I understand that people were ordering food that needed to be taken outside but to be totally ignored then spoken to in a totally unprofessional manner was just to much to accept. All that was needed was a quick 'I'll be with you in a minute' and that would have solved an issue. We are normally quite easy to be pleased and were not looking for Michelan Star service but simple basics and customer service is not difficult. Looking at different reviews we must have picked a wrong day to visit but I can only comment on our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llancarfan
4.5 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
504 reviews
4.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
2.3 mi away
Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
3,182 reviews
5.3 mi away
The West House
The West House
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
185 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds

Address: Llancarfan | Vale of Glamorgan, Llancarfan CF62 3AD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llancarfan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llancarfan
Price Range: $95 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox and Hounds is a country pub with 8 ensuite rooms set in the idyllic, tranquil village of Llancarfan, within easy reach of Cardiff (15 mins), Cowbridge (10 mins), Barry (10 mins) and Cardiff airport (10 mins). It is ideally situated for visiting the Principality (old Millennium) Stadium, SWALEC (Sophia Gardens) Stadium and Millennium Centre. It overlooks St Cadoc's Church where medieval wall paintings have recently been unearthed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fox & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing