We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of the "Plus" designation.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Vallejo
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the "Plus" designation.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Conveniently located near Discovery Six Flags is its only redeeming quality. The carpet throughout is filthy, the ac in the room was worthless. The elevator was out of service and by the tattered note has been that way for a while. The rooms were low grade at best and the breakfast area was mobbed. Not what I am used to in a Best Western Plus

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    172
    94
    61
    43
See reviews for
255
93
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Wanting a cheap hotel alternative to the place in Napa and Sonoma, we opted for this Best Western in American Canyon. The rate wasn't bad at $64 a night via Priceline. I thought it was a good value. Our double queen room was clean and spacious and overlooked their heated pool and hot tub. Even in early October it was warm enough to go swimming during the day.

They had a complimentary breakfast every morning consisting of coffee, juice, muffins, and bagels. Laundry facilities are on the first floor close to the lobby in a small room with one washer and one dryer. Each load is $1.50. There was free wifi in the room but the signal was inconsistent and weak most of the time.

Most of the staff, save for one girl who worked there the afternoon we checked in, was nice and always greeted us with a smile.

The drive to Napa is about half an hour with traffic, which was bumper to bumper in the afternoons. I'd consider staying there again in the future. It's also about half a mile from Six Flags.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent Saturday night here (me, my wife and our 3.5 year old). We had a suite that had a king bed and a pull out couch. We opened up the couch and pulled out the mattress and threw it on the floor, and it was perfect for our son. The "free" breakfast consisted of baskets of muffins and pastries, scrambled eggs, breakfast sausage, assorted cereals, fruit, waffles, and juices. Everyone was able to get a little something they liked before we headed back to the park for another day of rides and fun. Although they ran a free shuttle to and from the park, we used our car since we have season passes and a season pass for parking. I think the 20 minutes I spent in the pool with my son was the highlight of the weekend for him. I wouldn't hesistate to stay here again. Although older posts speak about certain problems, we experienced none of that on our visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomMagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I found this property to be acceptable to very good in all cases. The property is clean and I didn't see any areas of deferred maintenance. The staff was friendly and responsive, and the breakfast was also decent - although as another reviewer mentioned, the area is a bit small and can become pretty crowded.

We did not have a microwave or mini fridge in our room, which was a shame, as we were traveling with small children, and such additions are always handy for all the various things that kids need/want. In that the property is right next to a major theme park, and many guests do have children with them, I would think this might be something the Best Western might want to consider.

The property itself does border a neighborhood that looks a little sketchy, but throughout our stay, I didn't feel any undo concern.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DickandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The only thing I would have to say is that the breakfast lounge was very small for the amount of people that comes in. I just took my breakfast upstairs in room. I wouldn't let that stop me from coming back and having the shuttle was great!! Orlando was awesome;).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I read several reviews on Tripadvisor, prior to our weekend in Vallejo. I was worried that we would book a room in a terrible hotel, after reading some of the reviews of the area. This hotel is very clean (inside and out) and well decorated. The staff is very friendly and helpful, saying hello, good morning, etc when people walk by. Our room (King bed with couch fold-out bed) had micro, fridge, iron/board and hair dryer. The rooms were large and very clean, and the bed was comfortable!

Breakfast included the typical cereral, muffins, juice, etc, but also had a waffle maker, hard boiled eggs and sausage. The breakfast area was large with several tables. The staff kept all the food items filled quickly, despite the 15-plus people who were eating at the time. Overall, I was very impressed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western US
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you must stay in Vallejo overnight, this hotel is a good choice. I visit family and ex-high school friends in town and this was our fourth annual stay at the Best Western. Rooms are good sized and clean. No stains, wall tears etc. In very good condition. Equiped with coffe maker, iron and board, hair drier- but no microwave. TV has loads of channels including HBO's. One reviewer cited that this was not a safe area. Probaby no area is that safe in Vallejo, but this property was secure and does not have problems. Parking is on wings from the main lobby/desk entrance and the rooms are accessable via the lobby and usually not from outside and the lots. Park in front, unload your luggage (there is a valet cart available) check in and then go park. Do not leave anything overnight in the car!
Free breakfast typical for this type/range of hotel (Comfort, Quality, SuperEight). Hot waffles, ceral, juices, some fruit etc. And usually in a small breakfast room, although this room is much larger than typical. If you need or want a big breakfast- go to IHOP or Denny's located east and nearby across the I80 Freeway, along with every fast food and shopping desired. Large shopping center there.
Minor comments: Desk staff knew their jobs and did it, but without much friendiness or a smile. Management might reeducate staff on improving client and people skills? Inn has free WiFi but only in the lobby and not in the rooms. Quoted starting web price ($69) does not include a $10 extra person charge, and of course, those add-on taxes. Our final price, paid on line and in advance, was $92 for two people, non smoking, king-sized bed. Hey, Good Travels!!!

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 115, head board is next to wall housing elevator machinery, and you will know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airstreampilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallejo
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 18 in Vallejo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
4.1 mi away
Budget Inn Vallejo/Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#8 of 18 in Vallejo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Property: Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Address: 1596 Fairgrounds Dr, Vallejo, CA 94589-2080
Location: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for a treat at this spacious Vallejo hotel where the best the Golden State has to offer is right outside your door. Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom is our neighbor, which means that you simply have to stroll across the street for a day full of fun. Want something a little more laid back? Napa Valley is also nearby, so an afternoon of wine tasting is an absolute must. This Vallejo hotel is only 15 minutes away from Napa Valley, so a cab ride is an easy choice. We're the best hotel in Vallejo for adventure seekers. The heated outdoor pool and hot tub is open year round for a little relaxation after a day of exploration. Free parking and free shuttle service to Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom are just a couple of the ways guests are treated like family. No other Vallejo hotel can compare. If you're interested in something a little different, you're in luck. Our Vallejo hotel is near several dog shows at Solano County Fairgrounds and the Jelly Belly® Factory. This is one unusual match that really works. Speed lovers delight at the NASCAR® and Indy Grand Prix at Infineon Raceway. Of course, sometimes you're traveling on business. Maybe you're taking your high school senior to check out Touro University. Maybe you're in town with Valero® Oil Refinery, Chevron Oil Refinery, or have business to take care of on Mare Island. Maybe you need to host a business meeting or event in our convenient business room. There's no reason you can't fully enjoy your stay just because you're punching the clock or writing tuition checks. Enjoy a full breakfast before starting your day - it's on us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Plus Inn And Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Best Western Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Vallejo
Vallejo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing