We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valley Ford no less, nice find”

Rocker Oysterfeller's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocker Oysterfeller's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Valley Ford no less, nice find”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Sunday of the holiday weekend & literally no where to park in Marshall, Tomales was havin' a parade, so cheez let's motor on up to Valley Ford, haven't been there for a while....and on a lark we decided to try Rocker Oyesterfeller's (since we were looking for oysters). And what a pleasant surprise; Friendly and attentive service, excellent bloody mary's, and the oysters? To die for (a mix of Oyster Rockerfellers & Louisiana Hots, followed by an oyster po'boy). We ate the bar, and based on the side conversations with the other guests, it sure seemed everyone was living life the fullest and thoroughly enjoying the ambiance, drinks and top notch food. Bottom line, we will be back :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbihler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I love Rockers!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Everything is fresh and delicious. Great cocktails, unique salads, awesome mac & cheese, fish, steak, grits, what's not to love?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cassietrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Sonoma County!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is our 5th or 6th visit and Rocker's does not disappoint. We usually eat in or at the bar because that section seems a little more "happening" than the main dining area, but the dining room is lovely/romantic, too. We started with their deviled egg/bacon appetizer which was outstanding and accompanied by their specialty jalapeno/corn muffins. I had the Sazerac (not their best rendition this time) and hubby had the Sidecar which was very good. Both of our entrees were large: I had the lamb and he had the sturgeon, each with great sides, local vegetables & the omnipresent fresh watercress. Shawna and her staff are always super cordial and informative -- they even put the Giants game on for us in the bar! Prices are reasonable given the portions, and drinks are strong. They have done an amazing job of Louisiana-Sonoma fusion food and I look forward to seeing the new summer menu. If you are any where near Hwy 1 and Valley Ford, stop in for a real treat at Rocker Oyserfeller's.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfort Food with Southern Charm”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Authentic country charm, with a southern creole twist, that's Rocker Oysterfeller's. The dining room is quaint, comfortable, feels like home. We went there for Sunday morning brunch; when we arrived at 12:30 there were only a couple of people there, when we left, it was full, with mostly families.

The food was delish, well prepared. We started with Oyster's (well, duh) fresh from Tomales Bay, and had them done 3-ways, raw, Rockerstyle, and Louisiana style...good to the last bite. (My fav was the Rockerstyle one, my hubby loved the Louisana) $14.00 for 6. Then the crab cakes, good and crabby ($13.00 for 2); a cup of Gumbo ($8.00) was made with Duck and so good. We had just come back from NOLA so we had tasted some of the best; RO had good deep roux, and y'll know that's what makes the gumbo! Had to try some of the fried okra ($7.00) done nice and crisp with a light-handed batter and the Cornmeal Crusted Shrimp ($13.00). The shrimp was the only miss, IMHO, if you didn't dip them in sauce, they were pretty much flavorless; but there are plenty of other interesting choices on the menu.

LindySez: All in all, a good comforting meal. I'll be back, maybe for dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindySez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Sonoma County Restaurant Week - Selection”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Our second restaurant visit for Sonoma County Restaurant Week: Rocker Oysterfeller's in Valley Ford with friends Ann & John. It was Friday night and the bar and restaurant in the Valley Ford Hotel were already crowded and very noisy when we arrive at 6 PM. The restaurant was noisy even before it filled in as we dinned.

Three of our group started with the Gumbo of the Day – which was a duck and ham delight. The fourth had the Cesar salad which also earned a good review. We ‘covered the waterfront’ with our main courses: John had the Dungeness Crab, Ann the Spoonbread, Ms Becky the fried chicken, and I had the oyster Poboy – all made with a Creole twist and quite delicious.

The PoBoy was filled with oysters and topped with two strips of Applewood bacon which was the perfect partner to the oysters. The sandwich was served with a generous portion of seasoned shoestring fries.

As if two excellent courses were not enough, the pièce de résistance for each meal was the dessert. John & Ann had the Sweet Potato Creme Brulee – and scoured their serving bowls for every bit. Ms Becky had the Beignets served with a coffee crème sauce. I had the Bourbon Vanilla Milkshake – it was creamy with ice cream and whipped cream but had a good jolt of bourbon that made it a real delight – the Pecan Tassie served with it made for a nice finish to an excellent dessert.

The service was not rushed and more than acceptable. The wait staff seems to be specialized as we had at least five people attend our table with various functions.

For the $29 fixe prix this was a great dining experience and a good value.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LostLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocker Oysterfeller's also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Freestone, Sonoma County
 
Valley Ford, Sonoma County
Valley Ford, Sonoma County
 

Been to Rocker Oysterfeller's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing