We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick one night trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harrah's Resort Southern California
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Valley Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quick one night trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

On January 5th, we decided to take an overnight trip down to Harrah's Rincon. Through Total Rewards, we got a decent last minute rate. After we got off work, we hit the toll road from Orange County and were there about an hour and 45 minutes later.

Check in was quick. The guy checking us in was funny and personable. We got a spa tower room, King non-smoking. Nice room. I love the soaking tubs!! Our room also had a fridge, which is handy for the bottles of water we usually take with us.

We hit the gaming floor with the intention of playing for an hour or so and then hitting the buffet for dinner. I really enjoy their buffet! BUT ~ the slots got the best of us and we ended up not getting to the buffet before they closed at 9pm. So, we hit Pinks hotdogs....Now, while I love Pinks (we usually go to the one at Knott's Berry Farm), having chili cheese dogs at 11pm after a few too many beers perhaps was a bad plan! We played a few more games and hit the room around midnight.

The bed was comfy and we slept in the morning. After grabbing a cup of coffee for my husband, we headed home, with a brief stop at the Jilberto's taco stand (by Pauma casino) for some delightful breakfast.

We love that Harrah's is so close to us. Makes for a nice one night get away. Looking forward to our next impromptu trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saitken69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,675
    1,540
    505
    171
    162
See reviews for
1,758
2,312
555
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,786)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Of the half dozen or so casinos within one hour of San Diego, and I've been to them all and stayed at most, Harrah's is closest to the feel of Vegas. The rooms are spacious with awesome bathrooms and a mini fridge for booze and snacks. They do have old TV's and limited channels but who really cares. While it's not Vegas with free drinks they are reasonable, especially happy hour at the bar and the rooms are close enough for a quick refill. The buffet, coffee shop and room service are all what you'd expect to find from a mid level strip resort. I've never eaten at any of the fancier restaurants on premise. The pool is beautiful and a fun place to grab a drink and play some black jack in the day and soak in the tub at night. On the black jack note you are allowed to surrender something not allowed at some SD casinos, Vegas for that matter too. They also have a nice spa that's not to expensive that my girlfriend swears by. If you want to get away for 1-2 days and can't get to Vegas this does just fine. My only complaint is they got a little tight with their comped rooms for the average player. My free room offers for sun-thur are now $20-40 a night. Still reasonable I just don't go as often anymore.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night on New Years Eve and found the accomodations to be very nice.
Nice room furnishings good size bathroom with a very large tub. The staff were all pleasant from valet parking, bellman, girls at check in, wait staff and casino helpers. Thought the complimentary gift pack we found when we returned to our room that night a nice touch,especially after paying New Years Eve prices.The best part of the stay was the absolute quiet, we never heard a sound from other guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chevynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Love Harrah's Vegas I have been to Rincon many times since I want to get more on my rewards card they are the tightest casino ever have never won there its a waste of my money will not go back there again I will go to valley view and Pechanga where at least you can play a lot longer on your money. Rincon is terrible

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I live 20 minutes from Harrah's Rincon. Took them up on their $19/night deal (only avail for the night of 12/20). Check in was easy and was put in a room on the 7th floor of the Spa Tower. The room was nice mid-range hotel quality (but, I noticed that there are still tube TVs out there!). The bathroom was spacious and nice, with separate tub and shower.
Here is the difference between a Vegas resort and Harrah's Rincon:
1. Coffee maker in the room- Vegas NO; Rincon YES
2. Free drinks while gambling- Vegas YES; Rincon NO (don't be snookered by the high tech machine ordering feature. It lists all the drinks, but no prices)
3. Distances - In Vegas everything is far away and requires lots of walking; At Rincon everything is close by, rooms, casino, spa, restaurants- even self parking!
Here are the similarities:
1. Loud, smoky casino
2. Excellent mid-range Spa and pool facilities
3. Free parking
4. Same or at some machines, worse odds on video poker
5. Excellent value priced buffet

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SterlingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Absolutely love this place! Friendly staff, clean rooms, beautiful mountain views. If you need anything just call and they will bring it to your door. We asked for a microwave and we had one within 20 minutes! We will stay here everytime we travel to San Diego. Planning another trip real soon! The only downfall to this place is the gambling... like every Harrah's they keep the machines pretty tight. But they comped our room for 3 nights so we can't really complain. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice room outside of the city.

Room Tip: Luxury Rooms in the Garden Tower are more updated than the Spa Tower.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

The rooms are ok, nothing special but then again you are there to gamble, not sleep. The housekeeping staff spent less than 5 minutes cleaning my room and didn't even vaccum. Floor had the same things on it day 3 that it did on day 1. On a positive note, the bed is very comfortable.
Staff in the restaurants seem to be more interested in talking to each other than taking care of the customer. I just came from having a good steak dinner, food was good but the waiter was too busy talking with his co workers to ask if my meal was ok, or if i needed anything.

The best part was the bars, not cheap, but the bartenders were very customer friendly.

Not sure i would ever return to this casino hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the other casino''s in the San Diego area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley Center
13.6 mi away
Pala Mesa Resort
Pala Mesa Resort
#3 of 6 in Fallbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
19.4 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
19.6 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Resort Southern California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Resort Southern California

Property: Harrah's Resort Southern California
Address: 777 Harrahs Rincon Way, Valley Center, CA 92082-5343 (Formerly Harrah's Rincon Casino & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Valley Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Valley Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Resort Southern California 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1065
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Resort Southern California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Rincon Casino And Resort
Harrah`s Rincon Hotel Valley Center
Harrahs Rincon Hotel
Harrahs Rincon Resort
Harrahs Rincon Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing