We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mojave Narrows Regional Park Camping
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Victorville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some 1,500 species of watchable wildlife call this lush stretch of habitat along the Mojave River home, making it a magnet for bird-watchers, horseback riders and campers. The park’s two lakes not only attract migratory birds but also make it a popular fishing spot.You can bring your own mount or rent horses and ponies from the on-site stables.Mojave Narrows’ flat, open terrain includes pastures surrounded by cottonwood and willow trees. The park, located in the Victor Valley area, boasts lots of activities for visitors. Facilities include group and RV campsites ( some with lake views), a playground, waterpark, picnic shelters and hiking trails. A low ropes course is also planned.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

They have an incredible water park here! The whole car can get in for a one day user fee and we love it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    8
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victorville, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SB County wont repair Horseshoe lake.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We've been going to the Narrows since we purchased our RV in 2004. They do have full hook up RV sites, as well as many dry camping sites that tents or RV's can use. One drawback is the train traffic. The railroad tracks are just west of the park and very, very close. The trains go by all nite long and if you dont get a site closer to the dried up lake you'll be woken up several times per nite. There are even some engineers who love to blast their horns as they pass the campground.
Several years ago we had some pretty serious rainfall. As a result, Horseshoe lake had a dirt dam that failed and all of the water (and fish) drained out. Horseshoe is a fairly decent sized lake, much bigger than the smaller Pelican lake which still exists.
For a while prior to this, they had been upgrading the park and it was really looking good, but since then the county has done nothing except increase the price per night.
I would guess that its because the county (the biggest countyin the country) has too many welfare bums who need the money worse than the park does. On to the dry camping areas, they tend to attract the loud, hip hop listening to crowd..since 2004 we've seen it all there. If the county fixed the lake it would be much better, and going in the winter pretty much insures that those loud partiers wont be tent camping.
We do enjoy spending a weekend there because we get to use the RV and its close to where we live.
C'mon, San Bernardino county....fix the lake!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice Grounds & Activities”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Close to Victorville, this park offers group and full hook-up camping for $35 a night! The camping spots are just the right distance from each other so privacy is good. They offer horseback riding, large playground (biggest one I have ever seen) and hiking. This is a wetlands area but the water is dried up, losing 1 point. There is a sign posted that explains the problem but it should be fixed. It appears the large homes above the park have plenty of water as there is a lake in the center of their development! (Gee... I wonder where all the water went?!) Plenty of grass and scattered trees for a picnic. Coyotes were out at dusk, no mistaking that howl! Watch your pets. There were alot of coyotes! Firepits... County Of San Bernardino Park

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank inclineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you are not familiar with the area, you might want to investigate on your own more prior to reserving a space at this park. Rates do not warrant what the park has to offer. $35 a night for hookups. While the County Park website shows water surrounding the park (deceiving), there is no water. It is dried up and the only portion of water is a distance away from campground and for fishing only (requires State Fishing License, plus $8 park fee). The website does not indicate that campsites sit right next to the busiest train tracks in the area. Trains pass every 10 minutes. No wonder the park showed openings!!! Won't come back here!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My daughter wanted to ride horses. They have a great playground for kids and lots of activities for the whole family.

Helpful?
3 Thank Customcruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojave Narrows Regional Park Camping also viewed

 

Been to Mojave Narrows Regional Park Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing