We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franky's Diner - CLOSED

Franky's Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Description: Great 50's diner just off the Mojave Fwy. Great burgers and ice cream deserts!! A great stop from LA to Vegas!
hesperia, ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I didn't get to try the food, because after 20 minutes and the server not even making contact with me, I paid for the tea that the person cleaning tables got for me and went to denny's. I won't be going back to this place anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hester22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This place was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This place was perfect! Half-way back from Las Vegas to San Diego. Had scrambled eggs and toast. It hit the spot! Arrived 'bout 8 pm on March 2nd, 2012. Oscar night, if I remember correctly... and they were showing it on their tv. Great food and great service. Lots of fun! don't miss it. Much better than a chain restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaS713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cool Retro Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Went for breakfast, had the french toast. The price was very fair especially for the amount of food you get. Everything tasted great and was cooked just right. The waitresses were very friendly. Just wish they would have coke in the fountain instead of Pepsi. When you have the place decked out in Coke colors with coke signs, you kinda expect coke. Weird.

Will definately stop here next time on the way to Vegas or home.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PnSfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like this restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I really wanted to like this place. I love diners- notable ones like the Galaxy in Flagstaff and Mel's in Hollywood- for their funky nostalgia and atmosphere. This one has a neat building and all the kitsch but the waitress was very brusque. I really wanted to like the place but the service pretty much wrecked it. The bathroom was out of TP and towels. The food was good for the standard diner fare. But I probably wouldn't stop in again.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franky's Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing