We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Pet Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We chose this hotel based on its location and the fact that it claimed to be pet friendly. While pets were allowed ($35/night), there was a long list of rules including: no pets on the bed and no pets in the lobby - there was no way to get to our room without going through the lobby.

The room itself smelled bad and there were multiple stains on the carpet. One of the pillows smelled of urine. I turned the pillow in to the front desk staff, who were helpful and friendly. The front lobby was nice, so maybe the non-pet rooms are nice.

The hotel required a $75 "refundable" deposit at check-in. This was supposed to be refunded within 5 business days but has yet to be released at this time (11 business days later). When we called the hotel, they acknowledged that it had not been released yet and that she would have to check with the manager.

I would definitely not stay here again, but it may be better suited to the needs of those without pets.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gapeach228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 483 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Hotel is easy to find, clean, with a pretty interior. We had a 9:00 pm check-in and the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. We used the hot tub, the computers, and the breakfast (which included peeled boiled eggs—thank you very much!—which I appreciated). I slept like a baby in a firm king size bed in a spacious, clean room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desha B, General Manager at Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Dear Ms. O

Thank you for your positive comments about your stay at the Best Western. We thank you for your choice to use our services and we look forward to accomodating you again.

Best regards,

Desha Butler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after a day in Napa and before a flight out of Oakland the next day. The rooms were big, the beds comfortable and the location was excellent. The pool and spa looked nice even though we didn't use them. The breakfast room was small and over-run with kids and the breakfast selection was not too impressive. I would not suggest this location during the summer while the amusement park (across the street) is operating on a normal schedule unless you are planning on going to the park.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioMeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desha B, General Manager at Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Desha Butler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We picked this based on its location and price. We were warned in advance that some areas of Vallejo aren't so safe (e.g. advised against staying at Motel 6) so we were a little wary. Motel is standard, checkin-staff was friendly and quick, room was big and clean, didn't use the pool, didn't eat breakfast though the breakfast room didn't look very appealing, the computer stations worked well. It's pet-friendly, too. My husband did have someone approach him for change at the parking lot on the first night but he wasn't hassled or anything. So, if you want to visit discovery kingdom or have any other reason to stay i the area, it's totally fine. Front desk also offers discounted entry tickets.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klare28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were really pleased with this hotel. Nice out door pool. It was only a half hour from San Francisco and about the same for Napa & Sonoma Valley wineries. We enjoyed the free breakfast and used the free computer in the lobby to look up local attractions. Although we did not go to it, there is a theme park so close we could see it from our room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wittymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desha B, General Manager at Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.. By telling us what you liked about your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guest in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Desha Butler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We go to the Drag Races at Infineon every year and stay at this hotel. For the price, you can not beat this place. The rooms are nice and clean. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and nice. The breakfast gets busy because of all the kids, but is still good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snikcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here the first week of July. It is right by the expressway and Discovery Kingdom but you can't here any noise in the rooms. The room view isn't great but the beds are comfortable and the staff very nice. The location to Napa can't be beat for the price!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallejo
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn near Six Flags Discovery Kingdom-Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn Vallejo
Regency Inn Vallejo
#5 of 17 in Vallejo
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Address: 1596 Fairgrounds Dr, Vallejo, CA 94589-2080
Location: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range: $89 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for a treat at this spacious Vallejo hotel where the best the Golden State has to offer is right outside your door. Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom is our neighbor, which means that you simply have to stroll across the street for a day full of fun. Want something a little more laid back? Napa Valley is also nearby, so an afternoon of wine tasting is an absolute must. This Vallejo hotel is only 15 minutes away from Napa Valley, so a cab ride is an easy choice. We're the best hotel in Vallejo for adventure seekers. The heated outdoor pool and hot tub is open year round for a little relaxation after a day of exploration. Free parking and free shuttle service to Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom are just a couple of the ways guests are treated like family. No other Vallejo hotel can compare. If you're interested in something a little different, you're in luck. Our Vallejo hotel is near several dog shows at Solano County Fairgrounds and the Jelly Belly® Factory. This is one unusual match that really works. Speed lovers delight at the NASCAR® and Indy Grand Prix at Infineon Raceway. Of course, sometimes you're traveling on business. Maybe you're taking your high school senior to check out Touro University. Maybe you're in town with Valero® Oil Refinery, Chevron Oil Refinery, or have business to take care of on Mare Island. Maybe you need to host a business meeting or event in our convenient business room. There's no reason you can't fully enjoy your stay just because you're punching the clock or writing tuition checks. Enjoy a full breakfast before starting your day - it's on us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Plus Inn And Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Best Western Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Vallejo
Vallejo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing