We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel rooms, once you figure out where the registration desk is.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valley Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valley View Casino Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Valley Center
Certificate of Excellence
Mojave Desert
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel rooms, once you figure out where the registration desk is.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our first time staying at the hotel, having first visited the casino about three years ago. Most casino-hotels we have stayed at in the past have signs placed overhead giving directions to the hotel registration desk. Not so at this establishment. Even though the casino is not that large, there is no reason why one should have to wander around aimlessly looking for the hotel desk. Since the hotel was an afterthought to the casino, there is no entrance to the hotel portion other than walking all the way through the casino and lounge.

We arrived about one hour before the 3:00 check-in time, hoping that maybe we might get to check in a little early. The staff at the registration desk would not budge on allowing that. So, we hung around for a while and waited. The quality of the room was worth the wait.

The rooms are large and well appointed. There is a large flat-screen TV on the wall, but it appears that management did not opt for high-definition TV stations. The bathroom suffers from the same issues that we have encountered at a few other high-scale hotels that have undergone recent renovations or construction. 1. The lighting around the vanity produces a glare that makes it difficult to see what you are doing. 2. There is no towel rack for the large bath towels. 3. There are no hooks on the wall or door to hang clothing on.

Since we already had a Players Club card, the lobster buffet was not free. The cost is $32.95 per person, so I guess we were helping to subsidize the people getting the free meal. It is one of the better buffet meals, but not worth that price. However, as hotel guests, we were able to bypass the long line of people waiting to be seated. The free breakfast in the morning was a bit of a disappointment. One step above the continental breakfast at the low-scale hotels.

They advertise live entertainment in the lounge seven nights a week. We were there on a Thursday night, and the only entertainment was watching the friendly bartender mix drinks while a large and loud music video played on a screen behind him.

NOTE to casino operators around the country: We come to your establishment to gamble and be entertained. After dinner, we like to gamble for a while and then take a break in a lounge where there is live music and enjoy a few drinks. Then we will return to the casino and gamble some more before retiring late at night. Now, with lounge entertainment a thing of the past, we just go to our room early and go to bed. So, we are not spending as much time in your casino helping your profit line.

My rating for the hotel would have been "excellent" were it not for my petty gripes.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the valley. Must be why they named the place Valley View?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Guitpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
50
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I read a review on here entitled, "Surprise!" and this casino really is.

My husband and I had heard all the advertising on TV and there were also coupons in the newspaper declaring this the best lobster buffet, so we decided to check it out. They are correct. In fact, it is the best buffet we have ever had. Period. The fact that it was free when we joined the players club made it spectacular, but we noticed the ads in the paper have a coupon for $10 off our next visit, and we will definitely do that. The food was spectacular, especially the lobster, which you can keep going back for more and more. We had three apiece, and that was about right! But the rest of the buffet is also excellent. Prime rib. And the best selection of desserts I have ever seen.

The free lobster buffet was of course the best freebie, but the other surprises--free parking, free soda at several stations throughout the casino, free wi-fi (I saw on here someone said it was $25 but ours was definitely free. Don't know if that has been changed or what, but it was extremely cool--never happens in Vegas), free continental breakfast buffet that also included ham and egg sandwiches, no tax anywhere.

It is also important to note that our stay was midweek, so nothing was crowded. It was wonderful!

The room was lovely. Floor to ceiling window with a view of the mountains, and a little table and chair right there so I could email (for free!) while admiring the view. I thought the bathroom was amazing with the separate shower and bathtub. We had a problem with the tub drain, but called the desk and they took care of it. Everyone was helpful and friendly.

The infinity swimming pool is gorgeous, but even on a warm April day, it was too cold. We went in the jacuzzi instead and just relaxed, and that was spectacular. Again, it was midweek, so it was easy to get a seat by the pool (we nearly had the place to ourselves) and towels were very easy to find.

Be advised that the property is for patrons 21 and over only so there are no children or teenagers on the property at all. I am a teacher, so it was actually a nice break, but that means this is not a family destination.

Also, it is a stand alone property, so you would have to drive into the city if you wanted to do anything besides gamble, eat and hang by the pool. Or hang out in your beautiful room enjoying the free wifi! It was good for me since I just wanted to relax and it was perfect for that.

We had the best time. Everyone needs to go to Valley View Hotel and Casino at least once. The freebies are the best! Yes, we paid $89 for the room, but, since we won back virtually every cent we put in slot machines, that was just about all we paid for! And I used the free wi-fi to tell everyone I know!

Room Tip: Definitely take advantage of that free lobster buffet by joining the players club. Already a member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindil0uredhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

They have added more gaming tables but this has crowed effect on the dance floor and bar area
The atmosphere as you walk in has a dark and dirty feeling, very crowed( Even on Sunday)
The room was average .
Currently a lot of construction outside which made it loud and hard to sleep

Word of warning they have a pit boss that yells at employees and patrons.

Room Tip: Ask to be put on mailing list or receive e-mails, the discounts can add up to free rooms, free food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7tkmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived on a Monday on the way to San Diego, yes they have free valet parking how nice was that instead of finding your own parking, which is also free! Check in was friendly and helpfully, informed you of the free breakfast in the morning ,didn't mention that coffee was also complimentary, large rooms very nicely appointed ,very clean,huge bathroom,nice linens.the buffet was also free with your first players card,this buffet was probably on of the best meals I have had in a casino,it as kept clean and fresh the servers were polite,cheerfully and discreet, and again the food was delicious! There was nothing on my plate that was truly great! Oh did I mention the incredible view from the rooms! This hotel and casino is comparable if not better than 5 star hotels in Vegas and all major cities.my only regret is not being able to spend more time here , but I'm sure to be back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asiamaithai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I were traveling home (Ventura County) from San Diego, and decided to stop over at Valley View. The casino was a little smoky from cigarettes, and we had to walk all the way through the casino to get to the hotel check in desk. They definitely need another entrance for the hotel. They did offer a free all you can eat lobster buffet, and it was the best buffet we have ever eaten! We got there right when it opened at 4 pm and there was no waiting, and plenty of food. The hotel room had a magnificent view of the mountains, was roomy, modern and sparkling clean. We booked a room for a Monday, and the charge was a reasonable $89.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high so you can get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1bunkogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for the first time for a quick weekend getaway January 12, 2013. Check-in was very easy and being first time guests the lady at the front desk mentioned she wanted to give us a nice room with a view. Our room overlooked the infinity pool and mountains. Floor to ceiling window, large sleeping area with a sitting area table, 2 chairs and couch & coffee table. Bathroom was seperated with one room vanity and large suken tub then next room shower stall and toilet. Room was clean but only thing missing is an in-room safe. You can use the downstairs safety deposit boxes, which can be inconvenient. But very clean hallways and very quiet.

Casino - busy but a large choice of slot machines and it is smoky but there is a large non-smoking area as well. And the later the evening the less the people, which I didn't expect so there was never a wait to play a machine. And there is a good assortment of machines.

Dining - being first time members you receive the lobster buffet for free. It is one of the better buffets I've been to. The food was presented very well, hot and a large choice to choose from. Each area was kept very clean and not to mention that the lobster was good! The wait was long, but well worth it. And the servers were on top of it as far as taking away plates & replenishing your soft drinks.

Breakfast the next morning is included with your room reservation. It had a nice assortment of cold/hot foods and beverages. You can eat outside around the infinity pool, but being January it was too cold. But I'm sure during the summer month's it can be quite nice.

Entertainment - they have live bands/singers playing and as the night went on people were up dancing.

Overall - definitely worth staying for a weekend getaway and hopefully you have luck at the machines!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynette51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We drove 50 miles with a promise of a free lobster buffet with a players club. We arrived at 5:15 pm and found out they were sold out. Who sells out of a buffet dinner by 5:15 pm? Its a deceptive offer and for shame on Valley View. Is that the only way you can get people to your casino? Save the gas and frustration and avoid this place. They don't deserve your money and business.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley Center
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
8.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#14 of 16 in Escondido
35 reviews
14.5 mi away
Pala Mesa Resort
Pala Mesa Resort
#3 of 6 in Fallbrook
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
3.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Southern California
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley View Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Casino Hotel

Property: Valley View Casino Hotel
Address: 16300 Nyemii Pass Rd, Valley Center, CA 92082-6769
Location: United States > California > Valley Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Valley Center
Number of rooms: 118

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing