We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aweful! Had to cut our vacation short because of this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The first room we were put in smelled nasty, the wallpaper was peeling off everywhere, the ceiling looked like it was caving in and the a/c wasnt working. So they moved us to another room. This room seemed to be bareable so we stayed. The next morning we went to head to six flags, and noticed the door did NOT lock!!! This is obviously not a good neighborhood and we were NOT going to leave our stuff in there all day unsecured. And of course there were no rooms cleaned yet so we packed up all our stuff and left it at the front desk. Our only request was that our next room not be at the building in front of the street because the highway noice would keep my kids awake. And of course we get back from six flags at night and they assigned us in that building. We ended up asking for a refund for that 2nd night and went home. We had plans for the next day but didnt get to enjoy them because this hotel was so bad!!! ALSO, they advertise a complimentary shuttle to six flags. but it is NOT! Its $5 a person!!! and they didnt tell us we had to reserve what time we want to go!! So by the time we found that out of course we were at the end of the list....OH!! and the CRAZIEST thing. They give you a paper with your room # on it. They must use scrap paper because on the back of mine was a reservation for another person and it has his credit card # and exp. on it!!!!!! Luckily we are good honest people who blacked it out tore it up and threw it away!!! I will be checking my credit card statement daily now because of this....

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truxr4girlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We have a couple questions regarding your post. We would like to know, for our reference, the number of the first room you were put into and the number of the room that did not lock. Where was a complimentary shuttle advertised? We only offer a complimentary shuttle to people who book a package. Our shuttle is otherwise $5 per room, not person. Reservations for the shuttle are done at check in if you indicate you require that service; however our shuttle driver is always on-duty during the hours of shuttle operation.

Other than the sleeve we give our guests upon check-in, the only other paper we give is either a voucher for the continental breakfast or a coupon for Danny's Kitchen. Anything printed through our property management system automatically has the CC blacked out. At most if we did (which we don't) recycle guest receipts or reservations there is no way for a guest to have another's CC information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 474 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed two nights at this chain hotel and found it to be very average. The breakfast wasn't particularly nice. Cold pancakes and waffels and a selection of cakes. Too much sugar for first thing in the monring. The pool was always crowded with kids splashing about and making lots of noise, Luckily we didn't hang out here much or the noise would have been annoying. Our room was a bit smelly and even when we switched, it was just as bad. The fridge was so noisy I have to turn it off and the bathroom had a tub but no plug so impossibly to have a bath. I wouldn't recommend it but it worked for us as it was releatively easy to explore Napa from here and we couldn't afford the Napa hotel price tags!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

There was absolutly no reports of feces in our pool during the duration of this "guests" stay. We highly suspect this is a review made by a competitor damning our property by making a horrible claim. Our pool is cleaned every morning by housekeeping and monitored throught the day. No reports what-so-ever were made about this. We also have not had any refuse laying around our property like described. At most we have a few desks which are in secluded corners of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This stay was awful. The first room we were put in was filthy....broken light bulbs on the balcony, used perfume/cologne bottle on the floor, it had not been vaccumed. We were moved to a different room that was cleaner. The parking lot next to our door was filthy - old mattresses leaning on the building, trash, looked like there should be prostitutes hanging out after dark. We were offered free continental breakfast at the restaruant attached to the hotel. The food was cold, there was only pancakes and cereal - no meat, no eggs. The waitress/host seemed bothered by the continental breakfast. The second night we were there a transient welcomed me in the parking lot. He was paranoid and incredibly drunk. He scared my 7 year old and hid in the bushes. Oh, and to top it all off.....someone went poo in the swimming pool while we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Here at the Howard Johnson in Vallejo we take our guest concerns very seriously. We would first like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. During your stay some of our rooms were undergoing a remodling, which may be why there may have been articles of furniture around our facility.

Our breakfast follows the definition of a continental breakfast in that we offer our guests assorted in-house cake like muffins, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice, cereal and milk among other things. We also like to provide guests with made-to-order waffles and pancakes on the weekends.

Unfortunatly, throughout the weekend, we were not notified of any fecal matter in our swimming facilities and housekeeping made no report of it during their morning cleaning. If there was a report of fecal matter in our facilities appropriate measure would be taken. We invite you to return to our facilities in the future and help us improve upon our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

booked 2 rooms. Pulled in, looked like pics you see. Got room on outside of bldg(not pictured) filthy trash EVERYWHERE, dresser drawers,piles of debris everywhere! Kids room- Tv doesnt work, desk clerk said "Sorry", "can move 4 rooms away?! Like I want my kids 4 rooms away ! then i noticed something spilled on bathroom counter, wiped with their white washcloth, filthy! Obviously the counter was NOT cleaned!!! Then I started to put kids to bed, So much noise from next room, I actually thought it was MY KIDS! Complained, was told a sports team of kids was on BOTH sides of us! Sheesh, what poor planning on someones! We usually stay at Best Western or Comfort Inn. Thought we would try HoJo. Mistake. Oh yea, and the pool, so dirty, I told my kids they couldnt swim in it!Dont be fooled by the pics, those are of the interior area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salmongang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOVALLEJO, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thank you for your review. We'd like to thank you for trying HoJo Vallejo and are saddened to see we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately it sounds like your stay was during a baseball tournament on a busy weekend. If you would like to give us another chance to meet your expectations please email us at howardjohnsonvallejo@yahoo.com and we can see what accommodations we can make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I dont know why people are reviewing this hotel bad. My family and I booked this hotel as part of the Discovery Kingdom Package that was little over $200 for two night stay with a king bed with fridge and microwave, and 2 tickets to Discovery Kingdom. We got there my husband checked in and outside looked great. They said they upgraded us to the "Business Suite" for no extra charge, which I thought that was cool. Got in the room and had our king size bed with great linens(down comforter and pillows), also a loveseat in the corner that a half wall divided the king and loveseat, had a coffee table and desk with nice office chair, microwave and brand new pretty big mini fridge. I loved that the loveseat folded out into a twin sized bed. It wasnt that comfortable but perfect for our 2 year old son who slept on it so we could have the bed to ourselves. Bathroom was VERY nice updated and HUGE! My FAVE BATHTUB ever! sunken tub was huge to me compared to my regular tub at home. Nice curved shower rod gave more room. Big vanity and small closet in the bathroom. Overall was very pleasant.

Pros:
-spacious and upgraded bathroom and room.
-Very clean
-Easy to find
-Convienent grocery outlet next door
-awesome diner with awesome breakfast
-free WORKING wireless in room internet
-Shuttle to discovery kingdom(website said free but got there and was $5 per room/family-still cheaper than parking)
-nice pool area

CONS-
-no elevator(not necessary since only 2 stories but hard with tons of luggage and baby)
-no remote for TV in the room(again not necessary but would be nice)
-pool wasnt cleaned when we were there(probably because it was still cold and not summer yet)

overall i loved this place and would stay there again. Price was awesome and I loved the room. Not really anything bad to say about this place. I never experienced any of the cons other reviewers had. Maybe they are trying to be better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djanowski775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
227Howard, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We do not take your comfort, cleanliness of our rooms nor sleep lightly as you are our first priority.

A new housekeeping management with revamped procedures to ensure any and all concerns expressed by you has been taken into consideration during our recent staff meeting.

You will see immediate and steady improvement with our housekeeping as well as maintenance quality standards.

We ask you to give us another chance to experience the new Howard Johnson Inn and Suites after today.

Thank you again.

Manager
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This is a slightly older facility but well kept and clean. For the price and star rating, this was a great value. Very close to local attractions and major highways so it was convenient to get around. The staff was friendly and professional and upgraded my room upon arrival for no extra charge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtn690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank D7440UDpablom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vallejo hotels
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Six Flags Discovery Kingdom-Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
2.3 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#5 of 17 in Vallejo
28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Inn Vallejo/Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom

Address: 44 Admiral Callaghan Ln, Vallejo, CA 94591-4004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range: $73 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites of Vallejo! Centrally located and very affordable, we provide a basic clean and comfortable room for all of your business or leisurely accommodations. With 78 rooms, two meeting and banquet halls, a beautiful pool and ample parking for small RV's and buses, this is a welcoming abode for travelers of all types! We try to maintain the historical feel while offering many modern amenities. Our rooms have free wireless internet, cable and local calls. Our rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. Additionally, there is an internet station but no printer. We also provide easy access to all of the Bay Area's most popular attractions! From everyone at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, we look forward to having you stay with us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo/Near Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vallejo Hotel Vallejo
Vallejo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing