We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Will Come Back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Vallejo
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Will Come Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

I traveled to Vallejo to visit Discovery Kingdom with my family. This was a last minute trip. Found this hotel online and booked through their web site. Great room for the price. The room was clean and even though it is right next to a busy street, you could barely hear the traffic. We got the room with the seating area or the couch along with the 2 queen beds. The sofa was a little dingy and I didn't really want to touch the arms of the couch, but the rest of the room was plenty spacious and clean. We will definitely stay here agian.

Also, the web site says there is free internet in the room however, it is if you have cables. I didn't bring my cables for my laptop and the only wifi available is down in the lobby.

P.S. Some say that it's close enough to walk, I wouldn't really recommend it though. It is next to the park, but still a good trek for the smaller traveler (and down a busy road!).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheermom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    172
    94
    61
    43
See reviews for
255
93
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
611 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

This hotel was perfect for travelling to Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, it is two blocks from the park. We brought the kids and the neighbors with their kids. The rooms and pool were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was hot and ready and the hot tub was a great way to relax at the end of a long day on our feet in the park.

The only down-minor downside was the mattress to the hide-a-bed the kids slept on, it was noisy. When the kids moved, we heard it. Next time we stay here... and we will... we'll make sure to have two beds in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sp4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ak
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

We enjoyed a few nights here while doing the Six Flags thing.

This is a safe and solid hotel. It works very well for visiting the park--but not perfectly.

You can eat a free breakfast (get there early, though); avoid parking by taking the shuttle (but check the schedule and expect it with 10-20 mins of the appointed time); and cool off in the pool (check the 7-9 AM quiet swim for best results).

The rooms are fairly decent, but we did get a regular banging from the rambunctious kids upstairs (but what do you expect at a place near a theme park).

There were a few minor details with the tub, furnishings, and I heard a nearby rooster but overall it was a positive experience for us.

I like that the staff check the parking lot regularly and people watch the door around the clock. There is one entrance and the front desk clerk controls the sliding door (so no riff-raff or pan handlers).

Vallejo is no cake walk and security is important in avoiding any unsavory characters than can detract from the vacation experience.

We would use this place again, but we may try some online service to look at other 2 and 3 star places as we would have like to pay a bit less.

One tip may be to get to know the shuttle driver (try a small tip) and the desk staff for best results. Also, hit the breakfast and pool area early to avoid any crowds.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traipsingguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend to Discovery Kingdom. The breakfast is nothing to write home about and forget about making a waffle unless you want to wait in long lines. Don't stay because of the free breakfast. The shuttle has a long wait as well. It drops you right in front of D.K. but don't be in a hurry. Rooms are just ok for the price. You could do better and you could do worse. Bring anything you need with you, there's not much around.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

I had a wedding to attend in Napa and chose to stay in Vallejo to save money and also to take my kids to Six Flags. Why not kill two birds with one stone? I was happy that I didn't have to pay for parking at Six Flags. The kids loved the pool and the breakfast. I couldn't have been happier with my choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluewavemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,139 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,515 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Best Western Inn and Suites. Our plans this time were to visit Napa and also to drive over to Sonoma/Santa Rosa. As such, we picked this place because of its location. The prices were also very reasonable and as such decided to stay here instead of Napa this trip - for a three night stay we saved $100.00 a night over the BW in Napa.

The rooms were comfortable and nice for the price. The TVs had movies (for $) to watch so we watched a couple of movies currently in the theaters.

Service was very friendly. The hotel had low occupancy during our stay so there was no issues with the breakfast room size that others have commented on the post. There were tables; lots of food (cereal, hard boiled eggs, waffles, juice, coffee, large assortment of rolls). All in all a very pleasurable way to start the morning. We enjoyed it all 3 mornings we were there. The service ends by 9:00 a.m. sharp so don't expect it to be there at 9:01 - the reason for this is I found the service staff to be very watchful. They kept the place stocked; and came in to check regularly. Breakfast was available from 7-9; at 9:01 the staff started clearing. This is actually a very good sign of a well run place as I have been at some places where the staff just left the room a complete mess and had no time management. The service staff here is EXCELLENT.

The pool and hot tub area looked nice - we skipped it this time as it was raining quite hard. If it had been sunny, we would have enjoyed the small, but nicely located pool./

This is also a very very good place to stay if going to Discovery Kingdom.

  • Liked — Nice service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

I booked this hotel because of its proximity to Six Flags.

I was expecting a small room in an old motel for the $89 rate I paid online. I was pleasantly surprised to walk into a very clean hotel with plush hallway and room carpeting and a large suite where my kids can do cartwheels without hitting the bed or furniture. The microwave and fridge came in handy for the meals and snacks and the 2 king sized beds were absolutely comfortable.

Breakfast was another delightful plus, considering the $89 rate and the fact that there were 5 of us (2 adults and 3 kids) covered by that rate.

There was plenty of parking space available even though it seemed to me that the hotel was fully booked.

Check in and check out was a breeze. The front desk staff were very courteous.

I will definitely choose this hotel the next time my family visits Vallejo.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ManilaPeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallejo
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 18 in Vallejo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
4.1 mi away
Budget Inn Vallejo/Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#8 of 18 in Vallejo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Property: Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Address: 1596 Fairgrounds Dr, Vallejo, CA 94589-2080
Location: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for a treat at this spacious Vallejo hotel where the best the Golden State has to offer is right outside your door. Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom is our neighbor, which means that you simply have to stroll across the street for a day full of fun. Want something a little more laid back? Napa Valley is also nearby, so an afternoon of wine tasting is an absolute must. This Vallejo hotel is only 15 minutes away from Napa Valley, so a cab ride is an easy choice. We're the best hotel in Vallejo for adventure seekers. The heated outdoor pool and hot tub is open year round for a little relaxation after a day of exploration. Free parking and free shuttle service to Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom are just a couple of the ways guests are treated like family. No other Vallejo hotel can compare. If you're interested in something a little different, you're in luck. Our Vallejo hotel is near several dog shows at Solano County Fairgrounds and the Jelly Belly® Factory. This is one unusual match that really works. Speed lovers delight at the NASCAR® and Indy Grand Prix at Infineon Raceway. Of course, sometimes you're traveling on business. Maybe you're taking your high school senior to check out Touro University. Maybe you're in town with Valero® Oil Refinery, Chevron Oil Refinery, or have business to take care of on Mare Island. Maybe you need to host a business meeting or event in our convenient business room. There's no reason you can't fully enjoy your stay just because you're punching the clock or writing tuition checks. Enjoy a full breakfast before starting your day - it's on us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Plus Inn And Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Best Western Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Vallejo
Vallejo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing