We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Ok if you're going to the amusment park but otherwise so not worth it! Sink stopped up, they give you only one washcloth for three towels! Internet connection did not work in all rooms. Rooms were old and not clean to my standards. Dust 1/2 inch think around mirror. Bed was not comfortable.. Police cars back and forth in surrounding neighborhood. Only ok if you don't plan on spending anytime in the room..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murano47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 481 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was able to get a reasonable price with our AAA discount at the hotel website, which was actually less than the what was offered here at Tripadvisor. We arrived at the hotel before Discovery Kingdom opened, and DeAndrea, the desk clerk, welcomed us and allowed me to leave our 3 year old's medication in their staff refrigerator because it was too early for check-in. People were gathering for the hotel's complementary hotel shuttle which ran continuously until 12:00 p.m. then, goes every hour after 4 p.m. (Taking the shuttle will save you the $18.00 parking lot fee, plus it's quite a distance to walk from the lot to the entrance, unless you grab the park tram.)
Don't be put off by the dated furniture in the lobby, the hotel service and amenities more than makes up for it. There's fresh coffee in the lobby for guests and warm smiles from the staff. The two queen beds with a crib we requested for a Monday night stay could not be accommodated, but John upgraded us to a two queen with a pull out couch for three adults and a toddler for the same price as the former. Because my grandson normally rolls all over the place and actually sleeps on a mattress on the floor at home, we simply pulled out the couch mattress and laid it directly on the floor. The room was clean, huge, and we four were all quite comfortable together. We had a quiet end room (147) on the lower floor which was fairly close to the breakfast room. The towels were fluffy and the linen crisp. We didn't have any problems with a noisy AC/heater as others reported. We all had a very good night's rest.
Breakfast was substantial with waffles, fresh scrambled eggs (I saw the lady walk by with flats of eggs), juices, yogurts, sausages, breads, muffins, cereals, fresh fruits, etc. You will not go away hungry for your busy day. The only suggestion is go early because the breakfast room is not spacious and a line forms toward the end of the 6-9 time slot,
The hotel tacks on a $35.00 charge to your credit card but it falls off after a few days if you haven't incurred any extra charges. We dined at the popular Napoli Pizzeria & Italian Food Restaurant on Tennessee St. which was about 15 minutes away that we found online. The food was wonderful and locals seem to frequent it as well. They gave it 4 1/2 stars!
All in all the Best Western Plus was great for what we needed and we'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: An end room was perfect since our overly-tired toddler had a brief, but loud meltdown and, we hope...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our family of 4 took a spontaneous overnight to six flags. There are only two decent properties in close proximity to the park. Best Western or Courtyard, we stayed at Courtyard a couple of years ago and it was pretty basic nothing to brag about. I expected more from a Marriott. The Best Western Plus felt more comfortable (larger rooms) and the bedding was nice and clean. Any issues we had were handled immediately... I would have liked the pool and spa to be heated and a bit better maintained, The continental breakfast was nice. We were thrilled with our a/c unit.. it was quiet and very comfortable..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed two nights here, and we were very happy with our stay. The price was good, and Best Western gives a military discount which always helps. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and overlooked the pool. We had a very nice stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Conveniently located near Discovery Six Flags is its only redeeming quality. The carpet throughout is filthy, the ac in the room was worthless. The elevator was out of service and by the tattered note has been that way for a while. The rooms were low grade at best and the breakfast area was mobbed. Not what I am used to in a Best Western Plus

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Wanting a cheap hotel alternative to the place in Napa and Sonoma, we opted for this Best Western in American Canyon. The rate wasn't bad at $64 a night via Priceline. I thought it was a good value. Our double queen room was clean and spacious and overlooked their heated pool and hot tub. Even in early October it was warm enough to go swimming during the day.

They had a complimentary breakfast every morning consisting of coffee, juice, muffins, and bagels. Laundry facilities are on the first floor close to the lobby in a small room with one washer and one dryer. Each load is $1.50. There was free wifi in the room but the signal was inconsistent and weak most of the time.

Most of the staff, save for one girl who worked there the afternoon we checked in, was nice and always greeted us with a smile.

The drive to Napa is about half an hour with traffic, which was bumper to bumper in the afternoons. I'd consider staying there again in the future. It's also about half a mile from Six Flags.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent Saturday night here (me, my wife and our 3.5 year old). We had a suite that had a king bed and a pull out couch. We opened up the couch and pulled out the mattress and threw it on the floor, and it was perfect for our son. The "free" breakfast consisted of baskets of muffins and pastries, scrambled eggs, breakfast sausage, assorted cereals, fruit, waffles, and juices. Everyone was able to get a little something they liked before we headed back to the park for another day of rides and fun. Although they ran a free shuttle to and from the park, we used our car since we have season passes and a season pass for parking. I think the 20 minutes I spent in the pool with my son was the highlight of the weekend for him. I wouldn't hesistate to stay here again. Although older posts speak about certain problems, we experienced none of that on our visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandomMagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallejo
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 17 in Vallejo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#5 of 17 in Vallejo
27 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Address: 1596 Fairgrounds Dr, Vallejo, CA 94589-2080
Location: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range: $100 - $1,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for a treat at this spacious Vallejo hotel where the best the Golden State has to offer is right outside your door. Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom is our neighbor, which means that you simply have to stroll across the street for a day full of fun. Want something a little more laid back? Napa Valley is also nearby, so an afternoon of wine tasting is an absolute must. This Vallejo hotel is only 15 minutes away from Napa Valley, so a cab ride is an easy choice. We're the best hotel in Vallejo for adventure seekers. The heated outdoor pool and hot tub is open year round for a little relaxation after a day of exploration. Free parking and free shuttle service to Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom are just a couple of the ways guests are treated like family. No other Vallejo hotel can compare. If you're interested in something a little different, you're in luck. Our Vallejo hotel is near several dog shows at Solano County Fairgrounds and the Jelly Belly® Factory. This is one unusual match that really works. Speed lovers delight at the NASCAR® and Indy Grand Prix at Infineon Raceway. Of course, sometimes you're traveling on business. Maybe you're taking your high school senior to check out Touro University. Maybe you're in town with Valero® Oil Refinery, Chevron Oil Refinery, or have business to take care of on Mare Island. Maybe you need to host a business meeting or event in our convenient business room. There's no reason you can't fully enjoy your stay just because you're punching the clock or writing tuition checks. Enjoy a full breakfast before starting your day - it's on us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Plus Inn And Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Best Western Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Vallejo
Vallejo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing